We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot for drinks or breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park Cafe

The Park Cafe
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool spot for drinks or breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stopped here on two occasions - for a drink one evening and breakfast another day. The drinks were great with a pretty sweet view out the back of the place, and were affordable. Breakfast was fresh... we got a salmon/lox dish and an egg dish with has browns, and fancy mocha coffees. The breakfast was filling and fresh and made a definite impression on us!

I recommend it if you are in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Beware of the upset counter lady”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Let's begin
The pizza is simply terrific and beautiful. The fruit ice cream machine JAMS EVERY 5 MINUTES but it's worth every penny! The kind gentleman who made the pizza deserves all the praise and he does a wonderful job. If there were more pizza Chefs like him outside of Europe, the world would definitely be a better culinary place! No question about this!

He has a traditional wood fired oven and he makes it with love. Pizza is as good as in Italy.


Now to the experience:
So my girlfriend and I walked in to get the fresh fruit ice cream. While waiting for the ice cream we saw the pizza and admired the way the pizza chef was doing his job. It seemed so delicious that we started talking to him and asked him about his pizza recipes. After a very lovely discussion and delightfully pleasant conversation we agreed that we would definitely try a pizza of his EVENTHOUGH we had walked in only for ice cream and not for food. As such, we requested him to make us a lovely salami pizza and we would go pay inside before sitting down to eat.
As we walked inside to the reception counter to pay a young lady greeted us. I kindly explained to her that I had ordered the pizza outside and would like to pay for ot before we seated ourselves and waited for the pizza.

Perhaps our actions went against german gastronomical etiquette or new zealand hospitality but her mood flipped entirely and in a very angry and PATRONIZING tone with an intensely strong german accent this young working holiday maker informed me that I MUST ORDER BEFORE INSIDE!

Her tone was so harsh and unfriendly that the entire mood had been dimmed.
we felt immediately attacked and verbally somewhat insulted by her lack of manners.
Having traveled excessively all over Europe and North America I do know that the Germans are somewhat strict about rules and regulations. Perhaps more so than the kiwis but this young lady indeed requires a course in Kiwi hospitality.

Needless to say we loved the pizza and would gladly go back for it again anytime. Also, kudos to the pizza chef for doing such a wonderful job!

Little tip to the management: please vet your staff before hiring them. Make sure that the ice cream machine doesn't perpetually jam and that the persom manning the central cash kiosk knows that the paying customer is ALWAYS RIGHT and perhaps would require a little forgiveness for having spontaneously ordered more than what he came for!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food in A Warm and Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We loved Park Cafe and dined here twice during our visit to Abel Tasman. The first night we had a huge bowl of the hearty seafood stew which was the so of the day. With fresh baked bread, a perfect meal to warm us up during the cold rains. The next meal was a delicious plate of fresh pasta with seafood of course. Delicious once again. The service was excellent and all the staff were so friendly. .Excellent location right at the entrance to the park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to start of Abel Tasman Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Recently had a couple of dinners at The Park Cafe before and after our Abel Tasman Walk. Great food, good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inglisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were staying just down the road from this restaurant and since the other possible choices were closed, was the only game in town. We ordered takeout, and were very pleased. They did not have a hamburger on the menu but agreed to make one for us. We also ordered a salad. We took both back to our room and shared them. By the time we were done we were stuffed. We found this to be a nice restaurant, with friendly people and good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Park Cafe also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing