We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights , the hotel looks very much like a Swiss chalet from the outside but our room was beautifully clean and modern inside . Breakfast was fine your usual continental can't comment on evening as we didn't eat here . Only a short walk from town with plenty of places to eat and drink . Lovely view of mountains , cows , sheep and buzzards from the window and plenty of parking at back out of sight for motorbike . We really loved this place would recommend going the short distance to Funte De the cable car , it's a lovely ride and the views are amazing .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from our trip to Spain, we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

It is in a great location, a few minutes walk into Potes town. There is plenty of off-road parking and there is a supermarket across the road. It was a great base to explore the Picos Mountains.

The rooms were spacious and very clean. We had a great view of the mountains from our window . The staff were great, extremely helpful,welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Picos Mountains.It is excellent value for money and in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night at start of four-day walking tour of the Picos de Europa area. Hotel is surprisingly modern inside, and pleasingly spotlessly clean. I paid 43.45 euros for B&B, booked in advance. It is situated on the edge of the town, maybe a brisk 10-12 minute walk away from the bus station and the main tourist centre. Breakfast normally starts at 8.30 am (Oh Spain...) but my bus the next morning to Fuente Dé was at 8.15 am and I was very, very impressed that the hotel offered to start it at 7.30 am to fit in with my plans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel must be the best value we have ever had anywhere. Our room was enormous and very comfortable, and the cuisine ranks with the best, and as we have experienced earlier gastronomic tours of Spain under the guidance of the art historian and writer on food and wine, Michael Jacobs, we must be well qualified to judge. The wine list is excellent. For those who want to be expensive, wines from the gigantic, computer controlled winery of the Marques de Riscal are availalble, but Picos Joven at less than half the price compared well with the Riscal Reserva as an accompaniment to the fine steaks. The staff may lack fluent English but they are very hard working and pleasant. Our lack of proficiency in spoken Spanish was no great problem.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor, even though the lift goes only to the floor below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

With a rental car we needed somewhere to park, so this hotel was perfect. They have room at the back for a few cars and then more space at the side of the building, too.

Our room was on the side, so there is road traffic noise at night but no party or loud bar crowds as there can be in the centre of town.

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and modern and the bathroom had plenty of hot water. I managed to do some washing in the bathroom sink and was able to hang it on the lines at the back of the building to dry.

Although there was a TV in the room there isn't much in English but that is the same everywhere we have been in Spain. There isn't any air conditioning in the room which means you do have to sleep with the window open to get some ventilation, which means the road noise at night is quite loud but I imagine it will be the same in most of the hotels in town.

Overall we enjoyed our 2 night stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean spacious room with no issues.

Well located hotel on the outskirts and a short walk to the centre of Potes.

Breakfast offered a good choice and the breakfast room was large enough to seat everyone without being overcrowded.

Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is located on the edge of Potes with plenty of parking space and a short walk to the town centre. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable with a mountain view. Buffet breakfast was also good. There was free wifi available throughout the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Potes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel have best mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potes
9.8 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
218 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Posada El Sestil
Posada El Sestil
#2 of 2 in Dobres
98 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
114 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel El Rebeco
Hotel El Rebeco
#2 of 2 in Fuente De
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picos de Valdecoro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picos de Valdecoro Hotel

Address: Calle Roscabado s/n, 39570, Potes, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Potes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potes
Price Range: $77 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Picos de Valdecoro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Picos de Valdecoro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing