We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mascot Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got here the day after new years eve and managed to get rooms. We wanted the once that faced the water, but they were only available for 2 days.
We got to stay in them for the 2 days, as we wished, and was then reassigned to similar rooms.
Beds a little bit on the hard side, but other than that. The rooms were nice and the AC kept them very cool.
The swimming pool was well taken care. The view out to sea was also very nice.

We checked out and was able to leave our luggage at the hotel. We were supposed to travel by bus at night. That bus was delayed for 5 hours, and since the receptionist had booked the ticket for us, he got contacted by the bus company and told us, so we didn't have to go and sit there in vain. They even gave us a room to rest in until the bus arrived.

Breakfast could have been better. Lunch and dinner was very nice.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

There is not a beach just by the hotel, but if you walk for maybe 20 minutes north, you will find a big one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you. Thank you for all those good comments and advice. We have improved our Breakfast menu. Looking forward to welcome you again at Mascot Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    82
    22
    13
    3
See reviews for
101
45
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thank god for finding Mascot in Kannur. By far the best accomodation in terms of being in Kannur itself (we stayed in the city centre area as well), it was very clean, comfortable and extremely welcoming. Jitu, the owner, treated us like guests in his own home and the staff went to any length to ensure that we we're well taken care of. Payallumbum beach nearby isn't the best for tourists as you will be mobbed, but if you take a 20-30 minute auto ride out of town you can get to some very nice beaches. Overall, highly recommend staying in Mascot if you're in Kannur!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much.. Thank you for all those good words about our resort.. In our effort to improve the standards and quality, your review was highly motivational. We look forward to welcome you again at Mascot Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years. The room was lovely, clean tiles, white walls, balcony and a flat screen tv which is a real bonus when you're travelling!! The best part is that we were able to get a discount which meant that we could stay for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and efficient at reception and the manager helped us out with a few queries that we had about onward travel. The food was very good in the restaurant too.We didn't do alot in Kannur other than stay at the hotel and plan our next location. While the beach is close by and quite busy there wasn't really anyone sun bathing or swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellersIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review about us on the trip advisor.

Looking forward to see you again at Mascot Soon.

Thanks and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel last week and were able to get a room with a balcony for the first night of our stay, and then a standard room (no balcony) for the second night of our stay, due to rooms being booked in advance for a wedding. I really enjoyed my stay here. The view of the Arabian Sea was phenomenal and the rooms were tidy and clean. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was very good. The hotel felt very safe and secure as well. I would not count on the Wi-Fi however, because the connection is very poor, even in the restaurant. The staff was VERY helpful when arranging activities outside of the resort. The entire stay was very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend the Mascot Beach Resort and should I ever find myself in southern India again, I would stay here a second time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, it doesn't cost much more and the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much.

We are working on providing better wifi avaible throughout the property. Hopefully by next month we will be done with this work.

Looking forward to see you again at Mascot Beach Resort

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was my second stay at Mascot Beach Resort in Kannur, Kerala. It's changed enormously in the last 4 years since my last visit.
The location is breathtaking, on the shores of the Arabian Sea- the waves almost hit the walls of the resort with just a few rocks separating the two. Most of the rooms are sea facing with views of the sunset and sunrise. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, airy, well lit with good, clean bathrooms and hot water all the time. Most rooms also have balconies where you can sit and have a cup of tea and drink in the scene. The property was originally a guest house for visiting international clients. The owner, Jitu Shekar's family owns the oldest textile and handloom mills in Kannur and Jitu's father had bought this property as a guest house for his visiting customers. It was then turned into a hotel and resort with a swimming pool and large lawns for dinner and private functions.
I stayed here for Christmas and New Year 2012. The owner, Jitu, was around everyday to take care of guests and make sure the staff took care of everyone. The staff were really welcoming beyond bounds of duty- all spoke English well and were helpful and co-operative. If you needed anything, transport, advice on where to go and what to do and the best deals- from the Kerala martial arts to the local temple religious rituals- they had all the information. In case anything was required in the rooms, service time was short and efficient.
There was a wide variety of food available, kerala and international cuisine in the restaurant on the premises. The food was good. The atmosphere during Xmas and the New Year was quite busy with lots of party activity. For New Year a poolside party with a buffet dinner was organised- supremely memorable- music, dancing, and fireworks- a magnificent display of celebration, with the fireworks and the Arabian Sea as the main highlight!
Mascot has an old world charm about it and is chicer than the average resorts in Kannur, it's quite possibly the best hotel in Kannur, with a long history of international visitors and service.
It's also a very romantic spot for couples wanting to enjoy attentive service and an incredible, unspoilt, natural location. And a place for quiet contemplation off season for relaxing and enjoying a long weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangeeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Greetings of the day from Mascot Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked your stay with us. This is the best motivation we can use.

Really appreciate your brief words about our history. We assure you that we will continue our efforts to improve our quality and standard.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This resort was everything I had imagined and more.The room was very spacious, with a beautiful view of the sea. Very tropical setting, which I did not expect in India. The views of the afternoon sun setting into the sea, will forever be a snapshot, in my mind.The staff at the resort was very friendly, and attentive to travelers needs. My morning cup of coffee was enhanced with the view and the breeze from the sea. Food was great at the restaurant on the property.The swimming pool area had just been renovated. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Wish you a Very Happy New Year 2013,

Thank you so much for your feedback – we greatly appreciate it ! We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and we assure you of the same service during your next visits as well.

Look forward to see you soon.

Thanks and Warm Regards

Jithendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Planned for the Kannur trip as I wanted to take a break from Bangalore, along with my parents who had come for a visit... and the Mascot Beach Resort proved to be a perfect getaway ! Situated just overhanging a cliff giving way to the Arabian Sea, with an amazing view of the sea splashing the rocks .. you can hear the waves from the balcony which also offers a perfect view of the sunset.
The resort is well maintained, the rooms are clean & spacious and the staff is cordial.
As we were having some problem understanding the local language , we were even provided with one of the hotel staff for the local sight seeing for two days which was very considerate and helpful.

This is a perfect place if you want to get away from the city for a while ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchi_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIthendra_S, Owner at Mascot Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you were pleased with our property and comfortable rooms as well as our hotel staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Mascot Beach Resort.

Sincerely

Jithendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
3.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malabar Residency
Malabar Residency
#13 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1060.3 mi away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#15 of 23 in Kannur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mascot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mascot Beach Resort

Property: Mascot Beach Resort
Address: Near Baby Beach | Burnassery, Kannur 670001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kannur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#5 Family Hotel in Kannur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mascot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kannur is a land of resonant past, mystical folklore and ageless charm. Experience this blessed land of scenic splendor at Mascot Beach Resort. Placed on a cliff facing the Endless Arabian Sea, Mascot embraces 30 rooms tastefully furnished with all comforts, aesthetic and functional. Our Restaurant serves Malabar delicacies along with Continental and Tandoor cuisines. Our Health Spa and the endless Pool is a toner for your mind, body and soul. Wake up to see the Waves blush with shimmering rays of the rising sun and the perfect Sunset would be moments that you will always cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mascot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascot Beach Hotel Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing