We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks”
Review of Mariners B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariners B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Thanks”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well what can we say, excellent clean friendly really comfy bed great breakfast.
Pat and Nigel made us feel very welcome they were there for our every need, it was like being with good friends. Just the break I needed before my chemo.
Right by the beach easy parking.
will be back no hesitation.
You just have to go!!
P.S. great pubs for dinner just ask Nigel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review .We were pleased you chose to relax at Mariners.
We are hoping to see you soon and hope that all goes well for you.
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    30
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
179
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a cream tea here while holidaying in Seaton, it was beautiful. Perfectly baked scones, generous serving of juicy jam and clotted cream. The tea was also brilliant, and all served on pretty bone china, sitting on the patio. It was perfect. £5.95 for two scones - we were even offered more cream, but we didn't need it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilCat2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your cream tea.
Nigel,previously a chef makes the scones ,jam and cream are from local quality suppliers.
Enjoying a cream tea is such a traditional part of a holiday .We are pleased you enjoyed your visit .
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very disappointed at the way our booking was handled. We first rang to ask if they took one- night midweek bookings in July. They confirmed they did. We then rang on 18 May to confirm a booking of one night in the ground floor twin room for Weds. 3 July. Our deposit by debit card was requested and given over the phone at the same time. TWO WEEKS LATER we got a phone call to tell us there had been a mix up and they could now only offer us an upstairs room. This was not acceptable due to mobility problems, which is why we specifically requested the ground floor room in the first place.

Surely a double-booking of the room would not have taken 2 weeks to be discovered? If this is the case I can only suggest they upgrade their booking procedures. What I suspect really happened is that having taken our one night booking they got the chance to let the room for a longer period to someone who also needed the ground floor room. A SHAMEFUL way to conduct business.

All I can say is beware to anyone who only wants a one night stay - you may find your room has been let to someone else!

In the end, they did us a favour as we discovered when we passed through Seaton - it's a dump! Run down, nothing happening - definitely will not be going there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinefircroft94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.You have said you felt let down and I must say I am suprised to hear from you as these events occurred almost 3 months ago .At the time I dealt with your husband and tried to resolve the mistake.I did offer an alternative but he declined the offer made .I did have a ground floor double which you could have had and if you had not wanted to share a bed then I offered another room at no extra cost to yourself .Your husband declined the offer .This room was booked and I gave a full explanation of why the mistake was made .You did give your card details but have not made clear in your review that no payment was taken.
I would like to make clear that you have decided to make a suggestion about what you think happened despite being given a full explanation.You have also accused us of acting in an unethical way .This is something we do not do and our many positive reviews from customers would point to this .
You have made comments about Seaton which of course are subjective .I was told it was your intention to travel along the coast by bus from Bournmouth .From your comments I can only think that you only saw the area from the bus stop .I am sorry you did not explore more of the town .The Tramway and the lovely Axe Wetlands are very different from the bustle and commercialism of Bournmouth and may have been a pleasant contrast for your day away.
I do feel I offered a solution and am sorry the mistake occured .I trust other guests will read this and make their own judgement. Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The whole of Mariners is immaculately clean and well looked after, with a tasteful decor throughout and a lovely, comfy sea-facing guest lounge. You can sample Nigel's own cream teas from the sun terrace, whilst listening to the waves, as the beach is only a stones throw away. Ample off-road parking is also a big bonus and the Mariners enjoys a quiet seafront location.

Pat, Nigel and their staff always had a smile and all were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, especially in providing a few extra touches, to help make my boyfriend's birthday all the more special. Thanks again, Pat!

Rooms are extremely comfortable and decorated to a boutique hotel style and standard. Our room, room 6, had fantastic views out to sea and of the beach and cliffs.
The en suite bathroom had a good shower, never without hot water and the complimentary, quality toiletries were a nice touch. We slept very well in the comfy bed.

As for breakfast... well, what can I say?! There was such an extensive choice of locally sourced produce, catering for all tastes, that it's hardly surprising their breakfasts have won awards! Breakfast at Mariners will certainly set you up for the day!

Seaton itself is a perfect place for exploring the many places of beauty and interest in the surrounding area. You get the best of both worlds by staying in a scenic but peaceful part of the jurassic coast, away from the noise and bustle of neighbouring towns, whilst being in a central location.

We cannot praise Mariners hosts and staff, location, facilities, breakfast and comfort all highly enough and are lookin forward to re-booking for next year and a longer stay!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review .Thank you for taking the time to write about your break.
It was a pleasure to see you enjoy the area and find new places to visit .We were pleased to hear we made your boyfriends birthday special .We do enjoy running Mariners and it gives us a lot of pleasure when guests enjoy their stay.We hope to see you again soon.
Regards Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned home from a 5 night stay at Mariners B & B in Seaton. Every bit as good as we had hoped. We had the front facing room with a king sized most comfortable bed. Draw back the curtains in the morning to see fantastic views of the coastline and sea. Downstairs for a huge breakfast and spoilt for choice as to what to have. Smoked salmon/egg if you wanted ! All food was beautifully presented and was piping hot. Room was very clean and could not be faulted. We would certainly recommend Mariners to anybody thinking of staying in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID_SWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and all the positive comments about Mariners .We too think its a great place to be if you want to enjoy the sea .Breakfast is an important part of any holiday and we also strive to keep the breakfast award from the AA.
Thank You Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a lovely weekend staying at Mariners B&B in Seaton, and Nigel and Pat gave us a warm welcome. Our room was rear facing, but as we didn't intending spending much time in there it didn't matter. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, obviously quite new. Being a light sleeper, the seagulls were an early morning alarm, but being on the coast, it is to be expected (anyway, my husband slept through!). The lounge area had lovely comfy chairs and the view was good. As mentioned in previous reviews, the breakfasts were amazing with lots of choice. Leave plenty of time to have a cream tea in the afternoon if you can!
Come out of the front of the B&B, cross the road and you are on the promenade and pebble beach. Seaton is a good base for Beer, Sidmouth, Lyme Regis, in fact anywhere along the Jurassic Coast. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review .I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.You also enjoyed the area and that is what many guests return to do .Whether walking the coastal path or visiting nearby Lyme Regis, Beer or Sidmouth .Overall Iam pleased you felt well looked after .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely b&b, room overlooking the sea was immaculate, very clean and a very good breakfast, nice people and the landlady gave up her garage for our motorbike, shame about seaton as a town though, bit run down but fantastic b&b.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review .I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.We do manage to store motor bikes and cycles when asked.I was pleased to see you enjoyed breakfast .
I am sorry you thought the town a little run down. run down.I can see that you are from the Bournmouth area and Seaton as a town, not a resort is small by comparison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
7.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners B&B

Property: Mariners B&B
Address: The Esplanade, Seaton ex12 2np, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners is set in a commanding position just yards from the beach.Mariners combines modern accommodation with a friendly relaxed atmosphere.The ensuite bedrooms -some with sea views have all been renovated and offer comfortable new beds ,crisp linen,flatscreen tv,s and many thoughtful extras.Served in the modern dining room breakfasts at Mariners have an enviable reputation due to skilful cooking of chef /owner Nigel.Guest Parking ,seafront terrace and honesty bar and comfortable guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mariners B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners B&B Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing