We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every blister”

Abel Tasman Coast Track
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip. See website for the price of accommodation on this track.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every blister”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Being my first trip to New Zealand, I had to experience The A.T.
Using the water taxi service to do a reverse trek, as I had limited time, The ride to the drop off point was the real beginning of my journey. First zipping the boat to "The Split Apple" rock for a history and minute to photograph. Then pointing the boat to the drop off. Sitting at the rear of the craft is wetter and noisier but a better chance for to enjoy the passing coast line.
Wading through the clearest water at the drop off point.
You step on the golden sand beach.
From there the path you take is your biggest problem. DO you want to see the gorgeousness to the north or the south. Your only limited by the amount of food and drinking water you have.
Cresting every hill, rounding every bend, the time of the trek back is extended because of the time to swim here and photograph that, BUT more so by the awe that is put into your eyes.

Like I said "Worth every blister."

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ponch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    99
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Abel Tasman National Park”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Abel Tasman is probably best visited when the weather is sunny. There's a marked difference between how the place looks when the sun's out and when it's overcast. The sun really brings out the azure colour of the sea. Although, it probably is still worthwhile a visit when overcast.

We wanted an easier walk through the park and ended up taking a cruise + day walk package with Wilsons. After a cruise, we got dropped off at Tonga Quarry for a 2 hour walk through to Medlands Beach where we were picked up from.

The walk was average in difficulty. There were a few uphills and downhills. It also got a bit hot as some areas are quite exposed. All in all, I think it wasn't too difficult as there was plenty of time for us to meander our way through. The 2 hour walk included lots of breaks and stops for photos.

It would have been helpful to perhaps have some markers to indicate how far you are away from the next stop. It was a bit of guesswork so we weren't too sure whether we were going to be on time to meet the boat or not.

NB: I actually visited with my parents (in their 60s) but there isn't the selection for family (all adults).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank c_hoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional - Must Do”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Abel Tasman beaches and trails are spectacular and so well maintained and managed. Kiwi's know how to take care of their parks and they are caring for this beautiful treasure. Only wish we had more time to explore the place. Two days was not enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PCflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great walking even on a poor day”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We walked a section of the track from Bark Bay to Anchorage taking just under four hours. It is a well prepared path, although like many in New Zealand a lot of it is in forest and there are a number of gradients. But although it was overcast with some rain, it was thoroughly enjoyable with tantalising views of the sea and the bays.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of my NZ favorites”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

So accessible for travelers to get out and walk/kayak especially with the water taxis - though they are not cheap. Didn't stay over night but walked a lot and sea kayaked. Beautiful birds, wonderful coastal views and loads of sunshine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VikiBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abel Tasman Coast Track also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Coast Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing