We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

The Turtley Corn Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful old mill nestling in six acres of gardens with its own lake and river. Open all day serving traditional English pub and restaurant food in a relaxed atmosphere. Huge gardens make summer eating outside a pleasure. Freedom for children too!
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are not a local but only here on holiday you might miss this delightful smallish restaurant set in grounds children will adore. It is just off the A38 on the Avonwick road. Plenty of parking. The restaurant is set in this old corn mill so the dining rooms have many nooks and crannys which immediately create a welcoming ambience. In the summer one can eat outside but if the weather is against that then the tables set in what might well be called a library are ready for you. The food is excellent quality and sensibly priced. This is a family run business with the staff well trained and quietly sociable. Just go and enjoy, you will not be disappointed. Might be wise to ring and book a table first though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your review; its great to know you enjoy your visits to Turtley - long may it (and the good weather) go on! Many thanks for letting us know. Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    182
    61
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked a table for a pre wedding meal with family. I increased the number for the table twice. There was no problem. The menu choices were varied and the food was of excellent quality. They also served a birthday cake we brought with us instead of dessert. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for letting us know we looked after you well! Good luck with the wedding and lets hope we can welcome you all back soon. Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely location, not the cheapest but worth it on a sunny day!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have visited this pub several times however this is the first time that we have had breakfast here and have to say that it is a good as their evening menu (haven't tried lunch yet!) they use local ingredients and serve breakfast in a smaller room next to the water wheel, it was a lovely sunny day which added to the atmosphere, the TCM had a varied menu for breakfast including omelette and toasted tea cake so all were catered for, they only serve until 11am and we arrived at about 1040 however the service and food was of the normal superb quality.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
A great review. Thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I popped in here with friends after a day out. We had the two course set menu but found the meals a bit uninteresting and poor value. We felt we could have done better at home. Apart from the bar man the staff were not particularly attentive. We have eaten here several times before and been pleased.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieb6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lunch for four adults”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Booked table for lunch on 8th May. Had a quiet table in the library area, and all four of us enjoyed food and the sevice was good. After dining, took coffees and teas in the lounge area which is extrememely comfortable and consequently it's easy to drift into late afternoon - particularly as the inn is open all day. A bit wet to enjoy the garden and pond area as weather was a bit miserable. Fair variety of meals available and some good value combinations on special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed Turtley - lets hope we can welcome you back in better weather next time - the gardens have some lovely riverside wanderings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtley Corn Mill also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 
 

Been to The Turtley Corn Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing