We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varosi Four Seasons
Ranked #1 of 5 Edessa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A beautiful hotel with stunning service from the manager and staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to provide maps and advice of where to go in the area. Not to mention the wonderful apple pie.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Varosi Four Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 126 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been there only for coffee and drinks. Everybody talks about Greece but not about Greeks. Please wake up the ones that are sleeping and not the ones that dreaming, let them dream and create a hotel like Varosi. It is built smack on top of the ancient wall of Edessa (that is 2500 years ago) and you will see the wall from the glass floor. There are those amazing photos of how it was and how it became. As we have been there only for drinks I can have an opinion of the rooms so I leave it at that. But we have made a point when we are going to be in the region next time we will definitely are going to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

May be hard to get too, but well worth it. Rooms, service, staff.... excellent. Its a short walk to the famous Water falls that you must see during the day and night. We asked for a few special things, they took care of all we asked. We liked it so much and its was the end of our 10 trip, that we stayed for two nights. City center for nice. We took without breakfast. If have time, drive down to Naousa; beautiful drive. Keep in mind Edessa only about 1 hour from Thessaloniki.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing view, but if not no worry. You can go down and site in their patio. The owner...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Only thing going for this establishment is its location within the old quarter of Edessa and the beautiful view over the plains of Central Macedonia. This does not make up for the amateurism of its staff that selectively chooses to serve its customers. To give you an example, I ordered a coffee and an orange juice from one of the waiters. After waitjng for half an hour he came by to tell me that he had not forgotten me. New guests arrived and they were served within 5 minutes (and had ordered exactly the same items as I had). I gave the waiter another 15 minutes but still no sign of my order. When I complained I got an indifferent reaction so I moved on to the head waiter (owner?). Her initial reaction was to put the blame with me because I should have told the waiter instead of waiting for 45 minutes. Indeed, the customer is always wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Almopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was such a welcoming part of our stay in Northern Greece. We were there around min May and although wevhad some bad weather for the season, the comfort of the hotel made up for it at all moments.
The two lady owners who run the hotel are so obliging and cheerful. They really get out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. They are certainly excellent managers and run the hotel smoothly and efficiently. Their staff are all welcoming and smiling and ready to help if you need them.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed overlooking the magnificient plane. It was built on the ruins of an old silk factory.. They retained the ruins of the old city walls which you can see through the glass floors of the breakfast room. They have achieved a very attractive architectural style and the owners undertook the interior design themselves. The result is pleasing and aesthetic.
The multilayered terraces at the back are the jewel of the hotel. Overlooking the plane, they offer spectacular views at all times. The terraces are decorated with taste and care. The trees, plants and flowers all blend in perfectly. The furniture is well designed and comfortable. The bar offers drinks and snacks at all times during the day and the service is great.

The bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms too. They could do with a bit more lighting though. The cleanliness is perfect. They have a small terrace with table and chairs, so you can enjoy breakfast if you wish in your bedroom at no extra cost. The homemade jams are delicious.

It is located in the old part of the city of Edessa in a very quiet area.

We happened to need a doctor and they arranged a visit at the hotel for us. The doctor was a very pleasing and knowledgeable person and was thorough in his examination and cure. He produced a receipt without us asking for it.

We highly recommend this address and we would certainly go back.
We wish the management good luck which they deserve.

Bob & Lisa Davies

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plane. A bit more expensive but well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for two days at the end of December and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd love to go back. The hotel is run by two sisters and they go out of their way to help make your stay enjoyable.

The decor is lovely with lots of natural materials and old and new furnishings creating a very relaxed feel. There is an amazing glass floor to the breakfast area allowing you to see the ancient walls beneath the hotel, which is in a restored historical building.

There is a lovely view and I imagine in the summer it must be very pleasant sitting out on the terrace. As it was winter we preferred to stay in by the wood fire.

The rooms were big and the bed comfortable. They served an excellent breakfast in the morning.

The hotel was a little tricky to find initially but has a great location in the old town, within easy walking distance of the waterfalls.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AegeanSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our stay at the Varosi 4 Seasons in July 2011 was first-rate in every way. Not only was the room clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and conveniently located, but the sisters who own and operate the hotel went above and beyond our expectations in making sure we enjoyed our stay. The historic building has been completely renovated with attention to form and function, aesthetics and comfort. Edessa is unique in that the sound of running water permeates the air almost everywhere, making for a very relaxing atmosphere. If ever I pass through northern Greece again, I will certainly stay at the Varosi 4 Seasons.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the back terrace to the plain beyond are the best. Balconies make it possible...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol47Aptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edessa
0.1 mi away
Varosi Guesthouse
Varosi Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Edessa
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#4 of 6 in Edessa
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aigai Hotel
Aigai Hotel
#2 of 6 in Edessa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Eliton & Spa
Hotel Eliton & Spa
#1 of 5 in Loutraki
64 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel IRO
Hotel IRO
#1 of 1 in Skidra
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hagiati Traditional Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varosi Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varosi Four Seasons

Address: 48 Archiereos Meletiou, Edessa 582 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Pella Region > Edessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edessa
Price Range: $81 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
`` Varosi 4 seasons `` is one of the historic buildings of the conservation district of the city, built on a privileged location since it is situated on the cliff of Edessa within walking distance from both the park of the waterfalls and from the city center. the structural features, the equipment and design of interiors and exteriors combine traditional architecture with comfort in a friendly and warm atmosphere, ideal for winter and summer holidays close to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Varosi Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing