We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to stay”
Review of Malabar Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malabar Residency
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is really excellent, economical and also has good restaurant and room service. there were some cockroaches which is a backdrop for this hotel and also TV was very old with bad quality, hot water is available round the clock.

Room Tip: overall its a good hotel to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhu0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 70 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I checked in at 6am and the first room I was given was pathetic in the extreme - cockroaches and bedbugs all over, musty smelling pillows, old non-functional tv, etc. It looked and felt like a long unused room. I came to understand that this was the only one available, inspite of a prior reservation. The room was changed in the evening to a better room, which was far better. So I'll give them the benefit of doubt for the 1st room, but would still rate them less for the condition it was in.

Pros: excellent location near the railways station, decent and comfortable room, nice buffet breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: pathetic condition of the 1st room I was offered, inefficient and inexperienced staff.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank santhoshkanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

walked from d railway station 4 a meeting....finished it just in time and ran back 2 catch our train home! Dats about it with the pros of dis hotel...the food was ok...the bathrooms werent as neat....lack of tissues and toilet paper bugged me off....the conference hall was fine though....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hotel is about 300 mtrs from the Railway Station. If one does not have baggage one can walk down - otherwise auto-rickshaws are available from the Station - costs about Rs. 20/_. Landed up morning by morning 6 am. The reception desk was deserted. It is in the basement. The security guard then loacted the receptionist. The town itself seems to wake up late only. Deluxe room - pretty large in size. Cleanliness - just passes the test. Hot and Cold water available. Toilet paper was missing in the wash room. Room has a balcony opening out onto the main road. Breakfast is included in the fare - but the choice is prety limited. Two south indian dishes and continental. Looks ok for the money charged.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy once the balcony door is opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently I was in Kannur on my way to Wynad. I stayed in the hotel. it was in nice location. I enjoyed the stay and food. But the smell of fish in the restaurant, was something like a sand in the rice plate. If the management can think of better ventilation, I believe may be better for a person like me who have got extreme vegetarian orientation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAHESHCHANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Malabar residency for 2 days on an official visit. Very near to railway station, shopping areas. Hotel ambiance is too good. Rooms are very clean, well maintained. Very good service. Excellent food. Nice staff Over all a memorable experience..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Malabar Residency is 400 metres from Kannur railway station. It i also close to the new bus stand. Shopping is convenient, Lulu Sarees and Lulu Gold are next door. Autos are easily available during day time. At night, autos are not readily gettable.

Breakfast buffet is complimentary. It is tilted towards local food like idli, vada, puttu / kadala, etc. Eggs are made to order. Lunch and dinner are a la carte. One gets Kerala, Punjabi and Chinese preparations. Food and service are good.

The room was neat and clean. Check out is 24 hours. MasterCard and Visa credit cards are accepted.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lift which plays a loud tune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambalavattom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALABARRESIDENCY, Guest Relations Manager at Malabar Residency, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Thank you for sharing your valuable time to provide a true and fair review about the Hotel. Your reviews shows a complete view about the Hotel. We hope that you have a good time a the Hotel. Awaiting your valuable visit to serve you the best next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#17 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#18 of 23 in Kannur
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
62 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
198 reviews
0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Residency

Address: Thavakkara Road, Kannur 670001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Price Range: $28 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malabar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing