We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great place to stay!”
Review of Dorze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorze Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arba Minch
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Returned to Ethiopia for a holiday and made sure that I visited Dorze Lodge. It is still a beautiful place with great views of the two lakes. I was pleased to see that it is still a community based project and the local communities are benefitting from their involvement with the lodge. I enjoyed visiting the local villages and joining in with the local dancing in the evening around the camp fire.Tsehai is very welcoming and speaks excellent english. Next time I go to Ethiopia, I am planning to go trekking with the local guides. Visit the website to see more www.dorzelodge.com.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wasagne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent three nights at the Dorze Lodge in April 2012, with our 2 year old daughter.

The owner, Tsehai, met us from our flight at Arba Minch airport and as it was a Sunday afternoon (no buses), found a minibus to take us and another guest up to the lodge (about an hour's drive).

We originally planned to stay for one night but ended up staying for three. The location was amazing - perched high on top of a mountain overlooking two lakes, with other mountains in the distance. We were fortunate to have clear weather during our stay and even more fortunate to be able to watch far-off thunderstorms from the safety of our huts.

The acoomodation was basic but as we expected - the huts each have 2 very comfortable and warm beds. There is a toilet, shower and running water (all of which has to be carried up the mountain). There is a larger hut perched even higher up, which serves as the restaurant. The food was fantastic and each meal consisted of a number of options - injera, plenty of sauces, pasta, rice, bread and lots of very tasty vegetable dishes. Eggs, bread, jams and fruit for breakfast. Bottled water is available to buy.

Everyone working at the lodge was extremely helpful. We took a walk to the local village (we decided to go without a guide) and had a lovely time with the local children, who were enthralled by our 2 year old - she made a lot of friends that day.

When it was time to leave one of the guides who was headed down to Arba Minch too carried out bags to the main road and accompanied us on the bus down the mountain - then installed us in the shade of a local hotel garden to have lunch before our flight back to Addis.

All in all we had a lovely trip to Dorze lodge and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Teshai is extremely helpful and is rightly proud of his wonderful lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 崖に面してる部屋は眺めもいいし、広くてバストイレあり
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnymyl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 472nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Det C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredericB188052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lungo-man, Eigenaar at Dorze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir la que tiene la cabaña más grande y mejor situada, es la única que tiene wc en la habitación...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Assun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arba Minch hotels
12.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
#1 of 7 in Arba Minch
465 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mora Heights Hotel
Mora Heights Hotel
#6 of 7 in Arba Minch
24 reviews
0 mi away
Ezana Arbaminch Hotel
Ezana Arbaminch Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arba Minch
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Forty Springs Hotel
Forty Springs Hotel
#5 of 11 in Arba Minch
16 reviews
11 mi away
Lambadina Hotel
Lambadina Hotel
#3 of 4 in Arba Minch
6 reviews
12.7 mi away
Swayne's Hotel
Swayne's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arba Minch
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorze Lodge

Address: Chencha Road, Dorze village | Dorze, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arba Minch
Price Range: $48 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the site of Dorze Lodge. In the fantastic mountains of the Dorze people close to Arba Minch, we have recently renovated our spectacular lodge. If you stay in Dorze Lodge, then you stay very close to nature and to the local culture. This is the place to come to yourself or in touch with the friendly local people. The lodge is built in a rather rough (and beautiful) environment, and staffed by local people. We have a lot of activities you can do, like beautiful hikes and trekking’s (by yourself or guided). Other things you can do is: visit a local, visit the local school, join the local community in the evening at a campfire with music and dance, or go horseback riding. And we can offer you all kind of tours to different interesting attractions, close bye or up to the Omo valley. Or just lay in a hammock and enjoy the serenity. It’s amazing. We make sure that you will have an unforgettable time. You are very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dorze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing