We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chera Rock Beach House
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four days in Paradise!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Chera Rocks. I have to say it is the most amazing beach location any of us have ever stayed in!!! A little hard to find if you don't know where it is but that's part of the charm because you are on a totally secluded and beautiful beach! The sea is the perfect temperature and the beach is lovely with only a couple of fishermen dotted around occasionally. We stayed in the deluxe rooms … they are lovely and spacious. As previous reviewers have stated you don't need a/c because the breeze coming off the indian ocean straight in front of the cottage keeps you cool! The food is amazing and the hosts are wonderful and will help you with any questions you have. There is free wifi (wind dependent … seriously!) if you want to keep in touch with the outside world (or just make them jealous). To be honest we didn't really go anywhere else because it's so lovely there is no need! We really wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the deluxe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bijoubreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    50
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
108
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the resort from January 14 to January 18th, 2014 and we had a great time which we will never forget.

Let me begin by saying that the best thing about the Chera Rocks is the beach. Its location is excellent and quite possibly the best location along the entire stretch of sand in the area because it faces the Arabian Sea on two sides. The other benefit of the beach is that it is basically your own beach! There may be a few other people on the beach (who are staying at the resort) or some local fishermen but you never really notice anyone else on the beach. It’s great for just relaxing and lazing on the beach!

The other great aspect of the Chera Rocks is the staff. Nivedh, and his father, own the property and he was on site all time. He was very eager to assist us in whatever we wanted to do and he made sure to arrange for auto rickshaws and direct us to places that he thought we may want to visit. For example, he told us about a Thyyam Celebration that was occurring, a Weaver’s Co-operative, and the Kerala Dinesh Beedie Factory – all of which were fairly close-by. One of the other things that I really appreciated is that when we made our booking, he took our reservation and he also arranged for a driver to pick us up at the Kannur Train Station – all without any payment and just on our word.

Some of the other highlights for me included:
• The Food – all of the meals were served outdoors either in an open air cabana or outside under the stars. We loved every meal that we were served, especially the meals served on banana leaf! Nivedh, I would suggest all meals be served on banana leaf!
• The Cottages – we stayed in the cottages that were slightly away from the main guest house, which I liked as it was more secluded. The cottages are basic but all you really need when you’re a beach bum!
• The Staff – all of the staff were very friendly, hard workers and eager to assist.
• Fishermen and local people – it was interesting to see the fishermen and also the local people living and working close by – on a couple of evenings we watched local kids play cricket and football on the beach.
• Scenery and Smells – Beautiful – a tropical paradise with coconut trees, hibiscuss flowers and spices in the air!

The only criticisms that we had were the following:
• Our beds were hard – But we later found out that the mattresses could have been flipped over if we would have said something to the staff
• Although we loved the food, sometimes the meals were not as hot as we would have liked, probably because it was being served outdoors

One thing to note is that there is mosque located right behind the new cottages and there is call to prayer every few hours. Initially, we were a little surprised at how close it was to our cottage but eventually we grew to appreciate the call to prayer.

All in all, I loved Chera Rocks – its unspoiled, beautiful and very welcoming. I would definitely go back if I am fortunate to visit Kerala – God’s Own Country – again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The magic of this place called us back and we were not disappointed, same room overlooking the beach, same wonderful welcome and real home cooking - what more could a soul want? Yes the approach is unusual and it is advisable to limit your luggage because of the steps but who needs more than a towel, a pair of trunks and a T-shirt? We have stayed in many properties across India and each has its own charm but this one feels like home and deserves to be popular.
Each day starts with a stroll over to the fishing boats to see what the night catch has brought and from then on the day stretches before you with time to unwind, particularly welcome if you have arrived via the rail network! Your every need will be attended to by Ali, with his ever present smile, but do take time to say hello to the rest of the staff. Would we return? Yes our booking for 2015 is already in their diary.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have the best view and meals are served on your veranda. There is no A/C but with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GibBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Chera Rock Beach House dissolves your cares and worries into a golden haze and is perfect if you want to unwind, kick your shoes off and spend your time lazing away your days connecting with nature. This is the place. The location is breath-taking.

The backbone of this magical place is held together by an amazing, hard-working team. Expertly working behind the scenes to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as they can. This is definitely 5* service here, with incredibly polite, friendly and helpful staff. Wise, honest, reliable and caring owners (Nivedh and his dad Shree) who cannot do enough to support you with your needs, all you have to do is ask.

The location and the expert service somehow make you feel as though you have come home, it's a truly heart-warming experience. I am someone who likes to have my time to myself and what I love about this place is that I can do just that. Yet, when I want a coffee or a drink it's waiting for me...

I have stayed at Chera Rock Beach House twice before, once in 2010 and last year in conjunction with the Walk your Talk retreats weeks they hold there. I have stayed in all of the rooms and eaten their delicious food many times. I love the fact that they continue to experiment and try many different dishes so you never become bored. My favourite dish is prawns mouli, if you are into fish I def advise asking to try it. My favourite room is room number 3 you can get wi-fi inside the room and have a hammock on your doorstep as well as the sea.

What's great is that the staff and owners at Chera Rock are consistently looking to improve and ask for constructive feedback regularly. I recently suggested getting some softer pillows and the next thing I had them.

You won't be disappointed if you choose this as a place to stay in North Kerala, you will feel as though you have found treasure and want to keep it a secret.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessajT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I reserved a room by telephone then walked the long beach to the resort arriving late. Manager said he'd no rooms then 2 rooms then again no rooms. It was dark and no other accommodation nearby so I said I'd post a tripadvisor review, then he said he's 1 room. Dishonest to optimise profit. As the resort is in high demand and I was to stay 1 night alone and without use of the spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Overseen by manager Nivedh, this little patch of paradise is tucked well and truly out of the way - the chances of happening upon it by accident are virtually nil. You can drive to the end of a narrow road and alight from your car, and then descend steps through the trees to this amazing collection of rooms. Each room overlooks and borders one of two beaches separated by a sand spit and the rocks.

Food is fantastic, staff helpful. If you like beaches it is superb; if you like tranquility it is superb. I would like to have been warned that there would be a short call for prayer at 5.40 from the mosque that lies next to the resort - but it is easy enough to turn over and go back to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

So serene ....secluded ...tucked away from the maddening crowd ....... walk on the beach under the moonlit sky in the middle of the night ... relaxing on the dimly lit veranda..... the moonlight reflecting on the rocks ......the waves swaying the lonely boat ..... red wine .....yummilicious food...... perfect holiday ever.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DEEPA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kannur
1.3 mi away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
125.9 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
4.7 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
165.2 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Property: Chera Rock Beach House
Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chera Rock Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing