We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chera Rock Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chera Rock Beach House
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Chera Rocks Beach House for two nights in January 2013 at the end of a two week trip to India and we weren't disappointed!

Chera Rocks is a fantastic place in every way, the location is amazing, with the rooms facing out onto an uncompletely unspolit beach, the food is great - lots of curry and fresh seafood and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Kannur is also only a short ride away in a rickshaw or local bus should you crave some Indian city craziness!

If you get bored of the beach, there are a couple of 'must-dos' in the area which are shopping trips to The New Store and visits to the Loknath Weavers' Co-operative and the Dinesh Beedi Co-operative (which are all in Kannur).

We loved staying here so much and would recommend booking a room at Chera Rocks, you certainly won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenecluercoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    50
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
104
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The view is wonderful and the beach is right on your doorstep. There are a lot of big coconut bearing palms and interesting plants. The food is very well cooked and delicious. You can get your meals with or without spice but you must tell the cook beforehand. If you are not staying in one of the larger rooms that have room service there is a dining room for the guests which looks out onto the beach. There are plenty of things to do in the surrounding area. These include visiting forts, temples, weavers/manual hand looms, the towns nearby or walking, swimming and relaxing. There are some local fisherman that supply this resort with freshly caught seafood and fish. In a nutshell Chera Rocks is a very peaceful place that has wonderful beaches, many surrounding sights to see and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms have room service (your meals are brought to you) and these rooms are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spend 6 days in mid dec 2012
Place with very good service, Ali is the star of the place!
Fabulous location, empty beach, Lang walks both left and right, great food.
An absolute " we will come back" place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

On the side of an empty white sand beach lined with coconut palms, the beach houses sit, off a small road best reached by rickshaw.

With three meals a day included we didn't leave the beach house except for beach walks and swims.

Food: You can look forward to fish straight off the boat to the kitchen and your table within an hour. Felt safe to eat the fish, which was deliciously prepared. Meals served to your balcony, with excessive quantities of food, all tasty.

Staff: friendly and helpful, Ali was the star performer during our stay, helping out with information, as well as speedy efficient service.

Sights: morning glow over the ocean followed by mussel fisherman heading out to the rocks, a fleet of small boat fisherman, and sunset between the palms.On beach walks keep an eye out for hidden cliff side shrine, best spotted in the evening when the candles are lit. We saw hardly any other tourists here, no salespeople on the beach.

We stayed in one of the older rooms, while there was a/c it didn't work during our stay, the fan kept us cool though and there was velcro for flyscreens to be attached to the windows, which we requested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Chera Rocks had excellent rooms and the food was out of this world! We had the beach to ourselves the whole time, miles of it. So perfectly quiet and restful for us, no traffic, no salesmen, just a few fishermen going about their fishing. In fact we ate their freshly caught fish everyday. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs especially Mohamed Ali who served our food to us at our table everyday. We always had hot water, the bathroom was great, nice furniture, great sleep at night. We stayed five days and decided to stay an extra three because we felt extremely relaxed after six months of hectic life back home. This place is a little jewel and we highly recommend it to de-stress your life.
It was great for us there, quiet enough to practise our meditation.
If I had kids I'd bring them here, so much sand to play with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the most tranquil places to stay with very good service and terrific value. The owners are really hands on and look after their guests impeccably and will always try and realise any request thrown at them. We have just booked again as our experience with the owners and the staff has always been so welcoming, definitely one of our favourite spots.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catnewtonhaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed 4days & 3 nights at Chera Rocks on Nov 12th to 15th, to get rid from Bangalore cracker sounds and pollution. Selected CRBH after reading 2 to 3 pages positive reviews.
The complimentary pickup was good, picked us correct time without any delay.
Food is good with variety of veg and sea food.
Serving of Fresh Juice & fruit is very good.
Accommodation of deluxe room double bed with attached bath room providing double fan. Room is clean and tidy.
The outdoor also maintained with green lawn and coconut trees.
Beach also clean with low tide, very much sate to children

The place very suitable who looking get rid of city hassle and want spend good times without tv, mobiles, traffic, internet & office boss ::), its the place to hang out.
Early morning wake up around 7am take long walk come back have b/f, Enjoy with dipping in beach hours together, come back get down on hammock or sit in front of beach with cool breeze under coconut shade. If need more chill enjoy with chilled bear reading your favourite books.

Chatting with Nividh and his father is very good, they made our stay very comfortable, after hearing my 4 yr old son not taking food, they provided snacks to him.

Over all experience with CRBH is very good, if you are looking simple leaving without expecting any luxury its the best place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blr_Deepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kannur
0.0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
0.0 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Property: Chera Rock Beach House
Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chera Rock Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing