We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Muzhappilangad Drive-in Beach
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The place is simply awesome. Driving along the water through the sand was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The approach to the beach was surprisingly good and it is surely a thing to do if you visit that part of kerala

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Deepak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    174
    33
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets of Kerala”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very little about the north kerala is known to the world, and everyone seems to visit more of the backwaters. Well, thats perfectly understandable knowing that the number of things to see and do in this part of Kerala might be limited, but in that list there is one item that is definitely a must visit during any trip to Kerala.

This drive in beach is one unique place where the sand is so thick and strong that it can take the full weight of the car even on the wet portions of the beach. The beach itself is about 2-3 kms long that gives a great sight. Driving on this beach is a fantastic experience and makes it the most interesting place in this part of Kerala.

When we went there it was drizzling a bit, adding to the already beautiful weather then. You would find a lot of locals trying to learn car driving there :). Drive to the end of the beach and there is a small section of backwaters, the place is really nice to hang around. This beach seems to be well maintained, they have deployed benches for travellers to sit and relax. Overall, a fantastic and unique experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very beautiful drive in beach”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I like this beach, very long sea side riding please available hear.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ratheeshpulakkul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow..Never experienced this earlier”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Muzhappilangad Drive-in Beach is located parallel to NH17 between Kannur and Thalassery. Co-ordinates at http://wikimapia.org/100698/Muzhappilangad-Drive-In-Beach-Thalassery-670662-%E0%B4%A4%E0%B4%B2%E0%B4%B6%E0%B5%8D%E0%B4%B6%E0%B5%87%E0%B4%B0%E0%B4%BF
This is supposedly the only drive-in beach of its kind in Asia.

The sand along the beach is firm enough to be driven on. Had never driven a car that way earlier. Its possible to take the car/bike into the water and splash it all around, but only if you want to risk taking it into the salt water.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank VB_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Muzhappilangad Drive-in Beach”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is the only drive in beach i have visited in my life.And i am damn sure there is no other drive in beach in south india.I reeached this beach around 2 pm and this was the right time to visit in a weekend as the place gets crowded fy around 4 pm.i was in my swift car with 3 others and entered the beach in my car.though i have read in many blogs that its a drive in beach i still had the feaar to take my car to the beach.but then with full confidence i took the car to the beach and when i gained confidence i even stared driving the car in water.It was real fun because we had our windows down and water started splashing in and everyone getting wet.Then i started performing stunts in the beach with my car and finally turned back with full satisfaction

Helpful?
2 Thank Prisune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muzhappilangad Drive-in Beach also viewed

Kannur, Kannur District
Kannur, Kannur District
 
Kannur, Kannur District
 

Been to Muzhappilangad Drive-in Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing