We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notos - A Taste of the World in the South Sudan”

Notos Lounge Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Juba
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at the business centre of Juba, the capital of the newest nation on earth, South Sudan. The building is an old stone structure, completely rennovated and rehabilitated, believed to be the place where Theodore Roosevelt spent a night when he visited Juba in the turn of the 20th century with the Smithsonian Expedition.Amazing atmosphere, combines the rustic ambiance with the clean and modern equipment. Ethnic music on the background adds to that feelingThe food is Mediterranean, Indian and Steaks, to cater for all pallets. From fresh ingredients and with a full variety of alcohol, we make sure you get fully satisfiedVisit us
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
“Notos - A Taste of the World in the South Sudan”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

When dining at Notos, you are not merely dining in a restaurant; you are in a haven that caters to the people that have the highest esteem in the South Sudan and within an atmosphere of cleanliness and professionalism that you will seldom see in almost any part of the world.

Being from Montreal, Canada, I know a thing or two about restaurants. And after having travelled to over 36 countries, I can tell the difference between good food and food that is a mere immitation of good food.

Notos has the best food I have tasted in Africa. Their pizza rivals American and Canadian pizza. Their traditional Indian cuisine is truly traditional and as close to what you would dine on in India as it can be when eating in Africa. Their quality is immaculate and their cleanliness is second to none.

Anyone who wishes to visit the South Sudan and wishes to eat as if they were back home or at a luxury five-star hotel, NOTOS restaurant is the place to do so. For the first time in a long time, I found myself thinking of back home while eating in the South Sudan. And at the same time, I also got to taste local dishes that were nothing short of delicious!

NOTOS restaurant is not just a place to eat. It is an experience. Experience NOTOS. You will not forget it.

Hercules Hiraklis Sifonas
Ex-Military
Canadian and Hellenic Citizen

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hercules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Om nom nom”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is the closest thing Juba gets to a real restaurant. You may not realise you're even in South Sudan. Try the Pizzas. They are actually good. Not just Juba good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brrrratatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gghines, Owner at Notos Lounge Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for your kind feedback and to ensure you that we are doing our outmost to provide the best service, quality of food and ambience at an affordable value for money proposition.

Looking forward to seeing you in your restaurant

George Ghines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great ambiance, good food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is where I take new arrivals or visitors to Juba. It's got great ambiance, with a beautiful building and decor (I love the carvings by the window into the kitchen). However, the service leaves something to be desired. For lunch the menu has a mixture of Mediterranean and American. I always get the club sandwich. The dinner menu is much more extensive, with a wide variety of Indian food and pizza. I prefer the Indian at Spice and Herbs or Nimule Logisitics. The vegetable biryani is a bit greasy and the chicken tikka masala is good, but not as memorable as it is at S+H.

It's also got a great backstory, which is on the lunch menu, not sure about the dinner menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dantee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the best in Juba”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Shares in my ranking with Da Vinci the status of best restaurant in Juba although these two places are very different by nature. Notos has managed to create a very good ambiance - the big tree in the yard that has been incorporated in the restaurant together with a rustic (and yet very neat and clean) overall look, wood-heated oven, courtyard kitchen and so on. I have been happy with their food (pizzas are very nice albeit small) except for the lunch menu items (which I have tried only once so maybe I had bad luck).

The waitresses are very freindly, and once one of them even ran after me to the parking place to bring me a piece of paper I had used as a bookmark for the book I was reading!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sakari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharjah
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The place l Like most in JUba”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is one place in Juba I like the most. A very good restaurant and bar serving the best food in Juba.

It is a very old Greek warehouse / store converted into a restaurant with out side seating etc.

I had lunch and dinner there. it is very nice to be there for dinner with some good music playing. a must visit place in Juba

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PVNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notos Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

Juba, Central Equatoria State
Juba, Central Equatoria State
 
Juba, Central Equatoria State
Juba, Central Equatoria State
 

Been to Notos Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing