We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Malabar Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malabar Residency
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, the overall service is extremely slow..Most of the staff don't understand english. There were cockroaches in the room and bathroom. We even noticed a few in the restaurant. Towels kept in the washroom were brown in colour. Just the good thing about the hotel was the food and location.We had aloo paratha's most of the time...and the hotel is located on the main station road..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bansri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
4
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stay at Malabar Residency was average. There were too many cockroaches in the room which did not leave the room inspite of the room service spraying the replant. The food ordered in room was good and a saviour as there was nothing good around the hotel. However the breakfast was very cold even at 7am and again the cockroaches had the first bite!
The only positive about the hotel is good food and location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bhavika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel lobby is located at the basement of a shopping centre, so the initial impression was not impressive. The hotel actually is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the shopping centre.The corridors was simple but elegant. The rooms were nice , cozy and very clean. It has a good view of the kannur city. The bathrooms was also neat and clean with continous running hot water. The breakfast is complimentary and the the in house restaurant is simple but tasty. The best part is the location, its only walking distance from the rear railway station gate and the central bus stand.Best for a business trip or when visiting kannur with friends. The best mode of transport is by autos and they run by meter and don't overcharge.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms don't have much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkottaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Malabar residency is just 2 mins by walk from Kannur Main Station. Close to the bus stand too. I travelled there with my parents & the stay was plesant. The rooms were mint fresh and very spacious. The washroms were very clean and the breakfast was good. Only concern i had was with hot water in washrooms. But since the weather was hot enough the normal water was good enough. The best part about the stay was the clean and spacious room with comfortable beds. My parents didnt feel they were out of home. I will visit again on my next trip to Kannur

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank BlueLagoooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The management is very customer service oriented, they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We had a wedding reception and several guests from out-of-town stay there. Their recpetion banquet hall is very well lit and a great place for a party or get-together.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the top floor, they have better finishes and ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruhina S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely place - well if you can condone the fact that this hotel is atop a commercial plaza, you'll have a grand time. The reception staff is not up to the mark, most of the guys are dumb and irritatingly slow but the food is simple yum. Esp. the 24-carat Kerela Thali. Proximity to a couple of great beaches makes life even better. Avoid late night walks, the road rage can prove fatal if you are not careful. The balconies on top floors are scary - the railings are horrifyingly low in height - not advisable for children, elderly or people with vertigo.

All in all, a good place to spend your time in Kannur.

Room Tip: If you book through the web route, don't rely much on the marketing guy who disappears into thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

me & friends had a road trip in sept 2013 & satayed for 2 nights , Excellent place
if you have any othere place in mind , have a check on this once , Value for money.
5 minutes walk from Railway station and close to the business and shopping centres.The reception & restaurant is at the basement of the building, and the rooms two to three floors up. Rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvinashnaikB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
38 reviews
1059.1 mi away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#16 of 23 in Kannur
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 23 in Kannur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Residency

Property: Malabar Residency
Address: Thavakkara Road, Kannur 670001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Malabar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing