We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Container hotel : ok but could be better”
Review of Juba Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Juba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juba Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Juba
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

For Juba this is very nice. But needs to improve service, bathroom and food. Small but convenient room. Ok bed. Security is fine. Very nice pool and gym. A bit pricy for what it is but This is Juba. Don't expect much and you'll have an ok stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zevadrouilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a respectable hotel in Juba. I typically stay here or at the Quality hotel when in Juba. It's as clean as rooms get in Juba and the bathrooms are reasonable. Overall, a decent 2 star hotel and about the best one can hope for in Juba to date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Seven months on and the staff are more confident, speak better English - and are really helpful and friendly. Service, while slow, is not the same as the one hour wait I experienced in February. After the wet season and with maintained gardens the greenery and colors are an oasis. The swimming pool and the gym are great. And they make the most delicious avocado drink.

It's still Juba. The towels smell like they haven't been dried properly. There is sometimes a lingering smell of sewage. And it's hugely over-priced. My rating is a relative one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevWengerTrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My last review of this hotel was one star, but only because I cannot give zero stars. This is an upgrade to one star after I found a second staff member who was not completely incompetent and the internet service has improved.
All of the basic issues of the hotel are unchanged, in particular the exceptionally bad service. The staff in the restaurants (save one) are bored and uninterested, and food service other than the omnipresent buffet is incredibly slow for absolutely no reason. The desk staff are unhelpful when they are even present, and the housekeeping staff seem to have only the vaguest idea of what their job entails. The overall place is just as bleak and depressing as ever. The conference staff is still pretty good, but overworked.
Thankfully there is hope. There are a number of new hotels under construction, and I look forward to staying in one of them on my next visit. I suspect that soon no one other than the unwitting or foolish will stay at the Juba Grand.

Room Tip: What a joke, there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel last July. The hotel is a little bit old, bed sheets changed about once or twice a week but rooms cleaned everyday.
Also there is good WiFi internet and hot running water 24/7.
The food is rally great with lots of varieties. At $200/night the hotel is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mursak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Must pay in cash, expensive for what's on offer. Rooms ok, beds ok, showers very poor, breakfast awful. Pool great and new pub good. Internet erratic and very poor. improving the internet would raise the value to good. Staff very hospitable and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is perfectly acceptable once you get used to it. The room AC is good, the fridge fine, the bed comfortable, the room service and housekeeping good. The bathroom is basic, but everything works and the shower weak but warm.

The food here is good, the buffet lunch and dinner fine and the poolside & gym cafe does really good pizza. The gym is good as is the pool. Service can be a little hit and miss, but always with a smile and always helpful.

Juba is one of the most expensive places in the world. In an African context prices are eye-watering. Rents for almost decent accommodation rival central London... Drinks and meals and the supermarket are outrageous...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juba Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juba Grand Hotel

Address: Juba, South Sudan
Location: South Sudan > Central Equatoria State > Juba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Juba
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing