We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No alarm clock needed here and poor value”
Review of Mariners B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariners B&B
Ranked #4 of 26 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Clean and tidy, decent en-suite room with comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Pricey though for what it is.
However, my room was at the rear and I was awakened before 7am by the loud and continuous noise of buses being started,left idling, reversing and leaving the adjoining bus station/garage. Thin walls transmitted yet more noise with the plumbing joining the general cacophony.Ironically the place was nearly empty so goodness knows what its like when full.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front to avoid some of the din !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review.I am pleased that you found the room pleasant and bed comfortable. The en-suite is only 3 years old so I would expect it to meet most of our guests expectations.As you required 2 single rooms for a 1 night stay and we do only have 1 ,we were able to offer you a king size double room at a special rate of £60 which included £12 vat .We do offer quality egyptian cotton linen and large towels along with an extensive choice at breakfast .I am pleased you did enjoy breakfast as we do provide quality items.I am sorry you found the cost pricey .Overall I consider we do offer excellent value for money.
I am sorry you found the bus garage noisy but it is a small building with 6 buses that go out on a school contract in the week.This does not usually affect guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Warm welcome; high quality accommodation; lovely views from sea-facing room; wide choice of excellent breakfasts; free wi-fi; perfect location for walking and day trips by car; a real change from the big name commercial chain hotels; highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k14rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review .I am pleased you found your stay excellent value .We try to provide all the things we would expect if we were travelling .The east devon coast is interesting and Seaton does provide an excellent base .We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent three nights over Easter at the Mariners and it was a lovely break. Our room was excellent in every respect and the breakfasts were superb. Lovely atmosphere created by staff. Great location and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54S_jC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

3 of us stayed for 2 nights over Easter to attend an event in the town. We couldn't fault it. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and very friendly. Fantastic sea views from our rooms!
5 minute walk to the town. You cannot go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonneyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review .It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay .We at Mariners really enjoyed having all the Hawkwind guests staying here .A lovely atmosphere.We hope to see you next year .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great B&B 50 yards from the finish line! Yippee! Very clean, well furnished & welcoming. Great pre race breakfast and full recovery breakfast the following day. Right on the sea front so great if you're after the beach and sea views and also easy access to the town centre which is within walking distance. Ideal if considering a walking holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hn801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review.We have been having runners for the Grizzly race stay now for the last 8 years .We are certainly near the start and finish line and its great to see you all running past us on the sea front.Glad you enjoy your recovery breakfast ,you deesrve it .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Cannot praise this lovely little hotel enough, always a warm welcome, excellent rooms, outstanding breakfasts, fantastic service, best place to stay in the East Devon area. Would recommend to anyone visiting .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bionicdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always pleased to hear from returning guests as your comments show that we are keeping our standards up and meeting your expectations.Dont you just hate returning to a place you enjoyed and its not the same.Over the years we have gone from Mariners Hotel to Mariners Band B .This is to fit into the categories issued by the AA and The tourist Board.BUT we do still offer the same service and comfort.
The AA have just awarded us a gold award again.However it is our guest reviews that are very importan to us.Thank you for yours. Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 2 bed apartment with our two young children - a home from home - superbly equipped. We were there for jubilee week with the almighty storm (the flag and pole blew away) - the view is incredible whatever the weather. We've booked to return at Easter.

The in laws stayed in the hotel and couldn't praise it enough (they have VERY high standards) and they'll be returning too.

Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgholibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinershotelbnb, Owner at Mariners B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of your last stay with us .We do remember the awful weather you had and note you still enjoyed your stay.It is just as well that trip adviser reviews do not include a weather report ,but we are hoping you do have some nice weather during your stay at Easter. just to be sure we dont have a flag this year .
I am pleased your in- laws enjoyed there holiday too .Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
1.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
300 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#2 of 26 in Seaton
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#7 of 26 in Seaton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners B&B

Address: The Esplanade, Seaton EX12 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range: $107 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners is set in a commanding position just yards from the beach.Mariners combines modern accommodation with a friendly relaxed atmosphere.The ensuite bedrooms -some with sea views have all been renovated and offer comfortable new beds ,crisp linen,flatscreen tv,s and many thoughtful extras.Served in the modern dining room breakfasts at Mariners have an enviable reputation due to skilful cooking of chef /owner Nigel.Guest Parking ,seafront terrace and honesty bar and comfortable guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariners B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners B&B Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing