We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of Turtley Corn Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtley Corn Mill
Ranked #2 of 6 South Brent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent one night here recently and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished. Such comfortable beds! Our meal in the restaurant was excellent and we loved everything about the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knebrakanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Wow, now that was a good review. You first maximum score too! We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Turtley; the beds are good aren't they, and, better still, made locally in Plymouth. Perhaps if you return in warmer weather you can enjoy the grounds too.

Thank you very much for your comments. We do appreciate it.

Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
42
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

this was our first visit back to Turtley after i wrote a poor review a couple of months ago and what a difference the food was so so much better the staff were brilliant as usual.I am glad we went back and would not hesitate to return again keep this great standard up

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boveyboy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you. We much prefer good reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night last weekend when visiting for a family birthday. Frindly staff, lovely place and beautiful grounds. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. They have 4 rooms, named after breeds of duck.
The room was light, bright and spotless, as was the bathroom. We slept very well. the only slight criticism was that there was no tea or coffee making IN the room, but it was situated on the landing just outside the room. There was also an 'honesty board' where you could choose a variety of snacks and chalk them up to your room and pay later. There was a fridge with fresh milk, great, and a constant boiler for water. In theory you could have tea, coffee or hot chocolate etc at any time. My hubby had to get up, get dressed and then go and make my morning cuppa. Not a huge problem you might say but what about the elderly couple who stayed, or the very early risers who wanted a cuppa with early TV? We did speak to the owner who cited lack of space but I doubt that many people would have much luggage and a small kettle and a couple of cups do not take up much room. Maybe a compromise would be large towelling robes to use whilst popping to the tea and coffee station...? Be aware that other than continental type breakfast, there is a charge for breakfast. Not cheap at £120 a night but we felt worth it. On the whole recommended, great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBDelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A kind review; thank you and sorry for our delay in responding! I remember our chat! We look forward to your return, hopefully in the not too distant future. Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Took my family here for sunday lunch. Booked in advance as known to be busy. The food was delicious with a good choice of menu, served on hot plates. The staff were excellent and attentive. Good value for money in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfiemar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for a great review; we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Most kind of you. Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here in June 2010, and the beds were the comfiest we have ever stayed in. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, and when we stayed in for dinner one evening, that was delicious too (if not slightly expensive). We have been back since in September 2011 when staying nearby for dinner, and again the quality was top drawer. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for a great review; we're delighted you enjoy Turtley as much as we do! Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife booked a table for three couples last Saturday night - no kids as we just wanted a chilled evening after a busy week at work. Well the Turtley really delivered what we wanted,from start to finish nothing was too much trouble.
The menu suited us all, all of us choose something different, you can even order a scotch egg or a caesar salad as a starter - how cool is that , this is restaurant food served in a pub, you could tell the food was good because nobody offered to share - I certainly wasnt going to part with my lamb rump.
Before writing this review I read some others - I don't get some of them, like fussing about not having a high chair - that doesn't change the food or the surroundings it is just people having a moan, and if anyone thinks the well trained staff are rude then I would image the problem lies at the feet of the ignorant reviewer
Anyway great food,great staff and great evening

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Nick, forgive my delay but this slipped past me! T^hank you so much for a first class review, it was very kind of you indeed. It's difficult to please everyone all of the time as you know and whilst we do understand the needs of others we can't always provide! Thanks for your support. Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Been here a couple of times both times with my children for sunday lunch. Always busy and fully booked at lunch, but great that they serve food all day so a 2.30pm lunch is ideal for us and just starting to quieten down. Also a rather civilised clientele if you're looking to get away from the rowdier Sunday Carver brigade!
A simple but well put together menu. The rib of beef is to die for and the combo roast is enormous. Lovely fresh veg and a good selection of well executed starters. Some nice fish dishes and even a gourmet burger for that picky teenager ;-)
All in all a lovely place in a great setting. Service is a bit hit and miss - don't wait for a waiter/waitress to come to your table or you'll never get a food order in - best off going directly to the bar. There is a bit of self assured aloofness in the staff, who I think know that this place is good, however they generally aim to please.
Recommended, and I will return. Easily the best cut of Beef on a Sunday in a 20 mile radius of Plymouth!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A really kind review, thank you very much, we are delighted you enjoyed it. We will take orders at the table but are equally happy to take them at the bar; we really want to hang on to our heritage as a pub and not become a restaurant. We like beer too much! Thanks again, Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
5.4 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
317 reviews
9.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtley Corn Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtley Corn Mill

Property: Turtley Corn Mill
Address: Avonwick, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtley Corn Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtley Corn Mill, which is family owned and run, nestles in six acres of natural gardens with a lake and half a mile of busy river bank. The gardens are home to a big family of ducks, Guinea fowl, chickens and peacocks! We are a well known and very busy restaurant with four recently created high quality hotel rooms. They are all en-suite with free internet, Sky TV, a Nespresso coffee machine, Bush radios and all those little things that make your stay more comfortable and a touch more homely. We serve food all day from a monthly changing menu along with interesting wines and some great west country beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Turtley Corn Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtley Corn Mill Hotel South Brent
Turtley Corn Mill South Brent, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing