We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo
Ranked #3 of 27 Caltagirone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really enjoyed this stay. We were there for four days. We used caltagirone as a base for the surrounding areas.
Rooms were impeccable. Really happy with breakfast.
Yes. You need to walk stairs each day but.... That is caltagirone!
in caltagirone I would suggest unless you are really into ceramics, spend 1 to 2 days. Should be enough.
If you are parking, park in one of the high car parks at the level of the top of the stairs (still in the perimeter of town) and then walk your bags in that way. It will save lugging them up the steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Caltagirone, in Sicily, is not a place one would stay unless there was a big interest in visiting Piazza Armerina or Val di Noto. There are not too many places to stay here. The B and B's are located in the old part of the town accessible only by climbing almost one hundred steps to get to your room. We stayed in one of the B and B's, Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo. This was a very interesting experience for us. The first part of our experience started when we could not find the property, even with our GPS. The reason was that the B and B was an address about 70 steps up from the main street, with no direct access to the door of the hotel by car. We asked a local merchant if they could help us find the address, and they called Gaetano, the owner, to come to our location with his car and guide us to the room. Gaetano is a very pleasant man who was extremely helpful and accommodating while we were there. Before he brought us to our rooms (we were two couples) he gave us a tour of the entire town as we followed him with our car and he pointed out the highlights.
He had us park on a street that had access to the steps, and he had his house staff bring our luggage to the room. We only had to climb about twenty steps to get to our room. We had a double room with private bath, and our companions had a triple. As you enter the house from the steps, you walk up one flight to your room. On our floor there was another another guest room with an outside bath. The size of our room was adequate. There was a bath with a shower and no tub. One word of caution about the shower, if you are very heavy, you will not be able to squeeze in and out of it. The opening to the door is very narrow. I mean it, you could get wedged in. We are used to having our bath towels changed daily, and they were not changed here.
The stay included breakfast on the top floor overlooking the city. The view from the terrace was beautiful, especially early in the morning when the sun was slowly moving from east to west. The breakfast was adequate, consisting of pastries, coffee, juices and breads. No eggs were served.
If you want to visit Piazza Armerina, and you should because of the beauty of the mosaics depicting Roman medieval throughout the Piazza, Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo is an O.K. place to stay. If you are used to a four star facility, you will be disappointed

Room Tip: Stay in the double room with private bath. The triple room is strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppletreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had difficulty finding the place. When we called the owner he was very responsive and helped without luggage...there are many, many steps!
Our room was not in the 'main' house but up additional steps. It was furnished in a cross between Ikea and 1950, beaded divider and all. No closet or drawers, but some unfinished construction..The Internet did not work although he said that it would work in the other building- didn't do us any good. There was construction debris covered by a curtain and a strange assortment of furniture.
Breakfast was on the patio with a beautiful view of the town with an assortment of items.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

We apologize for the room which did not meet your expectations, but believed to have fat to the maximum, which gives a large room (a studio) with antiques (first 900) combined with a modern style (no Ikea) and have served a Sicilian breakfast (iced coffee and cream) along with home-made cakes served on the terrace. We apologize again for not having put your needs but the next morning when we asked, and there 'seemed delusione.Ci apologize for this room who has not met your expectations, but believed to have fat to the maximum, which gives a large room (a small apartment) with antiques (first 900) combined with a modern style (no ikea) and have served a Sicilian breakfast (coffee granita and brioche coffee cream) along with home-made cakes served on the terrace. I'm sorry I forgot that in his accurate description (having also looked in the closet) has never hinted at what he found in his fridge full availability sparkling water and a fruit basket. I'm sorry again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked this B & B for one night based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and also in the Lonely Planet Sicily. This meant that my expectations were perhaps a bit too high.
We checked in on a Sunday afternoon, and it took a while for someone to arrive to let us into the room. Wherever the owner was, he didn't have his reservation details for that day with him and so while we had booked a double room, we were given a twin room (2 separate beds). We spoke to the owner via phone and I told him that I had booked a dbl room, but he said that he considered the twin room a dbl room. The actual double room was on the same floor and we catched a glimpse of it and it looked very nice! In all fairness to the owner, he noticed the next morning that he had allocated the wrong room and profusily apologised for his mistake and obviously only charged for the twin room. For this reason my review is based on the twin room in the main building.
The B & B is located right at the middle of the staircase and our room looked out on to it. The room itself was quite small (no ensuite), but neat, tidy and clean. The bathroom is located just one door down the hallway and was spacious and clean. I strongly recommend to travel very lightly to this B & B as it would be tough to carry a large suitcase up or down these stairs!!
Breakfast was inside for us due to rain, although we could see that the view would be pretty on a nice day. It was a typical Italian breakfast with lots of biscotti and sweet things, but also had yogurt and fruit. What we really disliked here, is the owner smoking in the adjacent kitchen; I suppose had we been sitting outside we wouldn't have noticed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precisionstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

I'm so sorry for the inconvenience and hope that all this has caused a bad stay, but I was out (hospital) and did not remember in which room was your accommodation. I hope next time my host only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Driving in Sicilia slowly takes its toll and that is why arriving on a hot summer eve in Caltagirone from Agrigento made us so needy! What a nice surprise is that B&B. It is almost half way up the 143 stairs, however, the owner helped us park our alfa right at the top of the stairs. This place is like a cake: full of promise! Waking up in the bright morning in this cosy, idillic place was exactly what we needed after Palermo. From the veranda one can see the town below waking up and the morning mist evaporating under the sun. It is truly amazing how authentic and in the same time modern is the interior of the house: YOU WOULD LOVE IT!
We did!
Just call the owners and let them look after you !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ablena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the B&B. Our room was actually in another building one street up. It was a stand alone room, I believe the others are located on the property itself. It was a nice big space, only downside to not being in the main building was no access to the wifi. Fortunately, we found an unsecured connection that we could use if we put our computer by the window (We could use the wifi in the main building whenever we wanted, it was nice to be able to do it within the room and as the owner lives there, it felt intrusive).

The owners were very nice, and breakfast was very pretty out on the terrace. Breakfast had pastries, cheese, meats, yogurts, fruit, etc. Anything you wanted, you just had to ask.

The room had a refrigerator which the owner had filled with fresh fruit, water and preseco for your visit. Only negative would be that sometimes in the room, we would get a sewer gas smell, but it would fade as fast it would come. So, really, not that big of a deal.

As far as Caltagirone, we stayed there 4 nights. Our intention was to use it as a base for day trips. And unless you are using your own transportation, that is not a great idea. Despite the cities size, the train and bus connections too and out of the city are horrible. I would suggest maybe staying in Enna or Catania instead and finding a day trip to Caltagirone. Also, there are not a lot of restaurant options in town. It is a very charming city, I am glad to have stayed there, but having your own transportation would make it more enjoyable. If counting on public transport, look for another destination.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. We really enjoyed its location right off the famous steps of Caltagirone. The owner was kind enough to help us find a parking space for our car and help us with luggage. Great view for breakfast looking out over the town with the coffee granita. My wife also loved the free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NameName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caltagirone hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Caltagirone Villa San Mauro
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Piccolo Attico
B&B Il Piccolo Attico
#1 of 27 in Caltagirone
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Girosa
B&B Girosa
#25 of 27 in Caltagirone
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B La Pilozza Infiorata
B&B La Pilozza Infiorata
#5 of 27 in Caltagirone
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison Blanche
Maison Blanche
#14 of 27 in Caltagirone
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Casa Alba
B&B Casa Alba
#2 of 27 in Caltagirone
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo

Address: Bongiovanni 72 | Scalinata Santa Maria del monte, 95041, Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Caltagirone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Caltagirone
Price Range: $52 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedandbreakfast sul monumento simbolo Della citta' a contatto con l'arte e la storia sognando l'infinito...Le camere con balcone Sulla scalinata e alcune con finestra sul panorama Della citta' tutte con aria condizionata,wifi gratuito, riscaldamento, tv al plasma , sky, frigo bar, corredo bagno(accappatoio etc..) E letto, kit cortesia (spazzolino e dentifricio usa monouso), colazione a buffet con torte ,marmellate biologiche tipiche,succhi,spremute fresche arance,yogurt e anche un po' di salato e chi lo preferisce la tipica granita siciliana. Curate nei particolari con parquet e marmi arredate con mobili di antiquariato nella junior suite dependance moderno nei tessuti e nei componenti d'arredo. La Colazione servita Sulla terrazzo panoramica ( nella Bella stagione e nella stanza adiacente nei mesi invernali sempre con vista panoramica). Abbiamo anche le biciclette elettriche per noleggio o tour guidati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Hotel Caltagirone
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing