We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay”
Review of Aquapackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquapackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Abel Tasman, the location just has it all (even during our visit when it was raining continuously). It is just really cool to step on a boat after walking for a full day and enjoy a hot shower and a BBQ dinner.
Crew was very friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were tramping in Abel Tasman and we were recommended to stay at Aquapackers if we spent two days walking. The boat is located on a really nice beach. The place was packed when we were there and the atmosphere was good. BBQ-food and breakfast included. Really nice experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liisa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I travelled with a tour group, we did not know we would be staying here at booking, and knew very little until we got on the boat .... I think if you have actively chosen to stay here then it should be ok, but it was a bit of a shock for us. The dorm rooms are cramped and hot - pay to stay in either the quad/double rooms. The staff weren't particularly friendly unfortunately. The communal spaces and food were fine. The location is good. There's not a huge amount of accommodation choice in Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were tramping in the Abel Tasman National Park with a child and thought this might be a fun way to stay somewhere different.

We arrived at Anchorage two hours earlier than our scheduled pickup time, so were able to swim and search for shells before the rubber dinghy collected us and took us out to the boat. We were in the girls' dorm which sleeps seven, and all bedding was provided. After a quick swim (the water was freezing) and changing our clothes, all 20 guests assembled on the top deck for the included barbecue dinner which was uninspiring but adequate. Scraps went over the side where a school of large herrings were waiting to devour them.

A seal swam by as I was helping with the dishes, waving his flipper in the air in salute.

We all slept very well, and tucked into the included breakfast of cereal and toast before being taken back to the beach on the dinghy at 9.00 am.

The cost per person was $70 for accommodation and two meals, which I thought was reasonable.

It was a fun start to our holiday, and I recommend Aqua Packers as long as you aren't picky about your food. Please note that no alcohol is available on board - if you want alcoholic drinks you need to bring your own.

Room Tip: There are several private cabins available, as well as the women's dormitory and a mixed dormito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyber49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the Aquapackers as part of our 2 day Paddle-Hike-Paddle that we booked through the Sea Kayak Company (reviewed elsewhere on the site).
At the end of our hike we arrived at the beach in Anchorage, we were told to shout and wave if we had to wait too long to be picked up, but that wasn't necessary. Lisa spotted us from the boat and came and got us immediately in an inflatable dinghy. She gave us a tour of the Aquapackers, told us to help ourselves to tea/coffee at any time from the kettles that are always boiling. On the top deck is a fridge with (Non alco) drinks and also chocolate, nuts, pringles etc that we could help ourselves to, we had to keep track of what we took on a list and pay upon check-out. Great stuff!
A lovely BBQ dinner was at 7 on the top deck, it was very sociable, everyone was relaxing and hanging out, jumping in the water from all different levels of the boat and chatting to each other.
I was slightly worried beforehand that it was going to be an annoying party-boat type evening, but this wasn't the case at all.
We had booked a private cabin which had a very comfy double bed and opening windows. Not much space for anything else, but that really wasn't needed. I was glad we paid extra for a private room when I looked in the dorm area, it looked very cramped! To be honest, though, at breakfast the people who slept in the dorm said they all had a great nights sleep, too!
The shower/toilet was just down the hall and I was surprised at how lovely the hot shower was! (only 3 minute showers are allowed; water preservation!)
The next morning we had a very nice breakfast, choice of toast with every imaginable type of topping (Manuka Honey!! YUM!) and cereal, and of course tea and coffee.
Check out was at 9.30 am and we were told we could get dropped at the beach at any time between 7 and 9.30.
We had a truly awesome experience, watching the sun set over Anchorage Bay, hearing the birds early in the morning and just being on the water the entire night (feeling a slight sway!), it was all just so wonderful! We would definitely stay again!
Thanks Lisa and friend (sorry, couldn't remember your name) for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: I would definitely pay extra for a private room, but that's just me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A great place to stay in Abel Tasman National Park whether walking or kayaking or both. The dinner bed and breakfast package allows you to traverse the park with a minimum of baggage. You can arrange to get luggage dropped off by water taxi. The boat is comfortable and the food is adequate. The communal nature of the accommodation encourages conviviality and makes it a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a day’s kayaking I was looking forward to a relaxing evening on the Abel Tasman and aqua backpackers provided just that! After a few months travelling in Asia I was worried that it was going to be another backpackers party boat but I couldn’t have been more wrong!

We were collected from shore and given a tour of the boat and shown our sleeping quarters – we stayed in the dorm where the beds were clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. The double cabins were spacious (for on a boat) and looked more luxurious! We had dinner on the boat with a fantastic BBQ provided by the staff and enjoyed a glass of BYO wine as the sun went down. Breakfast the following morning (also included in the price along with the BBQ) was basic buffet style but good. All in all a really enjoyable experience with great food, lodgings and lovely staff!

Room Tip: The dorm rooms are fairly compact being on a boat so if you're a tad claustrophobic it may not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
6.4 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
369 reviews
4.7 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#2 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
109 reviews
4 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
73 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquapackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquapackers

Address: The Anchorage Bay, Abel Tasman National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience on the water. New Zealands only floating backpackers. Based in Anchorage Bay, heart of the Abel Tasman National Park. BBQ dinner, breakfast, and linen all inclusive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing