We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FABULOUS PLACE.”
Review of Kanaka Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanaka Beach House
Ranked #9 of 66 Kannur B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Oh! What a lovely place!. An excellent choice for people who want to unwind, relax over a weekend and an ideal place for family get together's as well.
The location is about 20 meters from the beach with small public road in between. With the sprawling verandas on the ground and first floor giving you the best possible view of the beach one needn't step out at all to get the feeling of the beach. The bedrooms and the common areas are large and aesthetically done. The bathrooms are big, clean and acceptable.
With prior notice the food of your choice is provided. The landlady is gracious. The staff are eager to please and obliging. Their sense of order and cleanliness is noticeable. Transport to the nearby Ayurvedic message center and to the town is willingly provided here. Large parking area and manicured lawns are added features.
There exists an annex with shower and changing area for the residents coming from the beach, with an additional flight of stairs to the first floor. In spite of the proximity to the sea, the place has a fresh water well catering to the needs of the place. A PLACE WORTH RECOMMENDING.

Room Tip: There are seven bedrooms available with three located on the ground floor and rest on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshikAppanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much Ashik for your valuable review!!! We are looking forward to host you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I know Kerala is God 's own country and being a Keralite by birth, I am proud to say that my native town Kannur can boast of such a place as Kanaka beach Resort, the 2 days spent with family and friends in February was an experience in its self... To wake up to the roaring sounds of waves lashing and spotting playful dolphins in the waters and also enjoying one night of unexpected rains was worth it.The staff and management are wonderful people , and Neetha went out of her way to make sure I had wireless so that I could be connected with my office and family back home in the US. The food , umpteen teas and coffees...jogged my taste buds and memory to the point that I longed for them after I went back home. I would love another stay there!! Thank you!
Pushpa Shenoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PShenoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We as a group of six families stayed at Kanaka Beach House, Kannur recently. We were looking for small,decent guest house with good, basic facilities for overnight stay at Kannur. Kanaka Beach House was recommended by some of the friends and had acceptable review here at TripAdvisor too.
It is nicely located facing the beach with seven rooms. All rooms have nice view of the beach but rooms on the first floor have better view. Rooms are well appointed,spacious and are cleanly maintained too. They arrange for home made food so we opted for traditional Kerala food. Food was tasty and well prepared but as it is prepared at other place don't expect to be served on a plate or good presentation of food being served. As we were late in arriving food was bit cold for our liking too. They do arrange for traditional Kerala ayurvedic massage on demand which we couldn't try for the lack of time.
All in all we were pleasantly surprised by the clean, spacious rooms, by courteous, friendly staff, by the perfect location of the property. It's a nice perfect place for leisurely unwinding and kids would also enjoy the place as there is a nice little play area for them.
I do have some suggestions for owner Neetha, your staff are efficient and capable provide them with good uniform this augments the quality of the service. Try and improve the way you can serve your food by either preparing at site or by serving it hot with a decent presentation this will go long way in impressing your discerning guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmkrishna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much Doctor for your valuable review and suggestions...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked the whole house for two days in February, the house was beautiful in ever way, setting idyllic with 6/7 rooms with a sea view. Rajeev the manager was fantastic trustworthy, knowledgeable and very willing to help. The food was also good. At dawn we saw wild dolphins playing in the sea which one cannot organise. All in all everyone enjoyed and we all plan to go back soon. Thank you for making our stay really memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here with around 15 family members. Had booked the entire house. This place is absolutely brilliant. Loved every bit of it. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and always at your service. Being just a few feet off the beach wall, you cannot ask for a better location. The house has a huge balcony and outdoor sitting area which is a great place to hang out. Not very close to the city so its better to stock up with basic stuff you might need. Did use the in house catering which was pretty good. The beach does offer some water sports too. This house has a huge lawn and great place to have a party. Best place to relax and I would surely recommend this place to anyone. Ideally i feel its best to book all rooms as privacy might be a issue since there are lot of common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I decided to get off the beaten backpacker trail and visit Kannur to see Theyyam. Kanaka Beach House was great value for money, was perfectly located opposite the beach but near town, and had such amazing staff especially the manager, Raj, and the chef.

Nothing was too much trouble, food was really good, and they helped me get to two Theyyam performances.

The home itself is beautiful with big rooms, hot water and beach views from the large balconies.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks a lot Nicole for your valuable review..Its our pleasure that you could see the Theyyam, the most important ritual form in north Kerala..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

French family, 5 persons. We spent 5 days at Christmas time 2012. The guesthouse is absolutly marvellous, the surrounding is very quiet and the house is direct on the beach. The beach (about 4 km) is very clean. Despite the recent change of cooker, the food was very good. This is an excellent place for relaxing (the best we had during our South India tour). Neetha, at the head of her guesthouse, can really be proud of this realization (house finished one year ago). Denis

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dens69390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks a lot Denis for your valuable review.. We also had a great time with you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
1.4 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
295 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chera Rock Beach House
Chera Rock Beach House
#1 of 52 in Kannur
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaka Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaka Beach House

Address: Beach Road | Payyambalam Beach, Kannur 670008, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range: $58 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the world famous Payyambalam beach, ‘Kanaka Beach house’ is a land mark resort, the latest of its kind in the area. The upscale resort offers high end family rooms with a view of Arabian sea. We have a wide array of rooms for our esteemed guests including the standard Deluxe rooms, Standard A/c non A/c rooms. 'Kanaka Beach House' provides the homely feelings, while you are away from your homes. We provide all types of food as per guest's requirements..Our specialty is variety of fresh sea food dishes!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing