We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place .... a real gem .....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Hues Beach House
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed here for my 40th birthday - my husband, sister and her boyfriend. We were looking for a chilled and relaxed holiday spot in kerala, and this seemed like just the place. After 2 days on the Keralan backwaters on the most beautiful houseboat, we drove 500kms north to Ocean Hues where we spent a fabulous 5 days. The house itself is simply lovely, with simple, tasteful furniture and fittings, and a stone's throw from a beautiful, isolated stretch of beach.

The only downside in the whole trip was the housekeeper/cook, Reddy, who seemed to think it was his right to occupy the house living room, and who we found every morning watchin TV (in the comfort of the AC) and then dozing in the afternoons (shirt off) on the sofa ... as we tiptoed around him lest we wake him from his slumber. This wasn't really acceptable, but the owners (who seemed really nice and very concerned for our welfare when they called to see if we were having a good stay) promised to have a word with him. His cooking was OK, but too many recycled items at dinner from lunch and generally I think wasn't really very geared up to catering to guests, though his helper, Chandu was very sweet and helpful.

That was really the only thing which wasn't good. Otherwise everything was absolutely perfect, and I had a wonderful 40th birthday in a complete paradise which I'll remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heathergupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Possibly one of the best beaches we have been to. The sea is fantabolus, you can have a great swim and on lucky days you can have dolphins for company. The house keeping is excellent and special mention of the Chef- amazing sea food,just right perfect. The owners - (Mrs & Mr Dr Suresh) of this property are delightful people and perfect hosts. A neat place they have on their hands - off beat and private. All the best and cheers

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgr8871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Ocean hues on KIZHUNNA BEACH Kannur Kerala is a true gem.Sitting right on a virgn beach our stay was a great experience.I have been there 3 times,just returned yest nightfrom a stay there with my friend and our children.They love coming to Kannur and OceanHues.

This is your own private villa on the beach.Dr Suresh Kannan the owner and his team are excellent hosts. This a 3 room villa - 2 bedroom with Aircon + living room with 3 ensuite bathroooooms.LCD TV in LR + Internet connectiviy.All rooms have stunning views of the beach and the sea,as the villa is perched on a elevated rocky ledge.The living room can be converted into a bedroom also .The villa has a few lounging areas + hamock were you can relax with the sound of waves and sea breeze for company. A few steps down and you hit an exclusive stretch of Kizhunna beach which is a pretty long beach.There is a rock formation known as Chera Rocks near by.Fresh sea food ,mussles,squid,pomfret,prawns etc fresh catch of the day bought by the local fisher men from the nearby village and sundar (villacook) cooks it for you Kerala style ....his dishes were superb.Rides on fisher men motorboats can be organised into the sea or to the nearby Dharamadam Island.

Kannur is rich in culture and arts with lot of interesting siteseeing spots around including 3-4 beaches.The backwaters are also nearby (~18km) and Suresh organised a backwater cruise on a houseboat with a bedroom + kitchen.While cruising we actually stopped and bought live crabs from the fisher men who were fishing at (1euro/kg) and the houseboat cook cooked it for us.It was brilliant.

Highly reccomend this place for families or couples out for a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blessing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This is a new unexpolred resort by the sea.It is an unexplored part of the malabar coast.The stay was very good and the food was excellant.Would recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveller3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Syllamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
2  Thank Syllamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.2 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
75 reviews
1 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#18 of 23 in Kannur
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
64 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#19 of 23 in Kannur
40 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hues Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hues Beach House

Address: Swami Guha Road | Kizhunna P.O., via Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hues Beach House is a beautiful seaside holiday rental, facing the Arabian sea, located in Kannur, a coastal town in North Kerala, in India & is perfect for a beach holiday. It is a modern, furnished, fully air conditioned, well maintained holiday home & has all the facilities for a comfortable stay, in a quiet, homely ambience, unlike commercialised resorts & hotels. It has 2 double bedrooms & a living room cum bedroom, all with a/c & attached bathroom & a sea view. We rent out individual rooms or the beach house as a whole. Meals are provided as part of the package & our menu includes a variety of dishes, including typical Kerala cuisine & fresh seafood delicacies, which will be cooked by our live-in cook. We cater to both vegetarians & non vegetarians. The tariff for an a/c double room, is inclusive of 3 meals for 2 people. We also have an internet connection with wifi. The beach is quiet, clean & uncrowded & ideal for a seaside getaway. You can take long walks along the beach, go swimming or just laze around the beach which is one of the best ways to relax & unwind from the tensions of everyday living. Ocean Hues Beach house has been accredited by the Kerala Tourism Department in the category of Serviced Villas.You can also take time to explore the rich culture of Kerala. Kannur is famous for its pristine beaches, Theyyam - its native performing art & Kalaripayattu - one of the oldest known martial art forms in the world & the handloom industry. You can also visit various other local tourist attractions. We arrange sightseeing tours, airport & railway station transfers & Ayurvedic massages at extra cost. The closest international airport is the Calicut (Kozhikode) Airport, which is about 110 Kms. from Ocean Hues. Ideal for people looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life to spend some time to rejuvenate their mind, body & soul amidst the sun, sea & sand. The combination of the homely ambience, surrounded by the swaying coconut trees, and the soothing sound of the waves makes it an idyllic seaside holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing