We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many things are great about this hotel, but it's just way too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Location, parking, rooms, wifi, breakfast, value for money all great. However, the most important aspect of any hotel stay is sleep and I'm writing this review and 4:11am as I haven't had any.

Unfortunately, the hotel is one big echo chamber and there are no carpets so you hear everything, anywhere in the hotel. People walking, doors opening, toilet cisterns refilling, the lift mechanism and then there's the traffic noise which others have mentioned. In the summer, you need to have some ventilation as there is no aircon - I've no idea whether closing the windows helps dull the traffic noise but suspect it does a bit.

The rooms are fabulous and we found the breakfast substantial. Also, good value for money.

Tips for travellers: 1) Buy some earplugs - seriously. 2) best times to stay here are Oct - May so you can close the windows. Avoid room 109 adjacent to the lift - and presumably 209 as well

Tips for hotel: 1) Fans in room would be very useful during the summer 2) a sheet with some basic information on the hotel and location in each room would be helpful e.g. location of Tourist information centre, emergency services etc.

The generous 4 stars is because the problems we experienced are exaggerated by the location of our room and the fact that we stayed here during the Summer.

Room Tip: Avoid room 109 or any room near the lift. Rear facing rooms are presumably slightly more isolated fr...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frankblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Though right on the highway, there was no traffic noise at all as our room (312) faced out the back of the hotel, overlooking a large green hill. It's quiet enough to sleep with the window open. Everything was extremely clean, and the two extra large single beds pushed together created the biggest bed we have ever slept in!
The hotel restaurant is a bonus, excellent food and service and well worth the money. Our waiter was extremely helpful and attentive.
Located within an easy stroll to the centre of town, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJWatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was booked as a walk in from the street. The hotel is modern, clean & fresh with very helpful staff and was cheaper than other poorer quality property in the area.
The quality of the rooms was very good. Although the hotel is situated on the main road it's far enough away from the busy main junction for traffic noise to be a problem, but a walk into the village is very easily done.
For the evening meal we chose the set menu which was excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tallulas-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night with breakfast. The hotel is located at the entrance of Potes a bit outside of town but still walking distance to main streets.
Check in was super fast, did not ask for any ID...room was very modern, average size and the toilet was also average with shower and no bath.
There was a wedding on that day and there was a terrible noise in the room but fortunately wedding finished at 23:00 so no much of a problem, still as we slept with the window open and it was Saturday night, outside was quite noisy.
There was no A/C in the room so I guess in warmer days could be uncomfortable.
On Sunday morning there was a problem with the heating so there was no hot water to shower.
Breakfast was very basic no worth the money, a couple of plates with cheap cheese and ham, some cakes and cereals but no hot food available.
Check out was also fast and smooth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimepabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel on 2 different occasions and have loved it each time. Looks like it should be in Switzerland. Great rooms with loads of space and great views of the mountains. Very good continental breakfast, secure parking for the motorcycles at the rear and a 10 minute walk into the pretty town of Potes. The owners and staff were very helpful, even driving me to the local hospital when I got a fever and waiting for me. Thanks for great customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Speedmaster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is very clean, has it's own parking, very modern. Also has bar and restaurant on site. The rooms were perfect, but if you're looking for charming personality, this isn't it. Location on the edge of town so if you're driving, it's easy to get to without having to drive through town, although that's very easy to do in this small town. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 205 and 206. They were identical. Very large and nice large bathrooms with oversized...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights , the hotel looks very much like a Swiss chalet from the outside but our room was beautifully clean and modern inside . Breakfast was fine your usual continental can't comment on evening as we didn't eat here . Only a short walk from town with plenty of places to eat and drink . Lovely view of mountains , cows , sheep and buzzards from the window and plenty of parking at back out of sight for motorbike . We really loved this place would recommend going the short distance to Funte De the cable car , it's a lovely ride and the views are amazing .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potes
0.6 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
206 reviews
9.8 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
740 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Posada La Casa de Frama
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arha
Hotel & Spa Arha
#6 of 8 in Potes
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picos de Europa
Picos de Europa
#8 of 15 in Potes
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picos de Valdecoro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picos de Valdecoro Hotel

Address: Calle Roscabado s/n, 39570, Potes, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Potes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potes
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Picos de Valdecoro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Picos de Valdecoro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing