We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip highlight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilsons Abel Tasman

Wilsons Abel Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Year-round guided and independent walking, guided sea kayaking and water transport in Abel Tasman National Park. Options from 2 hours to 5 days in the Park. Fast, safe comfortable Vista Cruise. Overnight at Torrent Bay Lodge or Meadowbank Homestead – Awaroa on the beachfront within Park boundaries. Ensuite accommodation, fine food, no heavy packs to carry. Travel with multiple NZ Tourism Award winners. Let us take care of the details while you switch off and enjoy.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was recommended by our travel agent and I'm so glad we went - the beaches were gorgeous and the coastal track fantastic. Did run into some sandy flies which were pesty but other than that it was perfect!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlaYuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    94
    18
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No Seats & no Shade!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Got to the boat about twenty minutes prior to departure and we'd collected out tickets the day before (that took 20 mins even with technology!) Very sunny and hot, which is fine if there is a place to get some shade on the boat, but downstairs all of the seats were taken and up on top all of the seats were gone (seats are in rows of threes) and our family of four were forced to sit on a wooden table between the seats for almost the first hour. Obviously they don't mind overbooking and secondly the configuration should be rows of our seats with the isle then rows of two so that most couples and families could be accommodated (Felt like an American airline that overbooks and tries to fob angry people off with $ only there are no $ or apologies offered, just cynical profiteering from discomfort I suppose). Not a great configuration / layout for a tour boat at all - isn't tourism and hospitality supposed to be their area of expertise?. Ticket price is expensive for what you actually get. The crew give ambiguous instructions about drop-off points that many asked to be repeated. The two hour walk has some negative camber, slippery narrow tracks on some cliff-tops that many parents should be concerned about and it would have been good to know this in advance. Seals - hmmmnnn, you get a distant view of a few seals, so set your expectations (yeh we all know about the 20 metre rule for the wildlife and I was ready for that but don't count the seals as a highlight) The walk and delightful scenery were otherwise good. Perhaps some of the Wilson's products are better, but I have to speak as I find and this is an expensive option that at less than half the price may have been just about OK, but no seats and no shelter on a hot or cold day are unforgiveable, so choose a local operator that gives a better service and has a bit more care about passenger comfort.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jed555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
The heading, No Seats & No Shade, is incorrect. Over 55% of the seating aboard our Vista Cruise is on the lower deck which is fully shaded. You were seated on bench seats. The tables onboard are standard table height. We have 5 styles of seat aboard in different areas, all arranged as you describe to maximise group/family interaction and to avoid an airline/bus style atmosphere.

We never overbook. The fact is that you could not find 4 seats together of the style and in the location that you would have preferred is a result of other visitors arriving earlier. To allow our guests to move freely about the boat, we do not allocate seat numbers. Sorry I can’t help with your issues around American Airlines. You should voice your concerns directly to them.

It has taken 30 years of vessel evolution to create our catamaran with multipurpose layout. This is why it is considered the premium vessel for travel in the Abel Tasman. The highlight for most travellers is the sunshine and 360 degree views from the top deck which is why these seats usually fill first. People move around as different areas have their appeal. I can confidently say that no other operator has invested to provide this degree of comfort, choice and attention to detail. Our many industry awards and Qualmark Eco Gold rating support this.

We apologise if you felt the time taken to determine the best trip for your family, taking payment and ticketing took too long and we will raise this at our next training meeting. As you note there can be confusion on the day if the itinerary is not understood. Our crew are delightful hosts and welcome any questions.

Children travel free with an adult on all sailings outside of the peak time you chose to travel. This is our very genuine effort to make travel for families more affordable and to get the next generation out enjoying the outdoors.

The seals are what they are. Their numbers and activity varies with the season. It is pleasing to hear that the walk and scenery were delightful. We are privileged to have these trails through our natural wilderness but nature can be messy at times. Golden Quartz crystals on the trail can make traction tricky on some sections during dry periods but the rain washes them off to supply the wonderful colour to the sand on our idyllic beaches. The Department of Conservation does a great job minimising risk by building and maintaining this track to their Great Walks standard. I have passed your feedback on to the rangers as this is the first written concern we have received in many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to explore a beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I just want to say that this is a legitimate review even though there was a time lag between our visit and this review! I have a list and am working my way through it.

We spent a brilliant day with Wilsons Abel Tasman, being taken by boat along a long stretch of this beautiful coastline, dropped off in one bay and picked up from another after a leisurely couple of hours walk on the stunning Abel Tasman coastal track, and all in glorious sunshine. The team was welcoming and knowledgable, the packed lunch was generous and well worth the money. If only we'd had more time to do something more adventurous with the assistance of this terrific service - so maybe next time? The boat we were on was impressive: its ability to get in close to the beach is remarkable. It was a really memorable day, we loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best thing I've ever done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just did the 3 day hike and loved it! Perfectly organised from knowledgeable guides to clever packed lunches and beautiful accommodations. Only criticism is that the rooms weren't ready when we arrived at 4pm and after 6 hours of hiking we really wanted a shower! Otherwise...highly recomended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank zostarbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and pointing out the importance of a welcome hot shower in your room at the end of the day. Our Lodge Hosts understand this and make every effort to have your room ready. As we are unsure of the exact date of your trip, we cannot pinpoint what problem caused the delay but given the remote location our small team may have had to attend to another urgent matter. Your hosts were sorry to hear they hadn’t explained the situation fully and are glad it didn’t affect your enjoyment of the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a 5 day kayak/hiking holidays in January 14. Efficient information and organisation from the booking until the very end. Knowledgeable and friendly guides/instructors. Felt completely safe for the sea kayaking. The lodges were excellent, comfy, friendly and you could not choose better locations. The food was plentiful (at times too much) and of high quality. The staff did their utmost to make us feel like a team. Finally, the landscape was breath-taking... Cannot fault a thing and enjoyed every minute of it! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SE6girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilsons Abel Tasman also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wilsons Abel Tasman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing