We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“music lovers eyrie”
Review of Bay Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Tree House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great service and hospitality from Sue and David. The twin en suite room was clean and well furnished. An ideal location for exploring the local area and close to local amenities and seafront with a friendly atmosphere and good food

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Morgan, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased to receive comments that say we are meeting our guests requirements.
You are more than welcome to visit us again if ever in the area.
Kind regards,
David & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Bay Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in Bay tree house in Feb 2013 for 3 nights. We were a party of 3 beekeepers from Ireland. We would like to thank Sue and Dave for their marvellous warm hospitality from the cuppa and cake when we arrived to the excellent cuisine there after. The rooms were cosy, clean, bright and spacious with all the modern amenities. The village promenade by the sea was only a short stroll away where we found any number of pubs and restaurants serving evening meals at very reasonable prices. Bay tree house was such a lucky find for us and we will be returning next year for sure. Thanks again Sue and Dave from Gerry, Mary and JIm

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyansFancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Mary, Gerry and Jim, thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we are delighted that you enjoyed it at Bay Tree House and enjoyed being in Seaton. We are glad you found the rooms cosy, clean, bright and spacious. As you know, we are new to the hospitality industry so your comments really mean a great deal to us. Thank you for choosing Bay Tree House, you were super guests, and we hope to see you again. Kind regards from Sue and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sorry Sue & David for not updating tripadviser sooner but thought I must write to say what a geat time we had spending the Grizzley weekend with you. Your hospitality was second to none and our stay will be repeated year on year. Thanks for making it complete see you next year, Regards, Steve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Steve and many thanks for your review, please no need to apologise for not doing it sooner, it was worth waiting for. We really do appreciate you taking time to add your comments via Trip Advisor, it means a great deal to us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and means even more when you say you will be back again! Looking forward to seeing you next year. Kind regards from Sue and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having just returned from a weekend at Bay Tree House I would like to thank the owners for their hospitality and to thoroughly recommend the accommodation.
Bay Tree House is set in a beautiful location overlooking the sea, a short walk to the town centre and also to the lovely village of Beer. This is a great base for exploring the delights of the Axe Valley.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, a tasty cooked breakfast sets the day up perfectly. The hosts are eager to please and an absolute pleasure to deal with.
I look forward to my next visit to Bay Tree House

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hi Richard and many thanks for your delightful comments and recommendations. We really value your feedback and appreciate you taking time to add your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. As "newbies" to the hospitality industry it really means a lot to us. It is also good to read your comments about our location; as you say, we are ideally placed for many beautiful areas of East Devon, coastal or country. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Myself with a fellow group of nutters who run the Grizzly or cub every year with massive hangovers stayed at the bay tree this year.

The new owners had a very hard act to follow in the previous owner hazel and it takes alot to impress me but I can assure you they did it with flying colours !

Nothing was too much trouble and I mean nothing it was like being at home from home but with someone doing all the chores for you making sure your warm full and cosy the rooms from what I saw were fab, and even after having coming in at all hours they still had smiles every morning a great fried breakfast ready for you and even when we left were sending us out the door with fruit.

extremely hospitible and I WOULD BE VERY SUPRISED to see them eclipsed anywhere for service to guests, however guests seems the wrong word to use because it truly felt like home thats how warm the welcome was.

thx guys see you next year.!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickstoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Wow Nick what a smashing review - thank you. Yes, as you say we had a tough act to follow in the previous owner and we wanted to make sure you all enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our hospitality. We are also glad that you liked the revamped bedrooms and that you felt at home here. Your feedback also means a lot because it was the first time we had catered for such large numbers, and as you know running a B&B is a new venture for us, so it is good to know that you enjoyed the both the B and the B! Hope to see you next year. Best wishes, Sue and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A small group of us stay at the Baytree once a year to do the Grizzly run. This year it has new owners and they are fab, what other proprietors would leave buckets of warm water to wash muddy feet and stuff muddy trainers with newspaper and leave them to dry by the radiator. Nothing was too much trouble for Dave and Sue and they went the extra mile to make our stay very pleasant. The new revamped rooms are beautiful, clean and fresh, and the bed mattresses are to die for. So thank you Sue and Dave, we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab, but the sea view ones are wonderful
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Wow - thank you for your review. We read it on my birthday and it was the best present! So glad you found the buckets of warm water soothing after all that running - it was great to feel so involved in the event, especially as we are new to Seaton. It is also very reassuring to have good feedback on the new mattresses/beds, so thank you for that. We look forward to seeing you next year (quite tempted to do the Cub myself but Sue says I will be too busy cooking breakfasts and washing up!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Sometimes you just get lucky! Needed a place to stay for a couple of nights whilst attending a friends wedding and liked the look of the Bay Tree website. Excellent choice as it turned out. Very comfortable room and a friendly welcome from the proprietors. Great breakfast. Wedding not so good but will return to the Bay Tree for the divorce! Highly recommended

Room Tip: good sea views from the front rooms
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DigswellDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us at Bay Tree House, it was a pleasure. Delighted that you found the room comfortable, the welcome friendly and the breakfast good - these are all aspects which are important to us so your feedback is very heartwarming. As you know, we have only recently taken over at the B&B, so we really appreciate you taking the time to comment so favourably. We hope to see you again here in Seaton, hopefully with better weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
3.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
7.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#6 of 25 in Seaton
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners B&B
Mariners B&B
#4 of 25 in Seaton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House

Address: 11 Seafield Road, Seaton EX12 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range: $109 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian property set in an ideal location for superb views of the local coastline. Recently refurbished to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation 200 meters from the sea. Recently Graded 4 stars by Visit England ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing