We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stay in the Al Giardino apartment in october 2012.
The apartments Al Giardino are in the mainland side of Venice City, in Venice-Favaro. This is very good explained on their website and on all info I have seen. Favaro is a district of Venice and the bus takes 15 minutes to get to Venice-Old Town.
Excellent email/communication throughout the booking period. Good and easy booking engine in the web site.
The apartments are very comfortable clean and with modern design. New and smart facilities, very well presented- seemingly refurbished and decorated recently and all very stylish,
The owner was very helpful, spoke very good English and we were shown the apartment by was very helpful.
The bus takes around 15-20 minutes. You can buy a bus ticket at the tobacco shop nearby.
Good value for money.
There is a Lavazza coffee machine in the apartments and fully equipped kitchen, fridge, dishwasher etc. 
Juice, croissants and coffee were provided. We have suggested they put in a kettle too as the coffee machine was a little tricky to work,.
Very nice new bathroom, marble tiles, superb facilities and double shower with adjustable wall jets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyGallego92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! As for the kettle we decided to recommend the use of our high-tech microwave! The vaporizer machine for espresso and cappuccino Lavazza is the best thing you can have to heat the milk and making the foam for cappuccino. We are very keen to Italian traditions! Thanks again and ... goodbye to Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    5
    10
    16
See reviews for
18
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked an apartment (which was a studio, single room with ensuite) and advised twice we'd be arriving at 1pm. At 12:55pm we arrived at the gate, rang the bell and no answer we then had to call a mobile number (costly for international calls) and a few minutes later someone arrived. We were all checked in within about 10 minutes and the staff member left the property again.

We unloaded our luggage and walked about 50m to the room. I then tried to connect to the advertised wireless (which I had confirmed prior to booking) to find no wifi available. We then tried to call the mobile number again and no answer, we had to call 12 more times before someone finally answered at 9:30pm and advised that wifi was only available in the office and not in the apartments, and we'd have to sit in the garden at the property were the car was for wifi. I raised my concern as I had requested the wifi before booking and was basically ignored.

The room was also not as clean as you would expect, the walls were heavily marked, the shower head etc were not clean and the couch in the room was torn. Photos attached.

The next saga was the breakfast, included you would hope so, as nobody would pay for it. Prepackaged croissant which were left the day before for the next morning and were terrible and some other prepackaged items.

The bed was clean and comfortable though. There was a/c and this worked well. There is also a bus service that runs every 20 or so minutes and took 15min to Venice.

Overall I would not recommend this property especially if you need wifi and a clean, maintained room, also to be able to contact the staff. We also sayed at another hotel in Venice for a similar price with much better facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
This guest asked us not to make them pay for the damage he had done to our sofa bed as well as a discount on the price: in exchange he told us that he would not have made a bad review on trip advisor. We did not pay for the damage we have done, but we have not done any discount: we see that he did a bad review on Tripadvisor :-)!
We also do some small observation.
This gentleman says he has come early arrival time but did it anyway to check in ten minutes: do not understand what's so negative.
We explained to this guest to connect to our WiFi code is required that we give to customers in a card: at this guest was not interested, he expressed his interest only late at night and we'd have politely explained that could have had the card the next morning: here we do not understand what is bad in our behavior.
The day after the guest has turned all our properties with mobile in hand to try to connect to WiFi and we have explained the areas where he could connect without problems: here we do not understand what we did wrong.
We explained to this gentleman that he was staying in a "appartamento turistico / holiday apartment" (we are not a business hotel, we are a non-hotel family accommodation) and that the laws of the Veneto Region we must serve only pre-packaged products. As explained in our website we offer the free breakfast :-) and our products are pre-packaged by leading Italian companies: Lavazza Coffee, croissants Bauli, San Carlo biscuits, chocolate Nutella, jam Zuegg, etc.. On this point we do not understand what we did bad.
This host tells us in his review that the bed was clean and comfortable and we have a good bus service that brings in the historical center of Venice in just 15 minutes does not seem a bad thing ...
As for the sofa bed pulled up to the day before everything was ok ...
One last thing: if you want a service from hotel to book into a hotel and ask rightly service from hotel. Who wants a book in bed and breakfast can book in a bed and breakfast and knows that the service is bed and breakfast.
Book a bed and breakfast and claim a hotel services is wrong, as it is wrong to write a bad review on Tripadvisor claiming that a bed and breakfast give the services of a hotel!
One last piece of friendly advice: Venice and throughout Italy have thousands of years of history and offer much more to see and experience rather than spending time with a beer in one hand and a mobile in the other looking for the best possible wifi! Seeing is believing ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Favaro Veneto hotels

Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

In April we booked 2 suites for 2 nights in this B&B for two friends of ours, their 15 year old boy and ourselves. We received a confirmation via e-mail and looked forward at staying here in August. On our way there (by car) I called 3 hours before we arrived to confirm our arrival time. We arrived at 9:00 p.m. after a long drive and a nasty thunderstorm just started. We were greeted by Ambra, the owner's daughter, who speaks english and french.

After looking up my name on her list she apologized profusely as only 1 suite was available due to a mix up as they had recently changed computer (I still don't get this, since the booking system is online anyway). So we were offered a rather small room, with bathroom/toilet outside but on the same floor (hardly a second choice to a suite). The room had a small double bed, TV and airco, but it was not the suite we were looking forward too. But it was late, we were tired after the long drive and wanted to go out for dinner, so we accepted this accomodation whilst Ambra still apologized and promised we would get a good rate and a discount to compensate for the incovenience. She then provided us info on where to eat, a map with discount vouchers and info on how to get tickets for the bus to Venezia.

There is a bus stop right next to the B&B and it's about a 15-20 minutes ride to Venice. The property has a nice garden, parking for 3 cars only. Breakfast was always served indoors though I suppose for convenience. The visit to Venice was great.

On the day of our departure, Ambra was not there and another girl served breafast and did the accounting. As we checked out she gave me the rate for the suite? I explained to her (I am Italian so communication on the first night with the owner's daughter could not have been clearer) that Ambra gave us a small room and promised a good rate and a rebate. The girl had good will but had no info on this. She called the owner who did not know anything and advised to call Ambra. She however was not reachable on her cell phone, despite a few attempts (it was 10:00 a.m).

In the meantime we are losing time, my friends and wife are waiting. I politely advised we could go see if Ambra was home since she mentioned on our arrival she lived just next door. The woman left and a few minutes later came back with supposedly discounted rate for our room. We paid and left around 10:30.

Now, mistakes happen and I can understand that. However, why should I pay for mistakes of others? I booked a 2 suites with credit card 4 months ahead, called to confirm our arrival hours earlier, and yet we still did not get the suite we wanted. On top of that, there was no communication to the staff about the change in room, rate and promised discount. My wife was very dissapointed by this. Overall, I would say this B&B would be good, if they had not screwed up our booking and had such poor communication amongst their limited staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the small room with the double bed and the separate toilet/bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnomo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
To be honest, this review has a little surprised. In fact, these guests, during their stay and in the time of departure, at our questions "if everything was ok" they always said yes. Let us, however, to point out a few things. That at the time of check-in there was a "terrible storm", we must confess that our B&B is not yet organized to change the climate of Venice :-)! That there was a mix up with the booking of two suites, we must admit that these guys are right. Unfortunately, in those days we changed our old computer with a new one and the transfer of data from the old version to the new software has created some problems. Basically, the two lines of booking two suites, there appeared only one line with a reservation for only one suite. Of this we apologize and apologize again, unfortunately the technology is cool and useful, but sometimes crazy! However, we have offered guests a different form of accommodation in the room and these customers have accepted and said that it was to their liking. About serve breakfast inside the hotel, honestly this is the first time someone sees it as a strange thing! We regret the error also when calculating the total (always for the reason that we explained above), but the fact that it took "15 minutes" to clear it does not seem so bad a thing to give us a very negative review. In any case, now we have a new iMac, our website offers a new booking engine system with instant confirmation and with the new software is impossible to go wrong and no one has to lose 15 minutes to check the data at the time of check in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were traveling to Venice to get a flight, and wanted to spend a night and check out the historic part of the city. This B&B was great as for us -- the fact that it's not in the center is great, as parking is free, the roads are modern, and we could get out for a great dinner locally without it costing a fortune.

The bus to the city was an issue because we didn't realize it's hard to get a ticket on Sunday when a lot of the shops were closed, but it wasn't much of an issue. We drove across the bridge and parked at the first lot (p Roma, I think).

The room was nice, our two kids shared the pull out bed, plenty of room.

Owners were great, good email interaction before and after.

Really a great experience. I'd recommend it as it's quiet, modern and convenient. I should also mention it's about 10 minutes to the airport, so getting out was easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OftenContentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the compliments! More and more guests who appreciate the fact that our B&B is easy to reach from Venice. From Marco Polo International is easy to reach by car, and with the public bus service line 45. With regard to the purchase of bus tickets (which until recently could be done only in authorized stores), now, in the closing days of the stores, you can do it directly on the bus with a small surcharge. Thanks again and see you in Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assenede, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in an appartment at Al Giardino, and enjoyed everything as told on the website : spacious appartment with enough comfort. Safe AND free parking place fot the car. Perfect busconnection from your doorstep. Avoid a busride towards Venice during morning rush hour (8 AM), and avoid coming back from Venice between 5 & 6 PM. Good flyer with indications of highights in Venice and promotions in restaurants and bars in Favaro itself. Helpful people. We can recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you! See you in Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Al Giardino has a bed and breakfast as well as self-catering apartments. My friend and I loved the one we stayed in. The owners were friendly and helpful. The air conditioning was lovely. The bus line is almost at your doorstep and only takes 15 minutes to get into the heart of Venice! Free parking for my car was also a plus! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Get a good review from those who have much experience in travel and hospitality makes us proud of our work!
We are happy when people appreciate our efforts to make the stay as pleasant as possible for guests who come to visit us. I inform you that we are expanding our mini-map guide of restaurants and shops that we recommend because historical or original. When you return, we are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

it takes about 25mins by bus to venice!! and the bus is crowded !!! it is not convenient and takes too long to get to the place!! total waste of time

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennylee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algiardinopro, Proprietario at Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
First of all we are sorry that our guest has had this negative impression on our location in Venice. Our B&B Al Giardino is located in the mainland of the city of Venice, in Favaro district and is connected with the Old Town with a good public bus service that make the journey in just 15 minutes. Unfortunately, the time when this host has visited us, our city had a lot of work in progress for the construction of the new line of electric trams, there have been problems with traffic and road works and this is why this guest took more time than 15 minutes to go from our B&B to the historic center of Venice. All information on our location, how to get and how to surf in Venice are located in four pages of our website, all with Google satellite maps. Recently we try to update our visitors on what happens in Venice, even from our Facebook page and our Blog. Finally, in December 2010 the works of the New Venice Tram are gone and this new environmentally friendly transport service begins to operate, offering a good opportunity to further link between our bed and breakfast and the Old City of Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Favaro Veneto
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#171 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Eco B&B Venice
#1 of 7 in Favaro Veneto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast

Property: Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Altinia 119/B, 30173 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Favaro Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Favaro Veneto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B, the "Bed and Breakfast Al Giardino" is situated very close to the centre of the historic city of Venice and to the old centre of Mestre, in the Veneto region of Italy. Our Bed & Breakfast offers, at € 35.00 per person per night, in Venice, a room with private bathroom, breakfast and parking all-inclusive! In Venice, bed and breakfasts (B&B) are a great alternative to hotels, lodges, pensions, inns and hostels: the "Bed and Breakfast Al Giardino" offers you the opportunity to benefit from a service with one of the best price/quality ratios in the city. Our B&B is handy for the motorway, the Venice - Santa Lucia and Venice - Mestre Railway Stations, Venice - Marco Polo International Airport and Venice - Treviso Airport, and the Passenger Terminal of the Port of Venice. In addition, you can move easily from our B&B throughout the Venice Metropolitan Area using the public transport system, adding enjoyment to your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Al Giardino Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Giardino Bed And Breakfast Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing