We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

The Turtley Corn Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful old mill nestling in six acres of gardens with its own lake and river. Open all day serving traditional English pub and restaurant food in a relaxed atmosphere. Huge gardens make summer eating outside a pleasure. Freedom for children too!
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I popped in here with friends after a day out. We had the two course set menu but found the meals a bit uninteresting and poor value. We felt we could have done better at home. Apart from the bar man the staff were not particularly attentive. We have eaten here several times before and been pleased.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julieb6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 497 of 757 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Booked table for lunch on 8th May. Had a quiet table in the library area, and all four of us enjoyed food and the sevice was good. After dining, took coffees and teas in the lounge area which is extrememely comfortable and consequently it's easy to drift into late afternoon - particularly as the inn is open all day. A bit wet to enjoy the garden and pond area as weather was a bit miserable. Fair variety of meals available and some good value combinations on special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

I'm delighted you enjoyed Turtley - lets hope we can welcome you back in better weather next time - the gardens have some lovely riverside wanderings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Have been to the restaurant for the second time excellent service and very good menu will definitely be going there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thanks David - that was very kind of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a sunny summer day!

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I booked this table back in March for a meal at the beginning of June; I asked for a quiet table where I could hold a conversation. Wow, not only did they meet my request but exceeded all expectations. The food, service and wine was second to none. While I have had better meals in different restaurants around the world this was by far the best I have ever eaten in Devon. The menu changes regularly, the food is locally sourced where possible and cooked to perfection.

What I particularly liked was the fact that once booked there was no rush for us to leave, allowing us to have a genuinely relaxed meal and undisturbed conversation.

Definitely well worth many more visits in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Turtley and that you were able to have a relaxed afternoon. Being open all day makes relaxing here that much easier. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant, great food, lovely garden. Thankfully it was a warm day so we sat I the garden. Love that the on site ducks, geese and chickens just wander around the garden about their day, in and around the tables! Lovely little walk around the mini lake after lunch, and more wildlife spotting!
Recommend their sister restaurant The Bridge at Mount Batten, Plymouth too.

Thank TEAR1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We know you enjoy our other place the The Bridge at Mount Batten to so knowing Turtley meets with your approval too is a real bonus!

We're delighted you enjoyed the gardens - clearly on a good weather day - and we look forward to being able to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtley Corn Mill also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Turtley Corn Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing