We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay a couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arba Minch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in tukul unit 1, which was somewhat noisy due to the proximity of the reception area. The unit was rather cramped and the bathroom tiny. But the view from our unit was exceptional, especially the sunrise in the morning. The pool was great, large enough to enjoy a good swim, with poolside service available. The grounds of the Lodge are beautifully maintained, and one gets the feeling of being hidden away from the everyday world. The restaurant also had exceptional views, but the poor waitress was run off her feet the night we were there. Altogether a nice place to stay, but maybe ask for a different unit than no. 1.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HelenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Beautifully located on a bluff overlooking Lakes Chamo & Abaya. Our tukul room was clean (clean enough to walk around barefoot) and comfortable (if small) with a lovely terrace. Bathroom was clean with hot water and decent pressure. My first reaction upon looking at the bathroom ceiling was "OMG, look at the cockroaches", but turned out they were coffee beans. Probably not the best decorating choice… Flat screen TV but only one Ethiopian channel.
Internet in the lobby slow-slower still when everyone else is there checking their email on their cell phones. I got disconnected a few times when I was alone in the lobby but it was a relief to be able to check 2 weeks worth of email.
We didn't have dinner in the dining room (room service was good) but breakfast on the gorgeous terrace was pleasant. Large groups stay here so solo or couple travelers will feel overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoise1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The newly constructed hotel has a great deal of modern architecture blended with local details. It is the place where you find luxury in the town. The rooms are best and the food, the food seems prepared from chiefs best in the world!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toyedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This lodge has a breathtaking view, a good buffet for breakfast and dinner, and nice rooms. The rooms were clean and modern, but a bit noisy. There are two rooms in each "hut" and you could hear the movements of the people on the other side of the wall. The television was a nice surprise, but only Ethiopian channels with no English were available. Each room had a small porch, but the door and lock to get in and out were a bit tricky. My room had a less than pleasant view of a back road and construction area, but there were rooms that had a really lovely view. As noted in other reviews, the walk from the lobby/restaurant to your room could be quite long, and lighting is dim- a flashlight would be a big help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for one night 3/29/2014. Each unit is an individual unit. the pool and restaurant are exceptional. the view from the entry is exceptional. One member of group lost his wallet, but the staff of the Padadise Lodge found it and emailed us right away. we were able to recover the wallet and cash the next day.

this is a great place to stay in Arba Minch. We also used their boat tour service which was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the Restaurant and pool over looking the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

i am an experienced world traveler of mature years - picky, but not overly so, who does a lot of reaserch before my travels, so i am generally pleased with my accommodation choices.
this is THE place to stay in abra minch. stay nowhere else. perched on the cliff crest, overlooking the jungle, mountains, and 2 lakes, iat is spectacular. there is a choice of the pricier view-tukals or the no-view ones. all of the view ones were taken as i was here in january and didn't make my reservation far enough in advance and there are many little tour groups here. i was disappointed but it turned out ok with it in the end as the tukal i had was quite luxurious, well, kind of, anyway, and one spends one's time on the dining room/bar terrace with the view so one doesn't really need th view n onew's own tukal. food was great. service was great. no barking dogs or wailing mullahs. an ATM in the lobby - how rural ethiopia has grown up !! it can be a bit of a hike from your tukal to the dining area, let alone the reception, but just deal with it. the reception was vague, and a bit confused, and i could see how some of the other reviewers could have had some problems. so i would reconfirm everything with the manager every day for a week before arriving. get his name.

Room Tip: don't get a room too near the diing terrace or they will perhaps keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Paradise Lodge is attractively situated within a large compound on a steep hillside on the escarpment overlooking the forest and hot springs opposite the mountainous Bridge of God dividing Lakes Abaya and Chamo. The huts are spread some distance down the hillside (making the reception and restaurant quite a hike from your room, particularly if you've forgotten something, several times), some, single huts with an unobstructed view, others, smaller, divided into two hotel rooms per hut, and set back from the escarpment edge, with a view of the next hut or adjacent building works. The larger huts are simply more spacious with terraces with a view of the landscape. The smaller divided huts are furnished with heavy wood furniture and four-poster beds with mosquito nets cast loosely over the bed frame, this means the rooms, small to start with, become claustrophobic and more difficult to move around than they need to be - they're OK otherwise, just really quite dark and cramped. There is an evident difference in comfort between the two types of hut, though the larger ones are only twenty dollars more than the small. They need to keep on top of maintenance, some of the fittings and fixtures are starting to look a little tired and this is not an old lodge. Service standards vary depending on luck with the individual who serves you - this needs to be worked on, particularly in reception. Waiting staff are very nice, though if you are not part of one of the many a large tour groups you may need to make your presence and needs known, they otherwise cope well with busy dinner sittings. Food consists of a varied buffet dinner and breakfast (the promising, but erratically functional, ice-cream machine never worked during my stay), in a very nice restaurant with an outside terrace and views across both lakes. They provide a very reasonable laundry service. The restaurant and other facilities (swimming pool, spa, conference/function rooms), seem to be frequently used by locals (weddings, conferences, etc.) from this rapidly growing university town, Some of the "ends of the earth" remoteness is being lost but no matter, if tourism helps provide social infrastructure for locals then this development is a very healthy thing for everyone. This is a nice new hotel with a few rough edges but is a very pleasant addition to the now very busy southern tourist circuit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arba Minch
0.9 mi away
Mora Heights Hotel
Mora Heights Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arba Minch
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swayne's Hotel
Swayne's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arba Minch
94 reviews
12.1 mi away
Dorze Lodge
Dorze Lodge
#2 of 7 in Arba Minch
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mulu View Hotel
Mulu View Hotel
#5 of 7 in Arba Minch
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haile Resort Ziway
Haile Resort Ziway
#1 of 1 in Ziway
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge Arbaminch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge Arbaminch

Address: Secha area | Arbaminch, Ethiopia, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arba Minch
Price Range: $70 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Lodge Arbaminch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch was opened in 2008 as a means to transform the hospitality industry in Africa by providing guests with unparalleled service and an authentic experience while preserving the natural environment and strengthening the local culture. With contributions from 56 southern nations of Ethiopia and thousands of delighted guests, we have been serving this mission even as we expand our services and provide new experiences to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Lodge Arbaminch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing