We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here after completing the Abel Tasman Great Walk and it was a beautiful end to the trip. I was lucky enough to be the only one in the dorm room, which had a lovely balcony overlooking the forest. I was woken up to birdsong the next morning, wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Located 3km from Marahau, but with free bike hire available making the Abel Tasman National Park very accessible. The water taxi picks up and drops off at the bottom of the driveway. I stayed in the hostel at the beginning of may, so I was one of very few guests, making my stay very quiet and comfortable. The property is lovely and the owners are very friendly. I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I dont want to complain about someone being too nice but seriously the owner here just doesnt stop talking! thats ok if you have not done days of trekking with no shower and you are so exhausted that you just want to sleep and this guy seriously talked for 30mins! it took us that long to get the keys from him. :) the room was too small really for 2 people. my BF is over 6 feet tall and it was not comfortable in the tiny room we got. bathrooms were external but clean and kitchen was nice also. very remote, no phone signal, nice and peaceful. all in all it was ok but would prob not recommend due to standard of the rooms

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting Abel Tasman. The location is wonderful, it is a short drive out of Marahau, but it's amazingly quiet and there's lovely views into the bush. We had some great star gazing at night too.

Very friendly welcome and we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

The double ensuite room we had was well set up and the shared balcony at the back was a nice place to sit and enjoy the view with a glass of wine.

All the shared facilities were excellent, the kitchen was well stocked and comfortable.

Because it's quite a small place there's a great atmosphere and it's very laid back. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Kanuka Ridge as a party of two couples. On arrival our reception was friendly and humourous (from the four Alison's !) The location is about five minutes drive from Marahau and the start of the Abel Tasman walk. The location is lovely amongst the palms and wood, rural and very quiet. One couple had a double room with no en suite and the other couple had a double room with en suite. The rooms were immaculately clean the en suite included towels. The kitchen and seating area were clean and comfortable. Reception will book water taxis and kayaking. Towels are for hire and Internet is available for a fee. Good value for money and would recommend for the more mature traveller with a car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a cozy double room with ensuite, which has nearly hotel standard. Veranda at the backyard inbetween plants and trees, Veranda at the entrance with optional space for taking a seat.
Garden with hammocks and sitting groups, Kitchen with bbq well equipped. Hosts Cathy and Al are very friendly and helpful and made our stay a real memorable one. Highly recommended, we will stay here again, when back in NZ.

Room Tip: Take a double ensuite, these rooms are separated from the dorms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights here in an ensuite double room. It was impecibly clean and had the most comfortable bed we have experienced thus far in our travels. The kitchen is very well equiped and kept pretty much spotlessly clean.

As this is a small backpackers it has a lovely atmosphere, and it is lovely and peaceful at night. There are several picnic benches dotted around, and a large clothes line for drying. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is one of the nicest backpackers we have stayed at and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
11.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
397 reviews
1.5 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
43 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#2 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers

Address: 21 Moss Road, Marahau, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly and peaceful accomodation at Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers. We are located on a sunny ridge amongst native bush and birdsong near the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. It is the perfect base for exploring our area and our coastal National Park. Information and bookings for Water Taxis or other activities like kayaking are all available here with us. We can offer you different types of accomodations to suite your budget. Free WiFi, tea and coffee, bikes available to visit the local cafes and beaches, modern kitchen with new BBQ, gear, bike and motorbike storage, plenty of secure parking space, heated rooms and bedding all provided. Friendly, knowledgeable local staff to ensure you have a quality experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing