We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth operation”

Wilsons Abel Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Year-round guided and independent walking, guided sea kayaking and water transport in Abel Tasman National Park. Options from 2 hours to 5 days in the Park. Fast, safe comfortable Vista Cruise. Overnight at Torrent Bay Lodge or Meadowbank Homestead – Awaroa on the beachfront within Park boundaries. Ensuite accommodation, fine food, no heavy packs to carry. Travel with multiple NZ Tourism Award winners. Let us take care of the details while you switch off and enjoy.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Smooth operation”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We did the tonga seal experience, the company run a well run ship, the boat was full, it was all very well organised and the views up there were stunning. I thought the seal experience ( we saw about 3) was rushed.....would have liked more time to take photos and properly observe the seals. Overall a fantastic experience but given the seals you can see from land all over the south island, which in my opinion is far better as you are not rushed and I saw far more ( for free) I would not do this tour again. That is no reflection on Wilson's though,,,,just our opinion on the type of activity to choose. Able Tasman is absolutley stunning.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJWAbelTas, Wilson family at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Due to New Zealand’s conservation efforts there are now, thankfully, quite a few mainland seal colonies easily accessible to the traveller. The Seal observation stop is only one element of your time in the Abel Tasman. The real highlight is the spectacular coastline and the stunning forest. Our great team of Boat Hosts keeps it all running as smoothly as possible. As you say, this combination on the Vista Cruise gives you a fantastic experience. Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    99
    19
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Christmas ever”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We set off on our three day kayak and walking trip on Christmas eve. We followed the coach to park our car in the safe parking provided and then joined the group on the coach to Kaiteriteri to catch the water taxi to Totaranui. I could tell as soon as we all started talking to each other that we were going to have fun. We walked a few hours along spectacular coastline, including a walk through an estuary (up to our waists - but at least warm water) to our first night's stay at the stunning Meadowbank Homestead where we enjoyed an excellent meal with the rest of our group - slightly earlier eating times than we are used to but it wasn't a problem.

We set off on another walk on Christmas morning after an enormous breakfast and picked up our kayaks towards lunch time. We spent the afternoon kayaking for about 4 hours along the most stunning scenery I think I have ever seen. The web pictures do not exaggerate it really is that beautiful. The second lodge at Torrent Bay was excellent too as was the food. Do I keep mentioning food?! That is because the whole trip seemed to revolve around great food.

What a location to have your Christmas meal and not a turkey in sight. Boxing day was spent out at sea on our kayaks and most memorable for me were the sea lions swimming and showing off around us.

Thank you Emma and Tim for being such great guides and thanks also to all the other staff who made this a fantastic trip and one that will stay with me forever.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank scout6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed Christmas with us, and took the time to write about it with all the details. Please note that wading waist-deep through an estuary is not a usual component of our trips. If the window for a tidal crossing looks like it will interrupt your meal time, your Guide will assess the group's abilities/expectations and will sometimes decide a deep water crossing is better than waiting for a boat transfer. Sounds like the meals were worth it. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Water Taxi from Kaiteriteri to Anchorage”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just took a 45 minute water taxi from Kaiteriteri to Anchorge where we took a couple short walks and then returned a few hours later. Upon return we spent 30 minutes on the beach. Water taxi had easy access ramp and indoor and outdoor seats. Crew was pleasant and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyVegan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us and noting our helpful crew. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Seakayaking”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Seakayaking was lots of fun! We prebooked with Wilson's for a half day of seakayaking. We didn't have much prior experience but the guide was very helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and noticing our friendly, helpful Guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spectacular views and nature. Wonderful birds. The hiking track is well marked and maintained. Definitely worth traveling half way around the world to experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AKnorsechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
And we're glad you travelled around the world to see us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilsons Abel Tasman also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wilsons Abel Tasman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing