We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Holmleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmleigh House
Ranked #6 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Unfortunately just a brief stay of one night in a lovely family room but very much enjoyed. Didn't have much time to explore the area but drove through some very pretty villages. Extremely welcoming, clean and accommodating B&B, great breakfast too well done Gaynor and thank you

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank P B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

stayed for one night whilst visiting a friend in Seaton. Very comfortable room. Convenient location close to pubs shops and seafront. Breakfast is unbeatable. Gaynor thoroughly deserves her best breakfast awards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manofkent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed two nights with Gaynor last weekend and as always were sorry to leave. The standards that we experienced 6 years ago have not dropped at all, if anything it has improved. Breakfast is out of this world and Gaynor is a fantastic hostess. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.....we will be back again next year, although if my 8 year old son has anything to do with it, it will be a lot sooner!

The proximity to the town which is gaining some excellent restaurants and the playground opposite make this an ideal location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGP201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Holmleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for posting a review, I am delighted your family enjoyed your stay, and that your son enjoyed the delightful gardens and park opposite the house.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Holmleigh, Gaynor made us so welcome the room was spacious and very comfortable and had a very good sleep. Breakfast is one of the best we have ever had at a Bed & Breakfast with every choice you can think of and plenty of it. We specially recommend Holmleigh House which is in an excellent position.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Holmleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Brian
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your second stay at Holmleigh House. Glad you enjoyed breakfast, I have recently been awarded for the fourth year running a Visit Britain Breakfast Award, so its great to get your feedback.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a neat and cosy B&B in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk to the sea and the town centre. Parking was not a problem. Gaynor was the perfect host and did everything to make sure our stay was a good one - even lighting the fire for us before we arrived, which was much appreciated.

The rooms are a good size and very nicely decorated. They were immaculately clean and well stocked with fluffy towels, tea and coffee, etc. The bed was so comfy! There is free wifi and a lounge to unwind in and a separate dining room. The breakfast was delicious and there was a very wide choice - no wonder it's won awards.

B&Bs can be a bit hit and miss but this one was definitely a hit. If we are ever in the area again we would love to come back and stay. I absolutely recommend Holmleigh House.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anongeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I were hiking the SWC Path recently. We stayed here and loved it! Not far off the path! Large room and bathroom! Very clean, modern and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast! Th downer is the mayor of Seaton! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Every time we visit Seaton (which is a few times a year to visit a relative) we always stay at Holmleigh House! The accommodation is like a home from home, very clean & comfortable! The beds are really comfortable with high quality bedding, everything you need for a perfect nights sleep! The little extras are what makes Holmleigh stand out above the rest, from the beverage tray with a good selection of teas, coffees & biscuits, to the extras in the bathroom, high quality soap, shower gel, hand lotion, shower caps, cotton wool & ear buds & even bath robes. Then we come to the breakfast, I have never come across a breakfast with more choice! There's everything from Full English, Eggs Benedict, Smoked Fish to a selection of omelettes (all local produce & a good selection for vegetarians!) - then if that's not filled you up then there's the breakfast bar you can help yourself too with a wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, local honey & jam - all in all there's everything you need for a perfect breakfast. I highly recommend Holmleigh House, you will not be disappointed & you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaton hotels
0.1 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#7 of 25 in Seaton
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#15 of 25 in Seaton
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners B&B
Mariners B&B
#5 of 25 in Seaton
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh House

Address: Homeleigh Sea Hill, Seaton EX12 2QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range: $46 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Holmleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmleigh House Seaton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing