We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had an overnight layover at VCE, so I chose this hotel after carefully looked for other hotels in the area. From the airport you can take bus #45 to the hotel. The bus only runs every hour. I took bus #5 to the first stop from the airport and then I connected with bus #45H to take me to the hotel. The entire trip took about 30 minutes. They sell the bus ticket at the airport for 6 euros . . . although it costs only 1.30 to ride back from the hotel to the airport! The bus drivers know where the hotel is located.
The hotel staff is very nice, however, the rooms are very small and definitely 2 star by the US Standards. These are probably the smallest rooms that I have seen in Europe. The shower is extremely small and it makes it hard to use it. The sheets and towels were immaculate. Everything seemed to bee very clean. The breakfast was good. The croissants, mortadella and the cheese were good also. They had boiled eggs, and a few other salty pastries. The sweet pastries did not seem to be very fresh. The orange juice is weak in color and ok in taste. The breakfast is up to par with a three star hotel in USA.
If you want to see Venice, take bus #19, which is on the left intersection of the hotel; it will take you to Piazza Le Roma. From there you can take the boat #1 (stops frequently) or boat #2 (stops less frequently) to the San Marcos Square. You can also walk to the square. I bought a 12 hour ticket for 22 euros which included the bus and the boat. If you want to buy souvenirs, exit at the casino station and head towards Piazza le Romma. There are plenty of shops that offer very good prices.
From the hotel to the airport the shuttle costs 15 euros. The staff will try to tell you that for the bus ride to the airport costs 6 euros. However, when I bought the bus ticket at the Tobaco shop across the street, it costed only 1.30 euro. You must scan the tickets in order to validate them. The bus #45 runs on every 32 minute of the hour and it takes about 15 minutes to the airport. The bus station is Pastrello.

Room Tip: The wi fi signal seems best on the first floor of the hotel. Request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    210
    121
    47
    26
See reviews for
111
209
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We're family of three who had quite low expectations because the room was quite cheap for Venice. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and had everything that we needed, with the added bonus of a balcony. The staff were very helpful and smartly dressed. Breakfast was really good. The hotel is in a lovely suburb with nice restaurant and amenities nearby and the main tourist area of Venice was a pleasant 20 minute bus journey away.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Location: Good. If you get off at S. Lucia, you can cross the bridge to Piazzale Roma (3 minutes) and take bus n. 19 and get off at Piazza Pastrello Stop (~20 mins).
If you get off at Mestre Station, you can catch the Tram T1 and get off at Piazza Pastrello Stop (~15 to 20 mins).
During our stay, we usually took bus 19 from/to Piazalle Roma as we that is in the main Venice town area. Take a pass as that comes out to be more reasonable that individual rides.
The area/neighbourhood is quiet and residential - a nice place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Venice city.

Staff/Service: The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We arrived in the morning, much before the check-in time. We could keep our luggage in a corner in the lounge, which was safe.

The breakfast is not very elaborate, but considering that it is included in the room, it is okay. They have breads, eggs, milk, yoghurt, cheese, some variety of meat, desserts etc. On the day of our departure, we were leaving early in the morning. The staff arranged croissants and dessert for us.

Room: Small. Smaller than I expected even after reading reviews here saying the rooms are small. The bath area is just enough for one fit person. The room is neat, clean and well maintained.

Overall, the stay was pleasant, and we left the hotel with mixed feelings!

Room Tip: Biggest possible room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MananG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Ducale 6/1/12-6/2/12
Our experience was great. We found , expecially Anna, Patrica and Davitia to be very helpful during our visit. Most staff spoke english, and they went out of their way to make our stay a Great one. There is a coffee shop next door, which was open late and Mondo's pizza down the street serves a wonderful pizza. We felt safe in the neighborhood. The public bus system stops right across the street in front of the hotel.
The hotel set up our transfer to the cruise terminal.
The food was good.
The staff did a GREAT job at making traverlers feeling welcome and cared for..... Thanks

Tracie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracieM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel was a great place to stay after our cruise. It was much cheaper then staying in the main part of Venice. It was a nice, short ride on a bus from the bus area right outside the cruise terminal. The only bad part was that the public trasportation system was on strike the first day we were there and we couldn't get back into main Venice easily - this was fine with us b/c we were exhausted. We walked up and down the street and ate at the bar next door before relaxing for the afternoon.
The bus system is very easy to use and the next day we very easily got into Venice and back. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was all clean except for the shower which was a little mildewy. Overall, our stay here was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Booked this thru Hotels.com. It was the same as what cruise agent was going to use but at a 3rd of price. Used it for after cruise so we had 2 days in Venice. After getting off ship and people mover we bought a 36 hr travel pass for 25 euros each at the paper shop kiosk right next to the number 19 bus stand. We had contacted hotel by email and 'Irish' had giving directions and advised that we could store luggage till check in time. Number 19 runs every 15 mins but on a Sunday every 30 mins. bus stop about 50 meters from hotel. We left our luggage and went off to Venice for the afternoon. Takes about 20 mins, we were able to use the waterbuses with our pass- remember to validate at the round machines every time you get on. Returned to hotel about 4pm. Our room was on the first floor overlooking road but we couldnt hear any noice- basic but very clean, with air con. After evening in Venice got back about 9.50pm and some Americans who had been on the bus, asked if it was too late to use the restaurant as it closed at 10.00 but they were made more than welcome. Breakfast was buffet from 7am to 10am,with plenty to eat and drink, and you weren't made to rush. Left our cases again and went back to Venice -Great fun using waterbuses- went over to Lido and spent little time on beach. Check times for buses, no 45, to airport on a Sunday as the last one is 5.30 pm. Hotel charge 15 euros for transport to airport.Overall hotel was fine, staff very friendly. Would recommend.

Room Tip: dont be put offwhen you open your room door- beds are basic, bathroom has shower, might be abit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jazzyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I booked this room because I had an early morning flight out. Used it for two nights after a cruise. Here are some pros and cons from my visit.

Pros

Close to airport - bus #45 and first bus come to stop across street at 5:50am with a 15 min ride. All for 1.3 euro per person

Not far from Venice, but the bus sometimes is only one per hour (sundays) no ac on buses.

Breakfast is ok. OJ is extremely watered down... Like water. Cappuccino weak also. I asked two people about getting an early breakfast, both said no problem. Morning came and was given one croissant only reluctantly and after asking. Croissants are fresh and very good though

Price was good

Cons

Beds are very hard, even for euro standards. Shower super small.

They don't let you check in early, so you stuck in a hot lobby for hours.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTrvlCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Favaro Veneto
0.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#13 of 58 in Mestre
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
234 reviews
6.0 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#349 of 386 in Venice
320 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#50 of 58 in Mestre
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Property: Hotel Ducale
Address: Via Triestina 5, 30173 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Favaro Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ducale 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ducale Easily join-able, the Hotel Ducale offers to clients arriving by car a free parking, and we suggest to take advantage of it for your whole stay!Cyclists and motorcyclists are welcome!Quiet comfortable is the bus n. 19 that takes you directly to Venice-Piazzale Roma, in only 20 minutes, and also the connections to Venice-Mestre Railway Station, and to Marco Polo Airport, thanks to a good public transportation service.A shuttle service is at disposal of clients from the Hotel to Marco Polo Airport, to Treviso-Canova Airport and to the Port of Venice. For any information or reservation please ask at the Reception.We are located only 5 km from the Venice Casino in Ca’ Noghera, the casino where you can enter also wearing jeans and snickers! To get the free entrance tickets please ask at the Reception.The Hotel Ducale offers modern services in a pleasant and family atmosphere that satisfy exigent tourists and businessmen in a comfortable and quiet ambiance.Infact, family Sartori is a good reference point in the area for Italian and foreign tourists, since 1950.The Ducale Hotel has been recently and completely renovated, in accordance with European safety standards (ISO 2000).It has 47 rooms all equipped with modern comfort as private bathroom with shower (some with bath-tube), self air-conditioning and heating, LCD satellite TV with SKY channels also in foreign languages, safe, telephone with direct outside line, hairdryer.The Hotel offers furthermore, 24h24 reception (our staff speaks English, French, German, Spanish and … Venetian dialect), a 24h24 bar, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and salt dishes, opened from 7.00 to 10.00 (but you can have a coffee and a croissant also at 5.00, if you are leaving so early!), the Risto-Pizza (opened from 7.00 to 10.00 pm) - 1 day off per week), free WiFi connection, Internet Point with printer at disposal of clients, possibility to send/receive faxes, elevator, air-conditioning/heating in all rooms and common areas.To make your stay in Venice as pleasant as possible, we are also at disposal for suggestions regarding excursions to discover Venice, if you have never been there, to deepen the knowledge of the city, if you have already been there, or discover the surroundings (as the Venetian Villas, other cities, the beaches or the marvelous Dolomiti!). For any other information or need, please do not hesitate and contact us!To verify availability and rates visit our web-site and the “Special Offers” page, you could find promotions, then proceed with the booking in a quick and safe way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Venice
Hotel Ducale Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing