We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Back to basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

When we arrived the owner seems to be a little borred and very commercial. We don't like it when the bathroom is outside of the building where you sleep, because it's very dark at night. The bathroom is very basic.
You can't use your cellphones, because there is not any signal. Wifi is very bad and you have to pay 10 dollars for two nights!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle-Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
38
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was there in October 2012 for 3 nights. It is a wonderfully peaceful, out of the way place, very clean and cozy , the owners are very nice people, you really don't feel like a customer but like a guest:) The setting is beautiful, on top of a forested hill, the Abel Tasman Nat. Park is near, Marahau- a lovely little town, just down the road. It is a great place, ran by very nice people.

Greetings form Poland
Aleksandra

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our room was very clean and in excellent condition. The owner was very friendly and accomodating. We were given a room with one bed, but we had asked for two beds and the owner went through the trouble of dividing the bed for us (the mattresses were zipped together) and she had to redo all the sheets and bedding material which was a lot of work because she had to take everything out of storage. It's a beautiful location with shared kitchen facilities - everything was kept up very nicely and it was nice having a washer and dryer close by.

Room Tip: Get a room with your own private bathroom, it may cost more, but it was nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruddhashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Kanuka ridge is located less than a five minute drive from Marahau Beach (one of the most famous beaches in Abel Tasman, always depicted on the post cards). It is a little ways from a town or grocery store, but there is a great restaurant, the Fat Tui just down the street from Marahau. A little beyond the Fat Tui is the entrance to the hiking trails and access to the water taxi and kayak rentals.

The rooms were clean and comfortable with sliding glass doors and a porch overlooking the woods. The owner was friendly and knowledgeable.

My only complaint would be that the dorms were up the hill from the kitchen/bathroom (which was co-ed) and there were only two showers and three toilets for the whole hostel. It got a little crowded in the mornings. Other than that though, the hostel was very nice and convenient. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Study Abroad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Small chalet/huts, out of town on top of a hill in the forest - setting is beautiful & quiet :) kitchen & lounge are fine & there are small clearings for outside seating & a BBQ if weather is good. Bathrooms were good size & rooms spotless & nicely decorated. Staff v friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelf_caribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The kitchen and lounge were excellent, enough bathroom facilities, the place was clean and the hosts extremely commited and friendly. We had a room facing the the back with a lovely porch, so best views of all the wonderful birds (Tuis) in the trees. The room was just big enough and there was enough space to put your suitcases and clothes, even some coat hangers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Najane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an ensuite double. Room itself was on small side, but completely adequate, and bathroom, communal area and overall cleanliness great for a backpackers. Marahau easily accessible if you have a car. Internet very slow, but not a problem if you are there to explore abal tasman, for which this is an ideal base. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
11.2 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.6 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers

Property: Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman Backpackers
Address: 21 Moss Road, Marahau, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to Kanuka Ridge Abel Tasman. Enjoy starry nights and birdsong in our native bush surroundings while you rejuvenate or plan your Abel Tasman adventure. Onsite booking & info for kayaking, walking and water taxis. Modern, clean kitchen, heated rooms, bedding provided. Internet and phone. Free WiFi. Free tea, coffee & gear storage. Friendly, knowledgeable local staff to ensure you have a quality experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing