We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abel Tasman 3 day walk”

Wilsons Abel Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vista Cruise, Water Taxi, Walk, Sea Kayak Abel Tasman National Park, guided and independent Combinations to suit you, year-round. A family business welcoming visitors since 1841! Options from 2 hours to 5 days. Overnight at Torrent Bay Lodge or Meadowbank Homestead – Awaroa on the beachfront within Park boundaries. Ensuite accommodation, fine food, no heavy packs to carry. Travel with multiple NZ Tourism Award winners. Let us take care of the details while you switch off and enjoy.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Mt Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Abel Tasman 3 day walk”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A big thank you to John Glasgow and all the Wilsons team for providing outstanding service and accommodation on this wonderful walk. It was beyond expectation and absolutely everything was amazing.
Ian & Carol

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    100
    19
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb option for a long weekend”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had an excellent time in Abel Tasman National Park on the 3-day/2-night walk along the Abel Tasman Coastal Track. The track itself is not difficult and showcases some of the the very finest New Zealand beaches and is a great one to get novices into the idea of hiking and multi-day walks, as you don't have to shoulder the burden of carrying gear. With the 3-day/2-night option, the cherry on the top is arriving at luxurious accommodation where you can settle down to pre-dinner snacks and a nice bottle of wine or two. Both of Wilson's private lodges - Meadowbank Lodge Awaroa and Torrent Bay Lodge - are very comfortable and beautifully situated overlooking the water. Meals were excellent.

What wasn't clear when we booked was that our guide would not accompany us on the walk itself, so it's not really "guided". This was no problem for us whatsoever; and the track is clearly defined so a guide really isn't necessary. Instead - and this was preferable to me - all in the group were given interpretation material about the track, and allowed to follow the trail at their own pace. So the guides predominantly ensured that all were well looked after at the lodges, had appropriate information about the track, and that any arrangements desired were seen to. For example, some in our party opted to take the water taxi back to Kaiteriteri rather than walk the last section of the track. Our personal thanks to Dave, who took special measures to ensure that my partner and I had an exceptional experience.

Wilson's Abel Tasman Adventures are suitable for people of all ages. It's a great one for families as all preparations are taken care of - airport transfers, water taxi, food, lodge backs, day packs, luggage transfers, secure deposit for stuff not needed on the walk. It's an unforgettable experience at a reasonable price. If you're not a regular walker it can be a good option rather than investing in all that outdoor gear!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lachlaninnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilsons Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We ran some limited offer, unguided trips this year , with full description of the trip on the seller's website. A secondary link did lead to our guided walk site, so we apologise for any confusion. You note that a Guide isn’t necessary but it is a highlight for many people. As you describe, all of our trips are well hosted so you receive the advice you need to make the most of each day. Dave features with fellow Guides in a musical response to the question of why you need a Guide, captured on YouTube, titled The After Dinner Song WfyR2HYMyjE. We hope you like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautifull, professional and genuine”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our 3 day walk with the team of Wilsons in the Abel Tasman Park was a wonderfull and authentic experience. We were in a group of 10 people.
The guides are knowledgeable and professional; the lodges are very nice, clean, staff is genuinly friendly and food is of excellent quality. Communication between the team and the guests was very open and constructive. Only thing is maybe that the walks are quiet long and maybe not suitable for all people/levels of conditions - although due to this open communication there are always options to get a pick up arranged etc.... Congratulations to the team !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank P_Q26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson team member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We’re happy you enjoyed our genuine Kiwi experience. As you say, it’s easy to arrange a boat pick up if you don’t want to walk so much. Thank you from the team for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“5 Star 5 Day Trek”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a fantastic experience! Wilsons handled all the practicalities smoothly and efficiently. The accommodation and catering were excellent. Our guide Marios was most informative and knowledgeable, and very interesting to talk with. Best of all was the opportunity to spend 5 days in a place of such serene and stunning beauty.

We spent the night before the trek in Nelson. Wilson's delivered our trip bags there and picked us up on the first morning. First stop was their office in Motueka, where our suitcases went into the secure store room. Then on to Kaiteriteri for the cruise up the coast to our starting point at Totaranui.

The combination of forest walking plus paddling/swimming in beautiful bays, and the odd bit of gentle sea kayaking, was irresistible. Thank you Marios, and Wilsons, for a memorable experience. Thanks also to 'big yellow' who shone 4 days out of the 5!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson team member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review. The sun always shines. Sometimes it’s shining behind clouds so we’re glad it was only shy for one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Able Tasman”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent staff and a good all round trip for our guests from Englanfd

Angus and Maureen
Heron's Rest
Bed and Breakfast
Collingwood

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scotland307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson team member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you Angus and Maureen. I hope we have the chance to host you on one of our Locals Deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilsons Abel Tasman also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wilsons Abel Tasman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing