We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, very quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Marahau Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

A lovely place, very quiet (apart from the cicadas - remember to bring your insect repellant!) Glow-worms right outside the door. Great location, friendly hosts, really relaxing.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Buena Vista. The location was really perfect for doing day hikes but the appartment needs some updating and regular cleaning.
The appartment was spacious but the bedroom with the twin beds had the roof slop and was a tad too small. It aslo got very very warm in the night as we were there in the middle of the summer. In both rooms, the beds/mattresses were not good enough and the non matching synthetic linen rather uncomfortable. So we did not sleep well.
The bathroom shower was very good and the towels of good quality. We liked that.
The living room/kitchen and outdoor terrace are of very good size but need to be kept cleaner: lots of dust/cob webs/dead insects.
There is a washing machine/dryer available for a cost. Unfortunately there is no cloths horse so you have to use the dryer.
We knew that the owner only accepted cash or travellers cheques, which in these days is inconvenient and unusual. But we were surprised when they asked for the money right when we arrived.
The owner is having a new house built just above the chalet where our appartment was. The builders were starting early in the morning (5am) and we had to complain to the owner for this to change. It did and the work started at 8am. To apologise for the inconvenience the owner offered us a bottle of wine which was very nice. All in all, a really good location and an ok place to stay but it needs new beds, new linen, new sofa and a good hoovering!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank maburty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Tango cabin. Kitchen-diner-lounge plus separate bedroom and bathroom. We had verything we needed. Cabin overlooks the house and out towards the ocean. Christa and Herman were delightful hosts - helping us out on several ocasions and making sure we were welcome. Location was perfect for the Abel Tasman Park entrance, the Water Taxis and the other facilities. Christa tipped us off before we arrived to do a big shop in Nelson for self-catering needs before arriving. The local shops had most things as well - perhaps a few dollars more.
Definitely a highlight of our New Zealand holiday - Thanks Christa :-)

Room Tip: Book ahead - this is a popular resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We enjoyed 4 nights at Buena Vista as part of a family holiday to NZ. The apartments are in a beautiful area very close to the superb Abel Tasman NP. Having endured a couple of days of tremors in Christchurch over the Christmas period, it was a relief to arrive in Marahau, although our first day & night were characterised by torrential rain. The weather improved after that and we enjoyed walking, swimming & boating in the NP. The accommodation was spacious and well-equipped. The view from the deck was stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roti286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavista2015, Owner at Buena Vista Marahau Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank axel688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavista2015, Owner at Buena Vista Marahau Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ps88783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
0 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
360 reviews
0 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
253 reviews
0 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#2 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
425 reviews
0 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Marahau Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Marahau Apartments

Address: 71 Marahau Valley Road, Abel Tasman National Park RD2, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing