We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorze Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arba Minch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

While studying abroad in Ethiopia we spent two nights staying at the Dorze Lodge in early June 2012. It is gorgeous with stunning views of both lakes. The community is very involved in the lodge and the owner, whom we nicknamed Sunshine, is active in preserving and assisting the Dorze community. A highlight of the trip was riding horses into the community, we spent time with the local children and spoke with tons of people in the community.

Room Tip: Any hut is a wonderful, must have experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBurrowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
12
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Returned to Ethiopia for a holiday and made sure that I visited Dorze Lodge. It is still a beautiful place with great views of the two lakes. I was pleased to see that it is still a community based project and the local communities are benefitting from their involvement with the lodge. I enjoyed visiting the local villages and joining in with the local dancing in the evening around the camp fire.Tsehai is very welcoming and speaks excellent english. Next time I go to Ethiopia, I am planning to go trekking with the local guides. Visit the website to see more www.dorzelodge.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasagne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent three nights at the Dorze Lodge in April 2012, with our 2 year old daughter.

The owner, Tsehai, met us from our flight at Arba Minch airport and as it was a Sunday afternoon (no buses), found a minibus to take us and another guest up to the lodge (about an hour's drive).

We originally planned to stay for one night but ended up staying for three. The location was amazing - perched high on top of a mountain overlooking two lakes, with other mountains in the distance. We were fortunate to have clear weather during our stay and even more fortunate to be able to watch far-off thunderstorms from the safety of our huts.

The acoomodation was basic but as we expected - the huts each have 2 very comfortable and warm beds. There is a toilet, shower and running water (all of which has to be carried up the mountain). There is a larger hut perched even higher up, which serves as the restaurant. The food was fantastic and each meal consisted of a number of options - injera, plenty of sauces, pasta, rice, bread and lots of very tasty vegetable dishes. Eggs, bread, jams and fruit for breakfast. Bottled water is available to buy.

Everyone working at the lodge was extremely helpful. We took a walk to the local village (we decided to go without a guide) and had a lovely time with the local children, who were enthralled by our 2 year old - she made a lot of friends that day.

When it was time to leave one of the guides who was headed down to Arba Minch too carried out bags to the main road and accompanied us on the bus down the mountain - then installed us in the shade of a local hotel garden to have lunch before our flight back to Addis.

All in all we had a lovely trip to Dorze lodge and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Teshai is extremely helpful and is rightly proud of his wonderful lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arba Minch hotels
12.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
#1 of 6 in Arba Minch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
12.7 mi away
Swayne's Hotel
Swayne's Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arba Minch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ezana Arbaminch Hotel
Ezana Arbaminch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arba Minch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lambadina Hotel
#2 of 3 in Arba Minch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mulu View Hotel
Mulu View Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arba Minch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 11 in Arba Minch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorze Lodge

Property: Dorze Lodge
Address: Chencha Road | Dorze, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Arba Minch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the site of Dorze Lodge. In the fantastic mountains of the Dorze people close to Arba Minch, we have recently renovated our spectacular lodge. If you stay in Dorze Lodge, then you stay very close to nature and to the local culture. This is the place to come to yourself or in touch with the friendly local people. The lodge is built in a rather rough (and beautiful) environment, and mostly staffed by local people. We have a lot of activities you can do, like beautiful hikes and trekking’s (by yourself or guided). Other things you can do is: visit a local, visit the local school, join the local community in the evening at a campfire with music and dance, or go horseback riding. And we can offer you all kind of tours to different interesting attractions, close bye or up to the Omo valley. Or just lay in a hammock and enjoy the serenity. It’s amazing. We make sure that you will have an unforgettable time. You are very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing