We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuinely enjoyable Inn experience”
Review of The Pack Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pack Horse
Ranked #3 of 6 South Brent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good home cooked food in a traditional country bar room, three real ales in excellent condition and local character enhanced by euchre competition and some gente folk singing. Excellent quality room with some exceptionally nice touches and a eco-conscious theme (soaps, grooming products, linen). I know my wife would have loved it (bed, cushions) and I'd like to return. The sole criticism is that I was on a business stopover and hadn't checked the breakfast times, 9am was too late so I and my colleague had to move on, but if our schedules had allowed us to return for brunch (willingly offered by the hosts) we'd have been eager to do so. I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 3 (double) lovely, faces road but minimal village traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevefromSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 150 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

After recently reading reviews and booking our 1 night stay at The Pack Horse Inn we were very much looking forward to our break away. We stayed in room 4 which was the four poster room although I had not booked this room! however we did not pay the four poster price so all was good. The room on arrival was not very warm although this was early evening and the room is very spacious! clean and great extras for if you require them as well as creating a homely feel. not to mention our extremely cold March we were experiencing. Room was very clean.

The menu was basic 'pub grub' we both had steak and chips which was average price as were the drinks. Breakfast was as you would expect great choice and fresh strawberries and melon which was great. This was situated within the bar area.

The night we stayed also had a band playing which of course is not always to everyones taste but they did entertain with various songs and reasonable volume.

Overall an average pub stay which was nice however been there and would try somewhere new next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Must be in to double figures by now , but if not very closed and im pretty sure ive eaten here every time.
No frills good value home cooked food, and plenty of it too, The mixed grill is enough for most people , there is a hearty mix of sausage, rump steak , lamb chop , liver and kidney and i think i saw a bacon steak too, chips , onion rings , tomato and mushrooms and all this costs just £10.95
The chap who cooks the food often brings it to your table and is very friendly and i think he takes great pride in serving such decent sized meals.
They also do some really good pizzas in an authentic pizza oven and these can be ordered for take away too, my personal favourite is the spicy chicken .
This is definitely a locals type of pub , although the pub has good reviews for the bed and breakfast it offers ,
Beer is reasonably priced and well kept too, and the young lad with the beard who works behind the bar is a real credit to the pub.
Over all a great little pub in a lovely village , and i will no doubt enjoy many more evenings with a pint and a pizza !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FERGVSFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here New Years Eve, booked the best room with four poster bed, very clean and comfortable. Furnished in village pub style but you could see an effort had been made, coffee and tea facilities, box of After Eight mints and biscuits.
En suite very clean, nice toiletries. The waste system had to be pumped and was a little noisy at times and perhaps a little smelly, very slightly.
Friendly village pub, good atmosphere in bar.
Downside was that no cooked food available New Years Eve, although a free buffet was provided during the celebrations. We followed up the proprietors recommendation to have evening meal at The Royal Oak in the same village, see separate review. Also, no breakfast available next morning, which we were not told until after we had booked and paid online.

Room Tip: A good opportunity to sleep in a four poster if you book the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter45Devon, Owner at The Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

We are a little disappointed to see some of your comments that you have left in this review. Sadly though, you fail to mention that we told you in THREE separate telephone calls that no food would be served in the evening or the following morning due to the New Year’s Eve celebrations
We advised you that we would gladly cancel your booking if you wished to look elsewhere that met your requirements. We also mentioned where to eat before you arrived so that you could make reservations if needed. No payment was taken at the time of booking.
We gave you three opportunities to cancel the booking and you decided to come and still complained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a lovely stay , friendly staff and the room was a perfect mix of old world charm and modern conveniences, very comfy bed! Food was delicious and beautiully presented really made us feel special. Would definately recommend a visit! Sonia and john

Room Tip: The number 1 the room with the four poster bed is amazing , very roomy and you can comfortably relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter45Devon, Owner at The Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at The Pack Horse. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just 2 nights for a family party close by; the reception on arrival was really welcoming, the room very large and clean and bed was comfy. The food was the best bit, we are in the pub in the evening and was surprised by how big the portions were and was good value for money. The breakfasts were also enormous and nothing was too much effort for them. We didn't get to experience the local surroundings as we were visiting family, but I would expect the location is great for the moors.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staying at this very old historic Inn was a pleasure. Very comfy room provided with an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Nice surprise to have fresh raspberries and strawberries for breakfast at this time of year (early January). I'm only sorry that we were there for just one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Brent hotels
0.8 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#1 of 6 in South Brent
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oak Inn
The Oak Inn
#4 of 6 in South Brent
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
2.4 mi away
Ashbourne Woods Campground
Ashbourne Woods Campground
#1 of 1 in South Brent
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#5 of 6 in South Brent
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range: $63 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pack Horse is a family run bed and breakfast / pub. We offer a warm welcome to our four well proportioned en-suite rooms. We are positioned between Exeter and Plymouth, just off the A38 in the small but vibrant village of South Brent. The pub is traditional and offers a traditional pub grub menu seven days a week. We have a walled beer garden that has views of Dartmoor and is a sun trap for those relaxed afternoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse South Brent, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing