We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE GARDEN, BUT U DONT SLEEP IN IT”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arba Minch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arba Minch Tourist Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arba Minch
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NICE GARDEN, BUT U DONT SLEEP IN IT”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice garden, free wifi, although it did not work.
The room is old, not proper matress, small and bad TV, bathroom passable.
I guess that could be the best hotel in town, but not for that reason should i make it better than it is

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gintonic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
13
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We didn't actually stay here but came one evening to use the WiFi and enjoy a few drinks in the courtyard. The atmosphere was cruisey and relaxing and in a green setting, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The power went out a couple of times while we were there.
On the other side of town is the Rift Valley Pension, where we stayed from two nights, Birr150 (after some negotiation) for a double room with ensuite with hot water, a TV and mosquito net. It was just down the road from Friendship Cafe and the office where you organise the hippo/crocodile boat tours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. For the first 2 stayed near Reception area in a dingy but clean room. Water supply erratic and hot water heater had to be repeatedly fixed, so there is some planning to be done when determining when to take a shower. TV did not work and could not be fixed. All atempts at fixes were amateurish and poor quality. On next occasion stayed at back of hotel in a better newer room but we were kept awake much of the night by donkey braying from back of the hotel.
Central courtyard/cafe is a very pleasant shaded area with 2 pet dik-diks wondering about.
Food is varied and good, but the service is totally disorganised and slow+++, although waiters seem to be trying very hard to please. In the same vein, to get a second towel for a double room is difficult.
In summary: best available place which could do with some competition. Rooms are very basic but adequate and not too bad within the context of an Ethiopian country town. If you are visiting the south there is no choic but to stay in Arbaminch and in Arbaminch there is no choice but to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay behind the main dining room in the newere area, but not right at the back next to the donkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasabi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The courtyard restaurant of this hotel is a great place to relax. The rooms were clean and spacious and include hot water showers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biavasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel had a beautiful courtyard and wonderful, helpful staff. The restaurant was pretty good and there were even a few interesting birds and creatures hanging out on the hotel grounds. The rooms were okay but clean and spacious. The only downfall was that the church next door blared its speakers all night but that wasn't the hotel's fault. I can't stress how great the staff was--the hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the church's speakers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is in the centre of Arba Minch with internet cafe next door. The restaurant is set in a beautiful garden and there are lots of options on the menu. I really enjoyed the fresh fruit juice. The rooms are basic with hot water. The rooms have nice balconies to sit and relax and enjoy the jarden. Would recommend that you not get the rooms far in the back. I was awaken by two lovers who were on my porch thinking that the room was vacant. Luckly turning on the light scared them off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arba Minch hotels
1.7 mi away
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
#1 of 6 in Arba Minch
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swayne's Hotel
Swayne's Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arba Minch
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mulu View Hotel
Mulu View Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arba Minch
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Lambadina Hotel
#2 of 3 in Arba Minch
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 11 in Arba Minch
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Romi Hotel
#6 of 11 in Arba Minch
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arba Minch Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arba Minch Tourist Hotel

Property: Arba Minch Tourist Hotel
Address: Main Street of the Lower City | Next to Ethiopian Airlines Office, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arba Minch
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing