We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seaside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is an excellent hotel across the road from the beach. Our room which had a sea view was first class. Free soft drinks were available daily in your room, which was a nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was terrific; a great selection with cereal,toast,cold meats, cheese,croissants, cakes, freshly squeezed orange juice. You could also have eggs, bacon, and sausage on request if you wanted it as well..It was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the seafront to the town centre which had lots of bars and restaurants. The friendliest bar in town is BAR CAROLA in Calle Argidales, which is a couple of streets back from the seafront.It is run by Juan and Jonathan who both make you feel very welcome. Juan even made us tapas for free, and on Thursdays the beers are only 1 euro each.Castro Urdiales is a lovely town and if we return we will definitely stay at Las Rocas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tottiescone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 411 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed hear in September, excellent hotel, usual plumbing noises of a Spanish hotel but no other complaints, upgraded to a superior room which was lovely.
Had no trouble paying with a credit card in euros, no quibbling at all.
Would definitely stay hear again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cindyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I wrote a review of this hotel a year ago and returned there earlier this month. It is still an excellent, well-run hotel, ideally situated near the beach, but this time i have a few quibbles. Firstly, and most importantly, I was not given the usual option of paying the bill with my credit card in euros - as is generally the case throughout Europe. Instead I was told that it could only be paid in sterling using their own exchange rate. I regard this as sharp practice. There is nothing to be done about it at this stage but it does mean that my stay turned out to be rather more expensive than it need have been. So be warned.
Secondly I feel that the standard of food has gone down since last year - it is mostly very basic stuff. I wonder if, perhaps, they have overextended thermselves with the expensive and rather.
tasteless refurbishment of the lobby area.
I could add that although the rooms at the rear of the hotel are very well furnished, they are by no means sound-proof. We were kept awake by the baby next door most of one night!
The point one reviewer makes about the garge is well founded. Once you are in, the door closes almost immediately and you have to ring reception to get out each time. Maybe some money could have been spent on a more up-to-date system

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 27Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Picked this hotel out of brittany ferries brochure, sheer good luck.
Staff very helpful, even with finding and making an appointment for our dog to see a vet before we left. Food good and reasonably priced for the local area.
Rooms larger than average, clean and well maintained, had a sea view and balcony. Parking locally free, within walking distance of all amenities.

Will come here again on next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibmanLlanarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent 5 nights in this excellent hotel and cannot recommend it enough! Will CERTAINLY go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else as I cannot recommend it enough!
It overlooks the sea, at the quiet end of the town, yet is only a short walk to the centre for bars, shops and restaurants - the rooms are excellent - staff are extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you - the biggest selection imaginable for breakfast - and a great coffee shop with bar that stays open to late. Ideal on all counts!
We had room 404 which was more like a suite! Even had 2 TVs - one in the seating area and one in the sleeping area!
Quiet, with a fantastic sea view, and tons of room! 2 twin beds pushed together as a double and tons of wardrobe and storage space! CD/radio and iron and ironing board as well! Bathroom was also very large and well appointed but the window over the loo took time to remember, or one could hit one's head if it was open too much!
Superb selection at breakfast and the freshly squeezed orange juice was to die for!
All the staff we encountered were beyond helpful and so friendly and put themselves out at every turn. 5 Star service in a 4 Star hotel - can't ask for more!
Only slight niggle was the garage parking, which we had pre-booked. We had to ask reception to open the door every time we entered or left which got slightly tiresome as it was across the road from the hotel. An automatic system is worth investing in I'd suggest. Worst aspect was the fact that none of the Spanish guests stuck to their "allocated" space so we had to keep moving to another space and some of them are quite tight! Street parking is free from the 3rd week in September and as its very quiet and safe, I'd park on the street next time if we go at this time of year.
Cannot recommend this excellent hotel enough and it's certainly the best place to stay in Castro, which has to be the prettiest town along this beautiful coast - only found Santander to be prettier and it's the major city in the region!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great hotel, excellent location, in front of beach and very quiet at night but also a short 15 minute walk to city centre where all the restaurants and bars (aka the action). The room was fantastic: clean, great view, right temperature and even spanish "blackout blinds". They think of everything and did whatever they could to make our stay very pleasant. Only negative was the restaurant, which is expensive and not very good - better and cheaper to eat in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrenoKarolyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Returning after 1 year we are delighted to say this is still a brilliant hotel.great room with panoramic view over the beach.complimentary soft drinks and coffees in the room.every toiletry you could want in the bathroom and really helpful staff in bar reception and room service. Super breakfast sets you up for the day.and Castro is still a great place to stay regardless of the economic problems the country is experiencing.enjoy!

Room Tip: 316 is the room to ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charleswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Urdiales
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Haya
Hotel El Haya
#3 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
10.6 mi away
Parador de Limpias
Parador de Limpias
#1 of 1 in Limpias
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
14.4 mi away
Hotel Juan de la Cosa
Hotel Juan de la Cosa
#1 of 1 in Santona
199 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel El Ancla
Hotel El Ancla
#4 of 6 in Laredo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Playa Hotel

Address: Calle Flaviobriga 1 | Paseo De La Playa, 39700, Castro Urdiales, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Castro Urdiales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Price Range: $71 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Rocas Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Rocas Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing