We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF CHANGE AND CANCELLATION POLICY”
Review of Awaroa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Awaroa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF CHANGE AND CANCELLATION POLICY”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I often use Tripadvisor in deciding on which hotel to book when I'm going to an unfamiliar place. I have never written a negative review on tripadvisor, but I didn't want anyone else to move forward with this hotel group without this information.

We had made a reservation online. There are terms and conditions associated with the booking, as expected with any hotel reservation. Before making a reservation, note that they will charge you a $25 change fee and a $25 cancellation fee no matter how much in advance you change/cancel the reservation. Also note that while they charge you money to cancel your reservation, they will not actually refund you money.

These terms are very different from most small and large hotel chains, and independently owned hotels and B&Bs. With their terms and conditions being so restrictive and inflexible, they should make it front and center versus having you click to a different page.

I also asked their customer service people why they charge this amount and have such policies in place and they were unable to answer the question. I even asked if it was due to additional administrative costs, etc, but the customer service person said "it was just policy".

BEWARE OF THE MANTRA GROUP.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 82wanderlust82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, Guest Relations Manager at Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you have found our Mantra Group Terms & Conditions to not be clear. With over 110 properties across Australia and New Zealand accommodating thousands of customers on a daily basis, it is essential for us to ensure these terms are very visible and clear. As we are unable to determine your actual booking arrangements from your feedback, we would appreciate knowing your circumstances so that we can provide more feedback for you. If you could please email feedback@mantragroup.com.au with your details, we will happily investigate your matter. Regards. Edward Easton. Manager, Mantra Group – Central Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    45
    44
    20
See reviews for
62
200
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dont be deterred by reviews posted prior to peppers taking over ( Sep 2012) We stayed here one night for our 1st anniversary. The staff were amazing so helpful and friendly. They arranged a beautiful romanitc dinner for the two of us in front of the fire place . The food was amazing.
Im sure in time peppers will do a lot with this beautiful resort. Its set in an amazing national park with a stunning beach within 5 mins walk .
dont miss the glow worms ! or the opportunity to kayak in the national park
Loved our stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I can't rave enough about the wonderful service and accommodations at Awaroa. The staff was amazing! Suzi, the general manager, and Jazz, the day manager took special care of us. We arrived at the lodge during the spring rainy season in some rather treacherous weather and it was difficult to get there by sea, but we soon learned the weather in NZ changes rapidly. We were able to enjoy the beautiful scenic hikes and feeding the eels was a special treat. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2Sadie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, General Manager at Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Kia Ora,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you had an enjoyable to Peppers Awaroa Lodge and the Abel Tasman National Park despite the unfavourable weather conditions.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Awaroa Lodge in the future.

Kind Regards
Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have just returned from an absolutely fantastic night at Awaroa Lodge iset in this unique location in the Abel Tasman National Park. I understand the lodge has just been re-opened in the last few weeks under new management. Boy, I cannot rave enough about the experience my friend and I had. From the time we arrived by sea shuttle, I felt relaxed. We were warmly welcomed and sand buggied with our luggage to the lodge. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. After a walk along the beach and through the national park, we decided to have a drink at the lodge. Jazz the bubbly waitress recommended we sit in front of the open fire in which she lit for us. In the evening, I ordered (after a very hard decision, as I liked nearly everything on the menu) the Goats Cheese souflee on an artichoke and mushroom salad. It was devine!!! Probably the best vegetarian meal I have ever had. We stayed in a luxury room which was just that - very comfortable, modern and fresh with an amazing view looking over the native wetlands. In the morning we returned to Kaiteriteri on the sea shuttle, but without a doubt I will be back!!! I had such a unique and relaxing time. Like I said in the heading - I was treated like royalty which made me feel special. I can't wait to take my family there!!! They would absolutely love it too!!!

Room Tip: If you are wanting to have a very special night away - choose the luxury room, it is a very romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, General Manager at Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Kia Ora,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, the team and myself are pleased that you had a relaxing and very enjoyable experience!

We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Awaroa Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards
Suzanne Wells
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

After a wonderful scenic trip on the sea shuttle, up the beach and through a quiet path in the Native Bush, Awaroa Lodge, the main Reception lodge with its lounges, dining facilities indoors and out. Great fresh food, With their own vegie garden. Chalets to suit couples, families, groups. So peaceful and comfortable. Great walks through the bush trails and down to the inlet. A landing strip for helicopter and fixed wing. Just awesome. Friendly guests to chat with also, New Pizza area suitable for those staying and those just passing throught. My stay wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying at Awaroa Lodge after our 21 km walk from Anchorage. The whole area is stunning and while a wonderful way to end to a great few days in the Abel Tasman we couldn't help but feel ripped off. The rooms were very expensive, for a standard room we paid $395.00 for two and another $45.00 for our son, our friends had a family room $460.00 for two plus $45.00 each for their three boys. The rooms were nothing special, I have stayed in better rooms for much cheaper elsewhere.
The food was okay but paying $18.00 for a bowl of wedges (frozen) was really taking things a little too far.
Tony on reception was fantastic everyone was friendly but this place will not survive with prices like this.
A 5 star hotel this is not and its pleasing to see Qualmark KNOW what they are talking about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelmumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We came from Sydney to hike the Abel Tasman for 4 days. In between the 4 days, we relaxed ourselves in Awaroa Lodge for 2 nights. We found our standard room very comfortable and dismissed the upgrade offered by the reception (which is $50/day on top of an already pricey room rate) The lodge is in a secluded position, has a relaxing atmosphere, eco-friendly, and is surrounded by wetlands and organic gardens (which source the deliciously fresh green salad on the dinner table -- don't miss the salads, must order one !). Without electricity overnight isn't a problem for us as we go to bed early. HOWEVER, solar power is the way to go (Listen please, management). There is a laundry which is convenient for hikers like us. Lastly, the staff are exceptionally friendly and commendable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
8.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
262 reviews
19.9 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
13.8 mi away
The Resurgence
The Resurgence
#1 of 1 in Riwaka
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awaroa Lodge

Property: Awaroa Lodge
Address: 11 Awaroa Bay, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Awaroa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaroa Lodge in the heart of the Abel Tasman National Park has no direct road access so it is essential you arrange transport prior to your stay; our friendly Lodge team can assist you with options, pricing and bookings. Transport is available from Kaiteriteri, Marahau or Totaranui by sea shuttle or water taxi or from more or less anywhere else at the top of the south (or Wellington) by fixed wing plane or helicopter. Just minutes from the Abel Tasman Coastal Track, the lodge offers a remote and spectacular coastline with magnificent scenery, wildlife and native terrain in pristine condition. The lodge 's 26 rooms consist of standard, superior and family suites featuring an ensuite, bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, with views of picturesque wetlands and native forest. All guests are encouraged to appreciate the natural surroundings. We make this a little easier without the distractions of modern day life - no mobile phone coverage or in-room televisions make this the perfect place to totally get away! Enjoy the lodge's facilities including a cosy fireplace in the library, internet access, an organic garden , where our onsite restaurant and outdoor pizzeria source the freshest ingredients. Let our team at the activity desk arrange your guided tours. Explore the natural surroundings by tramping or sea kayaking or just laze on the golden sandy beaches of Awaroa Bay. Awaroa Lodge is the ultimate secluded getaway perfect for a romantic escape, family holiday or unique group experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Awaroa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awaroa Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Awaroa Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing