We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be paradise BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chera Rock Beach House
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could be paradise BUT”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I returned to Chera Rock Beach House for the third time as the previous stays had been very pleasant. Unfortunately this last one turned out to be very different.
The beach house has an excellent location on a secluded beach, the Keralan food was still very good and Mr Ali served us well as usual.
However, the main fault of the place is uncleanliness which you don't expect if you pay such high price. As long as the place was new it was probably cleaner but by now it's run-down... On our arrival in the room we were greeted by a stink, which, as we discovered by the next morning, came from the utterly mouldy beds and mattresses. Equally mouldy and stinking were the wardrobes. Windows and curtains were unwashed and the once white walls were all covered with stains. One has the impression they hardly ever clean the rooms after visitors except changing bed linen...
You'd also expect the beach house owners to clean at least that part of the beach which is right in front of the beach house. Even after a notice some of the rubbish out there was not removed during our whole stay, although it could have taken 15 minutes.
Basically, you are left with the impression the owner (and his son) just don't care much. They explained some things had not been done because the season had not really started. But didn't they have visitors?! There was also one Austrian couple staying, and as one can read from their review in German, they were as disappointed as we were.
After having cleaned the mouldy beds ourselves (which didn't help much) we spent 4 stinky nights of bad sleep at Chera Rock and decided to leave earlier than planned before. On top of all things the owner charged us full high-season price of 5000 Rs/night.
This was outrageous. It is sad our last stay turned out to be a disappointment. For other travellers I would suggest to stay either at Ocean Hues Beach House which is right on the same magnificent beach but seems to have cleaner rooms, or at the nearby Seashell Beach Resort, where you will get a better value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarinLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    50
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
77
108
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

So I had been eyeing their website: www.cherarocks.com for a year, waiting for enough holidays and a quick check on what other folks had to say on it. I read all 15 reviews of it on TripAdvisor. Not a single bad review meant that I packed my bags the first chance I got. Kannur is the city of "looms and lores". Its also where the British introduced cricket, made circus acts a profession, boasts of a Dutch fort and has a rather desolate and small snake park on its outskirts (on the way to Taliparamba).
The manager Mr. Nivedh replied to my e-mailed queries within 6 hours for each email. He took zero advance and booked a standard room for me. ZERO ADVANCE. Register that for a while because who in their right mind books a beach house on goodwill during peak times in India?! His argument is that he captures your IP Address when you email them on their website. I'm not sure if that really helps him, but he takes goodwill pretty seriously.
That is evident from the time you arrive till the time you leave. Leaving was really the hardest part. Mr. Nivedh and his staff (the cook is Mr. Ali and you will be asked about your well being by Mr. Nivedh's father and couple of other people on your trip) run their establishment really well. They dont interfere too much, give you just the right suggestions, help when its required and overfeed you. Add to that - service with a smile. Now thats really hard to come by these days.
So you reach Chera Rocks after a labyrinth of the narrowest of roads (SUV folks, downgrade now for this place!) and park your car at a friendly's place under a tree and a brisk walk down takes you to the beach house. Their website has not been photoshopped and its exactly the way they show it to be. Full marks for that. So I paid for a standard room and was bumped up to a Deluxe room that costs double because the only other folks were a nice foreign family. When I quizzed Mr. Nivedh on why they were free at this time and not overbooked - he said he wants people who know what a "real holiday" is and are not looking for a package of 2N/3D. Well thats how long I was staying, but I feel really honored and privileged to have been able to stay here. This is the place to stay if you have a writer's block. If someone wants the idiotic comforts of a TV and the Internet, stay away. There is adequate cell phone reception, though. Carry mosquito repellent. The mozzies sting like crazy. I wouldnt bother wondering about food because Mr. Ali, the cook puts forth a feast each meal time and none of the items are ever repeated. I ate a min. of 2 kinds of fish each meal, a non. veg. item etc. The fresh juices during breakfast and variety of desserts are mind boggling. They would prefer you to try their local cuisine which is slightly spicy, but do accommodate requests from foreigners/others for non-spicy food.
The Deluxe room is large enough for 2 and the bathroom is clean, airy and bright with Mosquito netting. They have 24 hrs. running hot water. The room is clean, has the basic furniture in terms of a bed (2 singles joined), a table, a chair, a cupboard, a dressing table with mirror, another shelf in front of the bathroom, ceiling fan, and a night stand. In all really basic if youre Paris Hilton, but perfect if you want to go back to basics. Simple and functional. If you want an AC, they might arrange it, but seriously you're not then cut out for being an authentic beach bum!
The view from the room is another matter entirely. Its so safe that one can sleep with their door and windows open and enjoy uninterrupted views of the sea. Thottada beach is a fishing beach and there is not a single shop on the beach. The local fishermen set out in the morning and afternoon, do their job and sell fish. Some directly to Chera Rocks, which is also why you get the freshest sea food! Crab, mussels...you name it, you get it. Chera Rocks has an understanding with the local fishermen for security and they are used to foreigners and "peaceful" visitors alike. If they like you, they might invite you to a fishing trip. There's an authentic experience up for grabs right there. In short, you can sleep, eat and drink while watching the sea and gorgeous sunsets. You can jog on the beach. You can sit atop an almost 90 degree bent palm tree and read a book if you like. You can mingle with the really 'few' locals. You can swim pretty far our into the sea because there a no undercurrents. You can read a book. In short - anything except for breaking the peace there is.
Mr. Nivedh arranges for 100% pick up and drops from the bus stand/railway station and its a good idea to avail of that. He will also arrange any visits for local sightseeing as he has tie ups with drivers. You feel right at home and your room really does become your home. I never once thought I was going back to a Hotel.
This place is one heady experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2010

i was looking for a solitude beach from months, when i found chera rocks. its a great place to experience solitude. there's no crowd, you can find few fisherman's preparing their nets, polishing their boats. they take you to the sea along with them if you request. etc.. food is fantastic, you can have a night moonlight dinner at the beach, aah pleasure,also the service is excellent. gr8 place to stay.

p.s carry hemingways old man and sea, its the place where you can write the sequel for that. enjoy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilipvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Chera Rock beach house. If one wants to experience the traditional beach experience then should definitely head to this resort. Both of my kids had a lovely time there playing along the shores and especially running in the soft white sand. The food was awesome especially the breakfast.

Nivedh and Ali were good hosts. Altogether it was a good experience,would love to to go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anithanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Unbeatable location right on the beach, very good food which includes a mid morning and afternoon juice. Service from the house staff very attentive although let down by the manager and son not being quite as on the ball. The two rooms in the semi-detached cottage are a bit expensive for India although good value for the area and rates include all food. The three rooms in the more recently constructed building are exorbitantly priced for what they offer. If it’s privacy you’re after then be warned that the area in from of the terrace to the more expensive rooms doubles as a public walkway. Also worth noting that the mosque right next door guarantees an early morning wake up call - even by Indian standards it's loud. Whichever the room, watch out for falling coconuts!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoundOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trichy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Myself and my wife stayed at chera beach house at kannur for a rain holidays.what a perfect
place to stay and enjoy over the sea and rain with a beautiful rain walk everyday along the shore.It is a very quiet lonely place with beauty of the sea and sand one can simply foreget
about everything and say thank to god for the beauty he has poured in this place.There is no word to describe the hospitality and the kindness showed by ALI THE CARE TAKER OF THE HOUSE SIMPLY NO ONE CAN NEVER FORGET.NIVEDH WHO IS THE OWNER OF THE RESORT IS SO ATTENDTIVE IN ALL ASPECTS AND ALSO VERY KIND.NO ONE CAN FIND ANY FAULT ON ANYTHING AND MY STAY OVER THERE WITH
MY FAMILY FOR 3 FULL DAYS IS NOTHING BUT A EVER GREEN MEMORY. WE WILL GO THERE AGAIN IN NEXT RAIN HOLIDAYS.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trichyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Returned to Chera Rocks for a few days in May. We were very happy to find our
Malabar base :-) again! This time, had even more swims in the sea, did a boat trip to Darmadan island and learned to make coconut stuffed fried bananas, a simple but oh how delicious dessert that must be guests’ favorite.
The weather in May is fine in the region, maybe slightly hotter, but as it also sometimes rains at night, the nature’s a lot greener and lusher than in Jan-Feb. A pleasant sight!
Looking forward to the next visit in a few months!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kannur hotels
1.3 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
5.4 mi away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 23 in Kannur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#11 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
214 reviews
6.8 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Property: Chera Rock Beach House
Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chera Rock Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing