We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked this hostel to be close to the Abel Tasman and to go kayaking. Luckily, we noticed that this hostel seemed to be quite from the main street so we asked Abel Tasman Coachlines if they would drop us off outside. Thankfully they said yes (although you're dropped off at the bottom of a very steep hill) and for that we were grateful because it is really far!

The hostel office is closed from 10 until 3 and we turned up at 10.05am! The hostel ownder seemed quite annoyed by this even though there is only one bus from Nelson/Motueka and it arrives in the morning! Fortunately, she allowed us to put our bags into storage and they offer free bikes in order to get to the start of the walk. They gladly book water taxis and kayaking trips for you and luckily there's a free pick up from this hostel! After the initial rocky start with the owner, it definitely got better and they always asked how our days were. They also offered to drop us at the bus stop when we checked out which was extremely helpful as it would be a long walk.

The kitchen is clean, although small and the double rooms have bunks which we hate! The toilets and showers are next to the kitchen which is a walk from all of the rooms and is awful in the middle of the night. This hostel is definitely better if you have a car, although maybe that can be said for Marahau altogether. I did like the feel of being in log cabins up in the trees!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alycatnz, Manager at Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thanks for your feed back, we hope the rest of your adventures went well too. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
39
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here a couple of days at the end of january 2014. From here we were going to do the Abel Tasman Coasttrack. After the Climbing of the verry steep hill, where the hostel is located on, we get a verry nice and warming welcome by the host. He gaves us a lot of information over the Abel Tasman Coasttrack. You can get free bikes at the hostel so you can discover the village Marahau. It was a very peaceful hostel, in the middle off beautiful nature. The kitchen and the showers where very clean. If you like peace and quiet you must certainly pick Kanuka Ridge! The host was verry verry friendly and made us feel at home. We shall send you a postcard in a few weeks! :)

Greets,
Evelyne & Geert

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alycatnz, Owner at Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you guys stay, we love meeting positive people who like to share their positive outlook, and thank you for the post card which we received a couple of weeks ago!!! You are great ambassadors for Belgium and the kind of people who make our jobs feel worthwhile.
Cheers you rock :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasman, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Extremely clean, well organised, lovely owners who have excellent knowledge and are happy to help you make the most of your time here. The perfect getaway with a great set up and beautiful surroundings. It's only a short bike ride to the incredible Abel Tasman. The Park Cafe is also close by and is a good social spot. Must see for yourself - Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Abi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alycatnz, Owner at Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Cheers for your feedback Abi, we so loved having you around with your lovely bubbly, chatty,
energy. Guessing the rest of your adventures went well and you are now focussed on uni.
You have a lot of insight for a young "un :) i know you will succeed in whatevere you choose to do for your career, you have great focus and direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed in 6 bed dorm. Tiny and dark. Bunks creaked and swayed with slight movements. Foam mattresses. Huts themselves shuddered with any heavy footsteps. Loud sliding doors. No flyscreens, despite abundant sandflies. Need to walk outside and down gravel driveway to get to bathrooms. I got about 2 hrs sleep and I'm not a fussy sleeper.
Host gave very tetchy negative vibes, and every encounter seemed annoy her somehow. Really not what you want on your special holiday to Abel Tasman. I tried to be compassionate - perhaps she just had a dreadful headache? But now I read other reviews and others have experienced this. I wonder if she understands what an impact her rudeness has on her guests.
Location was not ideal. A twisty drive to any of the area's main attractions. Setting not ugly, but grounds are basic, and forest/views not especially beautiful unlike almost every other place I stayed in NZ.
Need to go for a drive if you want mobile or wifi reception. Wifi available from hosts if you pay $5/day. Local calls free in office.
Kitchen/dining hut small but clean. Showers' water pressure is fantastic!
Carparking is tight. Watch for dints!

Room Tip: Choose ensuite if you are concerned about walking outside down gravel driveway to get to bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights. Very nice place, setting in a wonderful place. Our host was really helpful and kind. We could not get a ensuite room but our was fine for the 3 nights. Small common areas but extremely clean and good equipment. We enjoy the tranqulity, no phones, no internet so proper relax!!! and as well the fact that wasnt pack as other campings. Definitely value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeMzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The double ensuite rooms share a lovely, lovely balcony overlooking native vegetation (yay NZ ferns!) and mountains. The rooms themselves were small with nice, comfy beds and a modern bathroom with a nice shower. The shared kitchen was clean and fully equipped. If only for the rooms and setting we would have rated the facility a 5 out of 5, but the owner was so passively aggressive toward us that we can only give a 3 rating. We traveled for one month in NZ and this was the only experience we had with an accommodation owner being rude. She was quite annoyed that we arrived before 3pm, asking whether we 'read the sign' saying the reception is only open between 3-7pm. We had read the sign 6cm to the left posted that says ring the bell if nobody is at the reception desk, but she was quite annoyed that we rang rather than calling her on the phone according to sign #2. The owner asked where we were staying for Christmas and when we said in Garston she flat out said I probably had the name wrong because there is no such place in NZ. Well, there is indeed such a place, and it is beautiful! We stayed at the Castle Hill B&B there which was so wonderful (with happy, sincere owners btw). Sad to say we would never recommend Kanuka Ridge to travelers for the sole reason of having to deal with such an unpleasant owner. They have hired a woman to work on the property on the weekends and she was such a sweet, lovely woman. If only we could have dealt only with her our experience would have been totally different.

Room Tip: Double ensuite rooms share a lovely deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borsbeek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a nice stay, but found that backpackers was to far away from everything, except from start walk Abel Tasman NP, it is a windy road (though you have a lot of them in NZ) driving there and you have to make shure you do your shopping in Motueka before you arrive.
We'd like to book a kayak trip but the lady from the hostel said to us the next day the weather wasn't that nice and we should wait a day. The day after she said in the evening that we should've done it today because the next day would be bad weather... Also I'd like to book with Wilsons and every time she tried to recommend another rental company, At the end of our stay there we learned that she previously owned this company...
Backpackers was ok, small kitchen, if fully booked, probably make shure you come early in the evening for your cooking

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Veronique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
11.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers

Property: Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
Address: 21 Moss Road, Marahau, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers. Enjoy starry nights and birdsong in our native bush surroundings while you rejuvenate or plan your Abel Tasman adventure. Onsite booking & info for kayaking, walking and water taxis. Modern, clean kitchen, heated rooms, bedding provided. Free WiFi, tea, coffee & gear storage. Friendly, knowledgeable local staff to ensure you have a quality experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing