We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Rizt, but a good place to rest.”
Review of The Pack Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pack Horse
Ranked #2 of 5 South Brent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We decide to visit the Dartmoor area using pubs as bases to visit the local sites. The Pack Horse was idealy suited to see the South part of the moor, and the local South Devon Steam Railway. We stayed for two nights, eating in on the first night. There is not much dinning room in the pub, if they have a busy night, but the food was good pub food, and there was a good choice of beers. The staff were friendly and helpful. The locals were more than helpful with tips and info about local sights, venues, and walks
We had the four poster bed room, where down stairs was wooden tables and chairs, the bedroom was something from a small manor, it was excellent. The bed was comfortable, and the room had all that you could want to enjoy your stay.
Small point the wi fi was not brilliant for those that need to stay in touch. Otherwise an enjoyable stop over.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mewnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is the first time that I've stayed at the Pack Horse and it's large, bright room was very nicely furnished and superbly equipped, with a most thoughtful array of toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well. They provide really useful information in the room for visitors.

I would recommend the installation of sensor lighting in the windowless hallways but this is an improvement for the future. The main bar felt very dingy and in need of refurbishment but the food was excellent.

Breakfast is not usually served until 9 a.m., which must be a huge bonus for holidaymakers. They accommodated my need for an earlier breakfast without any fuss. Altogether, it was great value for money.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a four poster and their superior rooms must be very swish because mine was far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieVSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our first stay at a pub/BB and it was fantastic - if all are like the Pack Horse and its owners and staff we will never use a hotel again! Clean bright rooms, superb choice of food for all tastes and all fresh and at a resonable price. Great beer!

Freindly locals, who make you feel very welcome in their beautiful village.

Great base for exploring.

For a relaxing family break or a romantic get away go for it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Typical old English pub with beautiful accommodation, luxury toiletries, fantastic cooked breakfast consisting of good choice of cereals,English strawberries,toast and marmalade/jam,need I say more? Would definitely stay there again to be spoiled the way we were by Linda,Ken and their welcoming staff.Amazing value for money in a very atmospheric 14th c.inn.
Our stay while in S.Brent for a family wedding was fab, even if we didn't get the gist of HOY!
Thank you all.
On a down note, I'm unsure which Pack Horse 'Manymias' and their negative comments stayed in cos it certainly wasn't the one we stopped at.
.

Room Tip: Any of the comfortable individual rooms would be good choice but the four poster DID take the biscui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just stayed at the Packhorse Inn while in South Brent for the wedding of freinds,
We were greeted with a welcoming cup of tea.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and fully equiped with everything you would expect and more. Toiletries were really good quality.
Breakfast was top dollar, whatever you wanted and very nicely cooked and presented. We even had fresh strawberries!!
Can't praise our hosts enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
The rooms are of an exceptionally high standard with lovely decor and personal touches that really stand out from other places we've stayed in.
I found the hosts to be very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to rustle up a midnight snack for us when the kitchen was closed.
I couldn't fault the food at all and the tea room was perfect. Very quaint and traditional.
The bar has an old fashioned and traditional feel to it, which was lovely. The locals were very friendly and the staff were all very pleasant.
The gardens are beautiful and perfect on a hot sunny day with a nice cold pint.
Overall I am very impressed and I would definatley stay again and highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

dated bar decor and dirty tables with peeling varnish so although the bedroom was nicely decorated it is let down by the Very poor attitude and rudeness from manager when we commented on service which is something I rarely do Definitely Customer is always wrong attitude The food was average It's very much a loud raucous locals bar as in Rovers return kind of a way Tatty little coffee room with cheap plastic table cloths and staff talking about unpleasant personal issues in front of us Not the Devon country pub ambience we were seeking Really disappointed after reading these reviews And having had a marvellous time at the masons arms near Cirencester as a result of trip advisor reviews were looking forward to a similar experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manymias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter45Devon, Owner at The Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

I I’m sure that you are aware that there are two sides to this review.
Sadly this review is in retaliation for us having to mention the damage that was done in the bedroom for the two nights that you were booked in with us.
We feel that the damage done could have been avoided if you had shown a little more respect to other people’s property. We hoped that you would have mentioned it yourselves after the first night. But could not ignore the damage as the cost to us was more than your two night stay.
This was politely mentioned on your departure one to one and wasn’t expecting the Tasmanian She Devil to appear!
We don’t feel the need to defend ourselves on anything else that was brought up on your review as it is unjust and slanderous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
0.1 mi away
The Oak Inn
The Oak Inn
#3 of 5 in South Brent
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#1 of 2 in North Huish
97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashbourne Woods Campground
Ashbourne Woods Campground
#1 of 1 in South Brent
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#4 of 5 in South Brent
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range: $64 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pack Horse is a family run bed and breakfast / pub. We offer a warm welcome to our four well proportioned en-suite rooms. We are positioned between Exeter and Plymouth, just off the A38 in the small but vibrant village of South Brent. The pub is traditional and offers a traditional pub grub menu seven days a week. We have a walled beer garden that has views of Dartmoor and is a sun trap for those relaxed afternoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse South Brent, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing