We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Wilsons Abel Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vista Cruise, Water Taxi, Walk, Sea Kayak Abel Tasman National Park, guided and independent Combinations to suit you, year-round. A family business welcoming visitors since 1841! Options from 2 hours to 5 days. Overnight at Torrent Bay Lodge or Meadowbank Homestead – Awaroa on the beachfront within Park boundaries. Ensuite accommodation, fine food, no heavy packs to carry. Travel with multiple NZ Tourism Award winners. Let us take care of the details while you switch off and enjoy.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ok so I was alone in Abel Tasman for a week and joined a tour with the Wilsons. I wanted it all so I asked if I could do both the walk and the kayak trips together. The staff were super nice and organized all this for me so that on the days that the walking group would rest, I would head off kayaking. The tour guides were amazing. They knew everything about the history, the forest, the bugs, the animals, everything! The groups was small. Facilities were clean, nice, friendly, homy. The staff was friendly but not familiar. The food was excellent. All was included except alcohol. Lunches were good and gave us a choice of preference. Organization to carry luggage was seamless: you arrived at your next lodge and all your stuff was in your room. The schedule was well filled but not exhausting. There was time to savour beauty, to rest, to be alone, to socialize. This was a great great trip. I would recommend it any time.

3  Thank vajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to hear how single travelers enjoy their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"torrent bay"
in 69 reviews
"day trip"
in 67 reviews
"abel tasman"
in 178 reviews
"medlands beach"
in 45 reviews
"split apple rock"
in 41 reviews
"national park"
in 45 reviews
"tonga quarry"
in 34 reviews
"lodge staff"
in 9 reviews
"boat ride"
in 24 reviews
"quiche"
in 7 reviews
"new zealand"
in 44 reviews
"kayak guide"
in 18 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 17 reviews
"water taxi"
in 42 reviews
"guided walk"
in 17 reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 21 reviews
"bark bay"
in 33 reviews
Filter

430 - 434 of 733 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Accommodation, guides, transport and the itinerary were great. This was a wonderful experience for our family.

Thank Davidtks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is based on feedback provided direct to Wilsons - and disappointingly, never responded to...
THE RATING IS FOR WILSONS - the park gets 5 stars.
On the plus side - this trip has been on my bucket list for some time and the walk and especially the kayaking more than lived up to expectations. The park is wonderful and our guides were really tops, Marios for the walking and Shannon for the kayaking. They are the best thing Wilsons has - dedicated, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. The six of us were impressed.
The accommodation was also very good - comfortable and a good standard for the trip. While the house at Anchorage really is special, the Torrent Bay accommodation also worked well (although they seriously have to do something about the sewer smell).
So what can Wilsons do better? In a word, FOOD. It really was disappointing and a lost opportunity. Wilsons have the perfect opportunity to showcase really good NZ food. Mussels, salmon, lamb. We had meals that were at best adequate, deep-fried, over-cooked. I am not talking about having gourmet chefs - although perhaps having gourmet chefs advise would be appropriate, as they could design menus appropriate for the level of skills of the staff and for the cooking equipment there. They have the opportunity to source and transport great local produce - easy to deliver to the lodges by launch. Instead we experienced lacklustre meals.
The price of the trip is significant and so attracts people with high expectations. It is a pity that Wilsons miss on this one but very significant point. It is also disappointing that, having given constructive feedback, they did not even have the courtesy to reply - to feedback based on the experiences of 6 of us and another 2 delightful people we shared our trip with.

1  Thank ianmacd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for the very positive points of your review. A small correction: the Anchorage house is Meadowbank Homestead situated at Awaroa Bay. At Torrent Bay, the German suppliers of our treatment plant have visited and assure us they have rectified the problem.

My sincere apologies for the oversight if a reply was expected to your comments. I thought they were observations for consideration and our response was to tweak our existing operation.

We do monitor feedback and can confidently say our chef does successfully balance our menus to suit the tastes of a wide range of visitors, taking into account the skill levels of his cooks. In the wilderness not everything runs perfectly. We have to deal with the odd curve balls: variable timings of group arrivals, tides and weather induced delays can cause the odd wobble.

Mussels, lamb and salmon did feature on our menus last season as did snapper and chicken. On our 5 days trips, the extra 2 nights with us allows a wider culinary experience. Some of our nibbles/entrees did require deep frying and despite reservations by purists, clean platters indicated they were very tasty and a great match with a cold drink.

Craig, our Chef, is in the process of redesigning menus for this coming season. We will include these menus on our web site so future guests can see what food to expect. From previous feedback and personal experience we aim for honest foods and fresh flavours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I loved. It's a preservation area. So, don't forget to bring your food, wather, and don't forget to get your trash when you leave

1  Thank Regina_De_Toni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Great points. The saying is: take only photos, leave only footprints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our first activity after arriving in the South Island (late june) was Abel Tasman National park.
We wanted to do a hike and found Wilsons' website and decided to book the bush and swingbridge walk (which mostly means you book a dropoff (by boat) to Medlands and pick-up from Anchorage). Boat fare was nice. Saw split apple rock, some seals, birds, staff was friendly.

The weather was average, not too sunny, but also not rainy. The site says the walk is about 10.6km, but I think the signs we read on the way said something like 11.6-12km, beside this there are 2 options at a certain point, you can either walk the low or the high tide route (obviously it needs to be low tide to do the short low tide walk). The high tide walk is a bit steaper and about 2,5km longer if I remember correctly. We did the high tide in the end as we couldn't find a way to cross the water streams on the low tide route. Took us about 4,5 hours with breaks and reasonably steady pace.

It's a nice walk. I would grade the walk as easy, some parts perhaps easy-moderate due to steapness, but if you take your time it's alright.

The views are stunning, swingbridges are nice and anchorage bay was a beautiful finish as the sun finally came out. After this walk I was pretty much done with bush walks though, it's nice, but a bit similar in viewings for most of the time. And some sunshine would be nice, but not necessary.

A nice walk, especially if you like the forest mostly and some water and beaches.

2  Thank Diplodocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. You have described our Swing Bridge, Bush and Beach walk very well, pointing out how the tides can make quite a difference to your walk. As the tides vary day-to-day it is worth checking the tidal conditions when you book if those details are important to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilsons Abel Tasman also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wilsons Abel Tasman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing