We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag.... plus dead flies in the restaurant !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A mixed bag.... plus dead flies in the restaurant !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'm in two minds about this place.

Let's get the positives out the way first :
- Great location
- Friendly staff
- Comfortable rooms

Unfortunately its let down on delivery:
- It suffers from the Pepper's problem of "everything extra" and overpriced under-quality food.

Normally, the above would have equaled a distinctly average "meh" from me, and a 3 point rating here on TA.

However, I've marked it as Poor due to one, absolutely unforgivable reason.....

The terrible cleanliness of the food service area.

The resort was not busy by any means, I was given a nice enough table on for dinner on the first night. I noticed two dead flies on the end of the table by the window. I made a mental note....

At breakfast the next morning, I was invited to pick a table since the restaurant was largely empty apart from one other table. I purposefully picked the same table. Again, I had the company of the same two flies for breakfast, their position exactly the same !

I thought fine, I'll give them one more chance. I opted for the same table at dinner again. And yes, you've guessed it, the same company present ... two flies, position unchanged, plus one more buzzing as it was perishing on its back.

Alright I thought, maybe I've just been unlucky. So I picked a different table for breakfast, in a different room, the covered conservatory area. No windowsills in this area, but plenty of dead insects at floor level.

If this was the state of visible cleanliness, I dread to think what other areas were like. Infact, if I had any choice, I would have not dined there beyond the first night, but unfortunately there's not much choice given the location !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, General Manager at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us at Peppers Awaroa Lodge.

I was please to read that you found our rooms comfortable and the staff friendly during your stay.
I was most disappointed to read that you were let down by the cleanliness of the restaurant. We live in a bush environment and as such have to deal with a number of challenges including managing pests and insects.
We do have an environmentally friendly spray that we use in the Lodge, including the restaurant, hence the number of dead flies we constantly have to pick up. It appears that we have failed to do this on this occasion and your comments have prompted a review by the team of our processes, so I thank you for highlighting this to us. We welcome all feedback as knowing what matters to our guests is very important to us.

I trust you enjoyed your visit to the Abel Tasman National Park and Peppers Awaroa Lodge and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    88
    45
    43
    20
See reviews for
58
188
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful locations in the world. Everyone must visit it to see. The food was outstanding. The setting of the lodge is amazing too. Lots to do and very relaxing. The service of the front of line staff was awful. Rooms are nice, tidy and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, General Manager at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Kia Ora Courtney,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us at Peppers Awaroa Lodge.

I am pleased to read that you found the food exceptional and our rooms clean and comfortable and you had a relaxing stay.

Here at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, we pride ourselves in offering a great guest experience and to read that you found the service poor is disappointing.

Courtney, you are most welcome to contact me directly on 03528 8758, I would like your feedback regarding the service and any suggestions that you have are most welcome.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our stay at Peppers Awaroa Lodge was fantastic. Nestled in the heart of the Abel Tasman National Park, there is no place like it in New Zealand. I had been to Awaroa two times before we were lucky enough to stay at the Lodge and we stayed 1 night. The staff were great - friendly and helpful. The room was great and secluded - king bed, private balcony. Both meals at the restaurant got an honest 4.5/5 which in our books is really high! If you have never been to Awaroa, let alone Abel Tasman, add it to your bucket list.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Awaroa Lodge just after Christmas with friends, and had such a fabulous time, that I decided to stay again for a couple of nights at Easter after walking the Abel Tasman Coastal Track during the holiday weekend.
Again I found the staff to be super friendly, and very helpful. A friendly welcome at Reception after three days hiking was a wonderful reminder of how great this place is! It was so nice to have a couple of nights at Awaroa Lodge to look forward to as I started out on the track.
This is a fabulous hideaway, with very friendly helpful staff, great facilities, and great food!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently walked three days on the Abel-Tasmen coast track, staying in our trusty backpacking tent most of the way, and decided to splurge on a night at Awaroa Lodge for our final night since it was near our wedding anniversary. We were there the final weekend of the season and there was only one other party staying there. We were upgraded to a superior suite, which was a fantastic open bright room with a comfortable bed, a step down to a large seating area and a and a large balcony with a comfy chaise longue and a beautiful view of the wetlands. We spent a lot of time watching the fantails flit through the air catching their dinner. I highly recommend spending the extra money for the room. They had real wood fires burning in the restaurant and in a public lounge area where we sat reading with pre-dinner cocktails. The beach is only a short walk away but don't expect a beachfront destination. The staff was all quite friendly and helpful, especially because there was some confusion with our water taxi return and they made sure to sort it out for us. We felt quite welcomed even as the the penultimate guests for the season. A great place to splurge if you're on the trail or as a base for day walks (nearly all of which are tide dependent) and kayak trips.

Room Tip: The superior suites are quiet and peaceful and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were booked in to the lodge by our travel company and were a bit concerned about making the ferry on time as we had a long drive to get there. However the boat trip to the lodge with Wilsons was excellent and the Lodge was a magic place. Being dropped off on the beach and having your luggage collected by quad bike, leaving you to walk to the lodge, just set up a very special place. We were at the end of the season in March so it was not busy. Good accommodation and food with great views from the dining area.

Lots of opportunity to for walking (as you would expect) but you do need to check the tide tables as quite a few walks involve crossing tidal beaches.

Perhaps the most memorable place we stayed in New Zealand where everywhere was pretty special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_SE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stopped in at Awaroa lodge on our second day of walking to grab a beer and some food after a long days hike. To get to the lodge you don't really add much time onto your walk and i actually think it is an easier bit of track than the skyline one which it meets up with.
We didn't get a chance to eat anything decent as we were there at the wrong time but all the snacks etc we ate were delicious.

We found it a little tricky to find at first as when you are walking from the north during low tide, the track take you off the beach and along the waters bed where a path leads off it. The path itself is unmarked but easy enough to notice as the lodge's boat was laying out front.

I wish we had the time to have spent more time there and also the money to have spent the night but we will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
8.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
19.8 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
11.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Awaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Property: Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Address: 11 Awaroa Bay, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Awaroa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Peppers Awaroa Lodge With no direct road access it is essential you arrange transport prior to your stay at Peppers Awaroa Lodge. Located in Abel Tasman National Park, transport is available by either helicopter or sea shuttle Peppers Awaroa Lodge strikes the perfect balance of natural comfort and contemporary style high above Awaroa Bay. Just minutes from the Abel Tasman Coastal Track, the lodge offers a remote and spectacular coastline with magnificent scenery, wildlife and native terrain in pristine condition. The lodge 's 26 rooms consist of standard, superior and family suites featuring an ensuite, bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, with views of picturesque wetlands and native forest. All guests are encouraged to appreciate the natural surroundings and respect our eco friendly philosophy. We make this a little easier without the distractions of modern day life - no mobile phone coverage or in-room televisions make this the perfect place to totally get away. Enjoy the lodge's facilities including a cosy fireplace in the library, internet access and an organic garden, where our onsite restaurant and cafe source the freshest ingredients. Let our team at the activity desk arrange your guided tours. Explore the natural surroundings by tramping or sea kayaking or just laze on the golden sandy beaches of Awaroa Bay. Accessible by water taxi or helicopter, Peppers Awaroa Lodge is the ultimate secluded getaway. As there is no road access to Peppers Awaroa Lodge, organising the journey to the lodge is an important part of your stay. Contact the property directly for assistance with your transfers. The eco chic lodge is perfect for a romantic escape, family holiday or unique group experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Awaroa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awaroa Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Awaroa Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing