We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Stanley
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
714
172
101
58
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
714
172
101
58
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south causey hot tub wedding venue pamper package mince and dumplings afternoon tea huge portions wedding coordinator the barn sunday lunch pie from start to finish beef scones main course courtyard room food was lovely
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After travelling out of our way in anticipation from a sunday lunch we thoroughly enhoyed a few weeks ago, we were really looking forward to the south causey, but unfortunately we were highly disappointed.
The meat was similar to packet meat from a supermarket, the cauliflower cheese lacked any cheese and was burnt. The meal came out tepid; the reason for this appeared to be due to the re-heated, soggy roast potatoes.
If I wanted a microwave meal I would go to iceland for a quarter of the price.
It seemed like the establishment could not cater for the quantaties that it was welcoming, leading to an overall less than average meal which lacked the home-cooked food we were expecting.
For this reason, unless in the area, we wont be returning.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Corrie-Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attend a wedding at the inn,the food was okay, nice venue for a wedding, plenty of notices about being charged for extra things in the bedroom, comfy beds, room suited the overnight stay, a bit pricey for drinks

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidlaverick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

I have been a few times in recent months for food and it does not disappoint. The service is always decent even when it is busy and the staff are accommodating for any changes you want to make to the food when you order. My only slight upset is that I always used to get the creamy garlic mussels to start but they’ve taken it off the menu :-(

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank danielledent84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

We booked one of the 2 story rooms with hot tubs for 10 girls who work together. This was to come with afternoon tea and some pamper sessions. The afternoon tea is ok as long as you aren't vegan. The girls who came to the room to do the pamper were lovely and we had a good afternoon/evening although the room was very noisy as a wedding was going on next door, not that we minded.
But in the morning before we even got home our organiser got a rude accusatory phone call from a member of staff (manager) saying that we had broken the hot tub lid and there were keeping the £100 deposit that they had been adamant about getting in the first place.
Rachel who showed us to our room opened the hot tub single handedly and pushed the lid out of the way she then said that it was a 2 person job to put the lid back on. At 9pm me and another girl did just that. The manager said that lid was cracked and someone must have sat on it or done something which we absolutely did not, he then said this has happened before. If this is a frequent occurrence then i suggest they ask visitors to contact a member of staff when they want the hot tub lid put back on or get a better lid system. If a lid is breaking just because it is closed then i would suggest the equipment is faulty. We won't be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sarahdonn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

Nothing so say but NO COMPLAINTS
Went for a wedding. Absolutely fabulous few days
Wedding venue was absolutely fantastic
Evening menu superb,food and staff 100%
This venue has got it right
Accommodation very reasonably priced and the breakfasts superb,will return

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews