We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Kannur Beach House on Nov 1, 2012”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The place is okay but definitely not value for money for an average Indian traveller. The place is not suited for family travel but mainly caters to back packers who want to spend time on the beach which is nearby. If in Kannur you can access the beach even if you are not in this Home stay. The road to reach the place from main Kannur street is very narrow and after sometime it is muddy as concrete road ends. If you have luggage, think twice before going there. They do not provide even basic needs like soap and hot water in the morning if you are an early riser and it has surely lot of mosquitoes to give company. So please carry mosquito repellent in sufficient quantity . No facility to park yor car or driver. The place is quite far from the end point of the road from where you have to carry your luggage. They charged 3600INR for one night stay which is high given the standard of room and services. Check the food if you are not a beef eater. Food is okay but little choice. You can get better places at Kannr like Hotel Clff with same money. There are many good Home stay options at Kannur to check out.
People are not unfriendly, but they are more firang centric as they possibly concentrate on $. Nothing great for usual Indian travelers.

Room Tip: Not much of choice as most rooms are of same quality. Some rooms ave three beds and others have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GolakaNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseByTheBeach, Manager at Kannur Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
Many things mentioned in the review about the country road, the simplicity of our place and the 50m distance from the car door, and that the pristine beach is the only major attraction and every one can access it are factual.

But some facts were not said:
-We relaxed our minimum 2 nights stay policy on repeated requests and took the booking because the reviewer stated various humanitarian reasons.
- the amount Rs 3600 paid was for 2 adults and a 14 year old son for one night stay with breakfast and dinner.
- our staff had to help them with their extra heavy luggage to the first floor, though it cannot be expected to have a porter at a home stay.
- it was clearly communicated to the guests that we do not have accommodation for the driver and this was agreed upon.
- every room has mosquito net and a plug-in mosquito repellant.
- we do not serve meat usually but made an exception due to the festive time. As per our usual standard, there were many other food choices, in fact, except for the beef/fish dish, all the other dishes were vegetarian.
- there is an area/place to park the car.

If the reviewer felt belittled in the presence of the farangs (foreigners) we can understand that, but cannot understand the $ equations. We consider all our guests equal but naturally some are more equal but not because they are farang. Though most of our guests are from abroad, the Indian guests in the past did not share the same views as the reviewer.
We are glad to accept guest carrying back packs as well as suitcases so far as they are responsible for their own belongings.

If by “family travel” the reviewer means staying a night after arriving in the evening and leaving the next morning, and then compelling us to provide accommodation for the driver, then of course our place is not suited for that. Then it is better to stay at the hotels in Kannur. By the way the Cliff hotel has stopped operations decades ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 524 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived at Kannur station and the usual urban chaos that is India. Less than half an hour later, we were in a different world. Kannur beach House faces the Arabian Sea and you can look through coconut palms at the setting sun. It's a beautiful, serene spot. Rooms are basic, but comfortable and in Kerala's year round warm climate, hot water in the bathroom is unnecessary.
We met Kannur Beach House’s finest assets at dinner. Their son had already told us dinner was at 7.30 and we duly arrived at a long, cloth-covered table under a corrugated roof, a little way from Roshanara and Nazir’s back door. We took to them instantly. A handsome, quietly-spoken couple, they were welcoming without being over the top and we felt, very soon, that the five days ahead would be good ones. How right we were. For a start, we’ve never looked forward to food so much while away from home. Roshanara used to cook everything, but now, she directs operations in the simple kitchen, which proves you don’t need wall to wall stainless steel to produce a top class meal. Part of the enjoyment of staying here is sitting around the long table. We met people from France, Belgium, Czech Republic, England and Ireland. All excellent company with their own stories to tell.
Keralan food is much less “in your face” than the Indian food we’re used to. Dish after dish of incredible subtlety and flavour was served and it was always impossible to resist going back for “seconds”.
If you want to relax, untroubled by the hurly burly that seems to be everywhere in India, this is the place to go.
We'll be back.
(NB. It's well worth getting up at 5.30 one morning, to have Santosh take you to the Kannur Fish Market, where he'll buy your lunch and dinner and bring it and you back to the beach. Santosh is Roshonara and Nazir's preferred "auto" driver and we used him whenever we wanted to go into town.)

Room Tip: We had one of the ground floor rooms and felt it was the best option. A small verandah has fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeffreyB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was such a good feeling...a home in Kerala!!
Yes, the room was comfortable, the staff was so welcoming and the location was so enchanting. We could view the sea as well as the backwaters sitting outside our room!

The food was so delicious, even though it was a very different cuisine, but we loved every bite of it!
The host was very courteous and he took us on a boat ride though the backwaters :)
Thanks for such a wonderful time on my 1st Anniversary :)!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shefali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Normally we've always thought the most important thing about where you stay is location, location , location - and this certainly doesn't disappoint. However we'd now include a new perspective - hosts, hosts, hosts. Rosie, Nazir and their family elevate their homestay beyond a wonderfully relaxing location. They are warm, genuine and engaging hosts.

Cross a footbridge and the backwater and within a minute you are on the white sands and in the warm sea of the local bay. Mussel fishers bob like floats at either end. Around your rooms are palm trees, a "dreams yet to be realised garden" and other unobtrusive homes growing out of the forest. From your balcony you see the sea and beach through the palm trees.

Rooms are simple and modest - if you value privacy then the upstairs rooms have own sheltered balconies. Delicious meals are eaten communally in open under the permanent outdoor dining area at the back. The family will join you and the conversation is easy and enlivening. We learnt how it sounds to hear us say please and thank you so much (overly formal and keeping distance). And we also learnt so much more about India, culture and family life.

If you want to kick back into the jaggery heavy heat of a Kerala beach day, with somewhere to lay your head, enjoy cool showers and share conversation over fine food - then this is perfect. No pressures, tea and coconut drinks during the day. Time to read, walk, swim and feel at home.

Room Tip: One of the top rooms if you want privacy with own balcony. Downstairs rooms open up onto garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the best place if want to spend couple of days from the hustle bustle of city life. We spent 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay . You can expect great hospitality from Nazir & Rosie(owners) who will accompany you for lunch & dinner. This place will remind you of the olden day homes which are not seen in the city we live in. You can't expect luxury here as the amenities are very basic. Every room has view to the lagoon & sea. Day's package include breakfast & dinner and lunch is extra ( can be included in the package considering the package cost)

Approach to Kannur beach house is quite tricky if your not familiar with the place and locals will not know if you ask for Kannur beach house. Easiest way to find this place is to ask for "Thottada Beach" and once you reach the junction there are sign boards towards kannur beach house. The approach road is very narrow and need to be very careful as the road can accommodate only one car.

Other places of interest in Kannur town would be to visit:
1. St Angelo's Fort - 3 kms
2. Muzhappilangad Drive-in beach - 19 kms
3. Mahe ( for cheap liquor) - 30 kms

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor as it offers better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navaneeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Kannur beach house is like a dream spot.... its just u and nature.
Tasty food, good rooms and wonderful hosts..
The relaxation is to the core...
No option .but to just enjoy nature and REELAX...




















LOCATION IS MARVELLOUS

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nalinikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

(Actually visited Dec 2009 - apologies for the delay)
Rosie and her family’s charming homestay, secluded on the beautiful and peaceful northern Keralan coastline, is a welcoming retreat. The family, who like many Keralans have worked overseas (in this case Singapore), are lovely. Each modest room has a veranda or balcony overlooking a creek towards the beach. It’s very easy to while away hours reading beneath the palms or lolling in a hammock. The food is really delicious and varied. An easy walk brings you to beaches so stunning that you might be on a film set. Backed by shimmering coconut palms, with balmy seas, occasional friendly locals and sometimes dolphins, it seems incredible they are so untouched and un-touristed. There are other guesthouses nestling among the palms and paddies behind, and perhaps more since our visit, but this coastline more than rivals the parts of northern Goa I have visited.
And there is the curious culture of this part of Kerala: spectacular theyyam performances in and around temples, rumours of which reach Rosie, who then arranges transport. Kannur Beach House also organises trips aboard lovely traditional barges in the less visited backwaters of northern Kerala. This rice boat had a large deck – perfect for watching the world go by down the pretty backwaters and eating superb food. The crew was charming and service excellent.
Rosie can also arrange trips to the wildlife park of Wayanad, staying at a remote guesthouse whose kind manager cannot do too much – including inviting us to his home where we met his wife, which was lovely.
For a complete change of pace, visit Kannur – a bustling and friendly city, where you can shop for kurtas in modern malls and old-fashioned stores (ask Rosie) – we still have some of our favourites clothes from here.
In short, Kannur Beach House is one of the loveliest and most relaxing places to stay in Kerala.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frangijasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
198 reviews
3.9 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#17 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Malabar Residency
Malabar Residency
#14 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range: $39 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing