We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to explore a beautiful area”

Wilsons Abel Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vista Cruise, Water Taxi, Walk, Sea Kayak Abel Tasman National Park, guided and independent Combinations to suit you, year-round. A family business welcoming visitors since 1841! Options from 2 hours to 5 days. Overnight at Torrent Bay Lodge or Meadowbank Homestead – Awaroa on the beachfront within Park boundaries. Ensuite accommodation, fine food, no heavy packs to carry. Travel with multiple NZ Tourism Award winners. Let us take care of the details while you switch off and enjoy.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to explore a beautiful area”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I just want to say that this is a legitimate review even though there was a time lag between our visit and this review! I have a list and am working my way through it.

We spent a brilliant day with Wilsons Abel Tasman, being taken by boat along a long stretch of this beautiful coastline, dropped off in one bay and picked up from another after a leisurely couple of hours walk on the stunning Abel Tasman coastal track, and all in glorious sunshine. The team was welcoming and knowledgable, the packed lunch was generous and well worth the money. If only we'd had more time to do something more adventurous with the assistance of this terrific service - so maybe next time? The boat we were on was impressive: its ability to get in close to the beach is remarkable. It was a really memorable day, we loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    100
    19
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best thing I've ever done.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just did the 3 day hike and loved it! Perfectly organised from knowledgeable guides to clever packed lunches and beautiful accommodations. Only criticism is that the rooms weren't ready when we arrived at 4pm and after 6 hours of hiking we really wanted a shower! Otherwise...highly recomended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank zostarbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and pointing out the importance of a welcome hot shower in your room at the end of the day. Our Lodge Hosts understand this and make every effort to have your room ready. As we are unsure of the exact date of your trip, we cannot pinpoint what problem caused the delay but given the remote location our small team may have had to attend to another urgent matter. Your hosts were sorry to hear they hadn’t explained the situation fully and are glad it didn’t affect your enjoyment of the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fab!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a 5 day kayak/hiking holidays in January 14. Efficient information and organisation from the booking until the very end. Knowledgeable and friendly guides/instructors. Felt completely safe for the sea kayaking. The lodges were excellent, comfy, friendly and you could not choose better locations. The food was plentiful (at times too much) and of high quality. The staff did their utmost to make us feel like a team. Finally, the landscape was breath-taking... Cannot fault a thing and enjoyed every minute of it! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SE6girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, amazing boat skills in atrocious weather!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

One of a few operators in the region but was impressed with service and flexibility of drop off points. Our drop off "captain" Emma handled the boat in choppy seas amazingly and the pick up in the bigger boat was on time and despite a massive swell the trip back was comfortable (I would not have wanted to be on one of the smaller water taxis and something to bear in mind if rough weather around. Go the bigger boats!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My partner and I booked a five-day Abel Tasman Guided Walk to coincide with my 70th birthday on 27 December 2013. We were given a feedback form which unfortunately got wet and self destructed. As we wished to thank the entire team for making this special occasion memorable for all the right reasons we are offering this feedback.

On-line process: Prompt response providing excellent information. Booking and payment was simple and straight forward.

Contact with the Motueka Office: We called in when we arrived in the district. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to answer all our questions relating to parking our motor home for the duration of the walk. We touched base with them again on 23 December and found we were expected and the bags were waiting for us. The process was professional and much appreciated.

The bus trip: The bus was comfortable with plenty of room for our day packs. The driver responded to requests relating to air conditioning. The driver was courteous travelling at a speed which made it easy to follow him to the parking place in Riwaka and the transfer went smoothly.

The boat trip: We were very impressed by the simple idea of giving us a mug so we could enjoy complimentary drinks..instant identification for the staff on the boat. We also being greeted as we got onto the boat. The commentary and information relating to the various day trips run by Wilsons was excellent. Prior to our retirement we were both involved with education so it was a real pleasure to listen to clear, concise information. The Company's experience dealing with different nationalities was evident.

The guide - Marios Gavalas: There was an age difference of 57 years between the oldest member of our group of 12 and the youngest participant. Marios was able to keep the group functioning as a compact social unit for the entire trip. He has a great personality and an immense knowledge of the natural environment. At no stage did we feel information was being force fed to us. Enough information was given to the group to truely enhance the Park experience and all questions were answered. Marios went out of his way to accommodate my request for some Bubbles on my birthday......kayaking out to get two bottles off a boat was well beyond the call of duty, made a great story and was appreciated by all of us. Thank you Marios for making my day extra special.
Accommodation: Exceptionally comfortable and exceeded our expectations. We especially liked the fact tea and coffee were available at all time.

Meals: Healthy and varied menus. We liked the framed menus hung on the wall and recognised it was a response to "what's for dinner". Drinks and nibbles before dinner were a great way to promote friendship.

Lodge Staff: Andrea, Robert, Emanual and Smidge at Meadowbank made us so welcome and it was lovely to have them all join us for Christmas dinner and share some of the activities with us. It made us feel as if we were visiting old friends. Brett and Fleur welcomed us to Torrent Bay. They were friendly, happy and obviously enjoyed what they were doing. All the lodge staff were great ambassadors for the Wilson brand.

Programme: We liked the fact it was flexible. Alternatives were offered and concensus sought. Our individual needs were met in a professional manner on a day by day basis.

Overall. A 5 out of 5 experience. We had a positive, extremely enjoyable experience that compared well to similar experiences overseas. We were proud to be New Zealanders and see others enjoying our beautiful natural spaces. We think the company is exceptionally well run and very professional and deserving of the awards it has received.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilsons Abel Tasman also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wilsons Abel Tasman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing