We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of Rufford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rufford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was delighted to accept an invitation from my friend to dine at The Rufford Arms for the new year celebrations.
The food was excellent, we had 6 courses in all and each one was as good as the next. The staff were very efficient, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
There was an entertainer for the evening who sang, told a few jokes, and encouraged us to take part in a quiz and then join in the dancing seeing the new yearin where we all linked arm and sang.
This is a nice place to eat in and I think the accommodation would be just as good to stay over. There are some nice walks near to The Rufford Arms and also Rufford Hall which is a National Trust Property, what a nice way to spend a weekend. There are many deals which include Dinner, overnight accommodation and breakfast all at a reasonable price. Southport is about miles drive away so you do some shopping if you don't fancy doing a walk. Can recommend this place to those who are looking for a bargan with quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June61Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here New Years eve, lovely hotel with a super, just decorated room. It had everything we needed. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed, though I would have appreciated a hook for a bathrobe, or shelf for a wash bag. The staff were welcoming and obliging and the dinner was beautifully cooked and presented. We chose this venue for location to meet up with friends we only see at New year, and to avoid a noisy disco ,so we could chat and 'catch up'. A singer was advertised, which we thought would be O.K. Unfortunately she came with huge loud speakers,and was so loud we couldn't say anything to each other. My ears began to hurt, so we retired to our room to watch New Year on BBC. Breakfast was superb, and included everything.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the top of the stairs as the door bangs after each guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suelockwood, Owner at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the evening with a question mark over the entertainment.
The female entertainer for the evening appears at the hotel quite regularly and is very popular with our guests. Of course music is a very personal thing and what is one man’s pleasure is another man’s poison. Several guests who stayed overnight with us enjoyed the evening so much they rebooked on departure for New Years Eve 2014.
We endeavour to try to please all with a mellow spot to start the evening whilst people dine and then a party spot as we near midnight on New Years Eve.
I hope this will not deter you from using us again when you meet up with friends, but perhaps not on nights when we have an entertainer on.
We do offer dinner, bed and breakfast deals throughout the year that make it possible to meet with your friends at a time when perhaps the atmosphere would prove less intrusive to your catch up.
Regards
Sue Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Spent a night here before a day working locally at Edge Hill University. Easy to find. Clean room. Comfortable bed. Very little noise at night - when I opened the blind in the morning I saw a field of sheep outside! Ate in the restaurant - food was prompt, very hot and good. Staff were uniformly lovely. Free Wi-fi so able to work from my room.Breakfast cooked to order - no containers full of congealing eggs! Only slight grumble was that the shower took forever to get warm (never hot) in the morning. But everything else about the place was great. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were staying overnight on Saturday and picked this hotel for its location close to Edge Hill University. We booked a package of bed, breakfast and evening meal and we were delighted with everything which really enhanced our celebratory weekend. All the staff are very helpful, hard working yet cheerful. Compliments to the chef who was serving a Christmas menu to a full restaurant yet the standard of cooking and presentation was amazing. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room13 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSRRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

While visiting friends, we spent two nights at the Rufford Arms Hotel. We had the family room, which had been very spacious, clean and comfortable. The main bed had been very comfortable the pullout sofa was ok but fine for two nights.

We only made use of the breakfast table and we were very pleased to get good coffee in the morning. We felt it is more a hotel of adults. It was fine with our little children but we missed that extra touch for children on the breakfast table. Nothing major to complain just an observation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TantePenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night this weekend in connection with a family celebration. From the outside the hotel doesnt look particularly inspiring - however the rooms were clean, bed was extremely comfortable and the personnel helpful and friendly.

After the family celebration which was held down the road, one of my sisters and her husband, myself and my husband and our 2 children ended in the Hotel's restaurant. We had a very good meal and then, as we hadnt seen each other for at least 5 years, we sat until at least 23.00 talking and having a few drinks.

Despite the late hour, there was no chivvying us out, the staff remained friendly and the bill was very modest.

In the morning we had an exceptionally good breakfast.

All in all a very pleasant stay and a hotel we would stay at again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesnt face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was pleased to be able to revisit the Rufford Arms Hotel with its adjacent restaurant Alexander's Brasserie. It didn't disappoint. The hotel is both very clean and comfortable and the restaurant is outstanding. The staff are constantly working hard; they are attentive but not obtrusive. The food is just excellent. This has to be one of my favourite places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rufford
6 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
7 mi away
Farington Lodge Hotel
Farington Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Farington
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Manor House Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
The Farm Burscough
The Farm Burscough
#2 of 3 in Burscough
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufford Arms Hotel

Address: 380 Liverpool Road | Nr Ormskirk, Rufford L40 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rufford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rufford
Price Range: $87 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rufford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing