We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KK Heritage Homestay
Ranked #6 of 63 Kannur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Home”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed there three years ago and I can't get this place out my mind! I would recommend it to everyone who wants to experience the most beautiful and the most peaceful corner of the world! Sreeranj is such a wonderful host, with exceptional culinary skills!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orinta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
62
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilterfingen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a nature paradies! We contacted Sreeranj, the owner, just 3 days in advance and were very lucky to get a room in high season. When we arrived it turned out that Sreeranjhad prepared his private room for us so we could stay in there for the full 4 days. He himself had to stay in the common area in the meantime. This hospitality left us speechless. The room was simple but very clean und huge. The food was simply amazing and we got freshly made tea whenever we wanted to. Do not expect luxury. But you get a clean and spacious room and lot of warm and welcoming hospitality and laughs. This is priceless. Overall, the location cannot be better. Situated just a couple of meters back from the main beach, the homestay is nestled in between palm trees at the border of a lagoon. You wake up with birds singing and you go to bed with birds singing. This is indian nature at its best. The beach is beautiful and swimming is good. You can do some nice walks to Ezhara beach - the most beautiful beach we have seen in India. The bus stop to Kannur is close by and the owner organizes a driver for a visit at the famous Theyyam - a must see! We will definitely come back and can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in February 2014. Simple, spacious rooms with large bathroom and mosquito net over bed ..not needed when I was there. Food is provided in the cost. Location at Thottada beach is sublime. KK looks out over the backwater lagoon which is beautiful with a short stroll to the clean picture postcard beach. Sunsets, walks along the canal or beach fill the days. The ocean is warm and safe for swimming ....calmer in the mornings ...I visited some other guest houses to have a cool drink ...the whole area is inviting and friendly....Kannur is about 30 mins auto rickshaw away....bustling Indian town with rail link....book trains at platform 4 ....obtain form at counter and fill out details before you get the ticket....I took 2AC to Cochin and it was great...360 rupees....6 hour journey...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Warm, welcoming and extremely hospitable at a beautiful location on the Kerala coast. Sreeranj, his staff and his family couldn't have made us feel more welcome at their seaside hideaway. The room was clean, roomy and airy and no need for aircon. We were overfed with delicious home made Keralan delicacies - and Sreeranj is a fabulous cook! We arrived early in the morning at the train station and Sreeranj was there to meet us without us knowing - what a very pleasant surprise. He organised for us to attend a Theyyam performance and was always on hand to ask questions but never intrusive. The abundant birdlife right there is great to watch. As we were the only ones there for the first couple of days, it was really nice to get to know Sreeranj and the history of the area. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having been to India quite a few times, my wife and two children wanted a Christmas that was by the sea and away from the usual tourist trail.

Close to the busy town of Kannur, KK Homestay is most easily accessed from the Calicut Airport about 2 hours away.

Really beautiful and secluded spot. The beach (also stunning and safe to swim) is a stones throw away. There are a few other home stays nearby but one doesn't feel crowded.

If you are looking for a Goa experience then this will not be for you. Very quite and beautiful in the middle of nature. Food excellent and host really relaxed and sociable.

Would I go again? For sure.

Roland

Room Tip: I would try and book upstairs with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family of 6 spent 2 weeks here in december, it's as close to paradise as I've ever seen. As described by many others on here, the house is in a fabulous location with a beach very close by, and surrounded by abundant wildlife. We saw dolphins on our first day. Sreeranj is a fantastic host, great cook, and all round wonderful person who, along with his lovely family, made us all feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. As other reviewers have noted, this is quite a remote place, which for us worked well. There are no tourist bars, and you need to get extras, (such as beers!) from Kannur, but with Sreeranj's assistance anything is possible, he seems to know everybody, and can arrange fair priced rickshaws. He also knows a lot about the local Theyyam culture and arranged for us to visit a truly amazing 4am ceremony which was a fantastic experience. Another reviewer had mentioned the lack of a hammock - I mentioned this to Sreeranj on the first day, and within 48 hours he came back from his daily shopping trip with a lovely woven hammock. As we all came to see, this was typical of this kind and thoughtful man who genuinely takes pride, and pleasure, in making his guests feel welcome and cared for. We all enjoyed our wonderful mealtimes, not only for the generous supply of delicious and varied dishes, but also for the interesting and informative conversations with our host. My only reservation in writing this well deserved review is that I hope it doesn't get so busy that he won't be able to fit us in when we want to go back.

Room Tip: We had the 3 upstairs rooms with balcony, would rcommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have spent 3 nights in KK Heritage and it has been a wonderful stay.

The room was very big, bright and sunny. Simple but clean, with a comfortable bed, mosquito net and a spacious bathroom. We stayed upstairs, so our room had a balcony, with nice views over the backwaters.

The owner was extremely welcoming and helpful. He managed to organize us a visit to a Theyyam ceremony, which was really amazing. He had a trusted rishaw driver, who picked us up at ridiculously early hours and was never late.

The food was delicious, 100% home made from seasonal, local ingredients. The meals were different every day, portions were huge, topped with fruits and chai. The owner answered our numerous questions regarding the local Keralan cousine, with passion and insights.

Finally, the surroundings - the part of Kannur (it 10km outside of the main town) where we stayed is absolutely amazing. The beach is virtually empty and clean and it's a 3 min. walk from the homestay. Lots of birds to spot. A perfect, quiet getaway.

Overall, a great expierience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
186 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#12 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chera Rock Beach House
Chera Rock Beach House
#1 of 50 in Kannur
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thottada Beach House
Thottada Beach House
#2 of 3 in Thottada
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Heritage Homestay

Property: KK Heritage Homestay
Address: Thottada Beach, P.O Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your KK Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kk Heritage Homestay Hotel Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing