We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Kanaka Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanaka Beach House
Ranked #10 of 62 Kannur B&B and Inns
Moodabidri, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We as a group of six families stayed at Kanaka Beach House, Kannur recently. We were looking for small,decent guest house with good, basic facilities for overnight stay at Kannur. Kanaka Beach House was recommended by some of the friends and had acceptable review here at TripAdvisor too.
It is nicely located facing the beach with seven rooms. All rooms have nice view of the beach but rooms on the first floor have better view. Rooms are well appointed,spacious and are cleanly maintained too. They arrange for home made food so we opted for traditional Kerala food. Food was tasty and well prepared but as it is prepared at other place don't expect to be served on a plate or good presentation of food being served. As we were late in arriving food was bit cold for our liking too. They do arrange for traditional Kerala ayurvedic massage on demand which we couldn't try for the lack of time.
All in all we were pleasantly surprised by the clean, spacious rooms, by courteous, friendly staff, by the perfect location of the property. It's a nice perfect place for leisurely unwinding and kids would also enjoy the place as there is a nice little play area for them.
I do have some suggestions for owner Neetha, your staff are efficient and capable provide them with good uniform this augments the quality of the service. Try and improve the way you can serve your food by either preparing at site or by serving it hot with a decent presentation this will go long way in impressing your discerning guests.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmkrishna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much Doctor for your valuable review and suggestions...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked the whole house for two days in February, the house was beautiful in ever way, setting idyllic with 6/7 rooms with a sea view. Rajeev the manager was fantastic trustworthy, knowledgeable and very willing to help. The food was also good. At dawn we saw wild dolphins playing in the sea which one cannot organise. All in all everyone enjoyed and we all plan to go back soon. Thank you for making our stay really memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here with around 15 family members. Had booked the entire house. This place is absolutely brilliant. Loved every bit of it. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and always at your service. Being just a few feet off the beach wall, you cannot ask for a better location. The house has a huge balcony and outdoor sitting area which is a great place to hang out. Not very close to the city so its better to stock up with basic stuff you might need. Did use the in house catering which was pretty good. The beach does offer some water sports too. This house has a huge lawn and great place to have a party. Best place to relax and I would surely recommend this place to anyone. Ideally i feel its best to book all rooms as privacy might be a issue since there are lot of common areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I decided to get off the beaten backpacker trail and visit Kannur to see Theyyam. Kanaka Beach House was great value for money, was perfectly located opposite the beach but near town, and had such amazing staff especially the manager, Raj, and the chef.

Nothing was too much trouble, food was really good, and they helped me get to two Theyyam performances.

The home itself is beautiful with big rooms, hot water and beach views from the large balconies.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks a lot Nicole for your valuable review..Its our pleasure that you could see the Theyyam, the most important ritual form in north Kerala..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

French family, 5 persons. We spent 5 days at Christmas time 2012. The guesthouse is absolutly marvellous, the surrounding is very quiet and the house is direct on the beach. The beach (about 4 km) is very clean. Despite the recent change of cooker, the food was very good. This is an excellent place for relaxing (the best we had during our South India tour). Neetha, at the head of her guesthouse, can really be proud of this realization (house finished one year ago). Denis

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dens69390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks a lot Denis for your valuable review.. We also had a great time with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Kanaka Beach House for 3 nights in 2nd week of Dec 2012 and enjoyed our stay every bit.
Our first floor standard A/C room was clean and spacious with everything in order;the highlight being the view of the sea from the verandah. There is ample space for kids to run around and play in the house. The payambalam beach is just a 2 minute walk away, it's clean with no crowds (atleast on weekdays) and with a relatively calm sea is ideal for morning and evening strolls and jogs. The House has a kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge etc which was useful to heat up meals for our 14 month old.

Kannur town is about 3-4 kms drive and there are several sightseeing places like the Kannur Fort, and Arakkal museum within a 10 minute drive.

The only crib i have was the food, unlike other home stays we didn't get home cooked food, food was ordered in by the owner, while the traditional breakfast of appam, puttu was good, lunch and dinner were ordinary. I would have appreciated if we had the option of home cooked food like most home stays.

Room Tip: First floor sea facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warminusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you Prashant for your valuable review..We will be more carefull about our food. All the food is home made and brought to the resort from my home.(Especially sea food). Thanks a lot once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Thanks to the caretaker of Kanaka Beach House ( Mr Raghavan, Mr Rajiv and Mrs Neeta) for the excellent service provided during our stay. It was a lovely stay and we regret not extending our stay. We will definitely return to Kanaka Beach House in future. Hope the serenity, the services and the cleanliness will be maintained. The garden is beautiful and ideal for family with young kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanakaBH, Owner at Kanaka Beach House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Shobah, thanks a lot for your valuable review. Hope you guys reached back in Malaysia.. We will surely keep our cleanliness and service forever..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
5.5 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
1.4 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 23 in Kannur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaka Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaka Beach House

Property: Kanaka Beach House
Address: Beach Road | Payyambalam Beach, Kannur 670008, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the world famous Payyambalam beach, ‘Kanaka Beach house’ is a land mark resort, the latest of its kind in the area. The upscale resort offers high end family rooms with a view of Arabian sea. We have a wide array of rooms for our esteemed guests including the standard Deluxe rooms, Standard A/c non A/c rooms. 'Kanaka Beach House' provides the homely feelings, while you are away from your homes. We provide all types of food as per guest's requirements..Our specialty is variety of fresh sea food dishes!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing